We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for basic...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finas Hotel Apartments
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you're looking for basic...”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

It was our first girls holiday, and Pefkos was picked as a cheap, hot, but not too busy compremise with the parents. We only paid £300 each inc flights, which you could tell with the quality of the room.

When we arived, we were made to stand in reception in 35 degree+ heat for half an hour until everyone had checked in and got aircon sorted. Surly we could have been given a map or another member of staff helping? Aircon cost 50 euros and worth buying, fit that into your budget before you even leave. TAKE YOUR OWN PILLOW, I couldn't stress that enough. The bedding was very uncomfortable, and a good pillow would have made a big difference.

We only stayed for one week, and by the end we were glad we were leaving (the room not Pefkos!) as it was starting to get very grotty. Towels were changed 3 times as was the bedding, but no evidence of actual cleaning going on.
There were no cleaning products, or cloths in the rooms, so I would recomend taking a dish cloth and some fairy liquid just or some wipes just so you can try and clean up after your self. There is also no soap is provided in the bathroom. Food from supermarkets is very expensive, (other than fruit and water) so we took our own food for nibbles (breadsticks, malt loaf etc) which worked really well and saved us money. There is no cooking equipment, not even a wooden spoon. So the only meal I made was very basic and it was impossible to wash up after!
The food at the bar was one of the better places we ate during the week, although we had shocking rude service on the last day before our 1pm transfer, when we had to leave without food to catch our tranfer despite sitting down 2 hours earlier. A sad stressful end to the holiday!
Overal the staff were relatively friendly, although we didn't have to interact with them frequently. Cambell the bar man was lively and good banter, although not always 100% accurate on prices and orders so keep your wits about you when getting drinks.

The pool was nice, and a childrens pool meant that the main pool wasn't over run with stressed parents! Lots of familys and games in the pool as it was the only cool place. Great for familys, but if you want quite and grown up then Finas is not for you! To get a good (not broken) sun lounger took getting up early, but that is the same in every resort I've ever been in!
Pefkos is a beautiful area, the locals are very friendly and the weather was gorgeous. The beaches are busy, but very well kept and feel safe. It was nice as a teenage girl to not get the feeling of being harrased all the time. Tarpis was our best meal, not too expensive, amazing food, friendly staff and stunning baklava. Avoid the place next to the Chinnese with Greek collums (not the one which had steps going down) Can't remember its name.. It looked lovely, but food was awful stale bread, cold main etc.
Eclipse is well worth heading to, free entry and no age limit which was nice as families could head down for a drink after dinner. Mainly young people though, and the dancing bit in the middle had air con-genius! Staff at eclipse were brilliant and you felt very welcome untill the early hours.
I will be going back to Pefkos for sure, I wouldnt rush back the Finas, it should really be 2*.
Pefkos is such a beautiful place no matter how bad your hotel, you will have a stunning holiday. If you do go the Finas, keep an eye out for the Peacock it's stunning! Also try walking up the hill away from the main strip of Pekfos. We only did on the last night and wish we did earlier, stunning coves and beaches.
Go not expecting luxary, and explore and you will have a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossyjossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    230
    96
    64
    59
See reviews for
246
343
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Ive stayed here a few times now and have never had a problem. Rhodes is a gorgeous Island and Pefkos is quite quiet but you can have a good time until 12-1am!
Finas has a lovely pool with sunbeds around and also private sunbeds on the next level.
The food here is also very nice and the staff are very friendly. Remember Greece is basic...so dont expect flat screen tv's!! Rooms are clean and have just the right amount of space. Beds are comfortable and sheets changed every 2-3 days.
Had a great time here!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee_brooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was a last minute(ish) cheapie holiday so wasn't expecting much, however....

Positives: Nice view from our room looking out across the bay. Pool was OK, not in too bad a condition (pretty clean), plenty of beds and permanent umbrellas. I would recommend the Palm Bay Cocktail Bar just down the road from the Finas, pleasant professional bar waitress, nice surrounding and a good cuppa.

Negatives: Where to start??? Sheets on beds worn and stained, not changed during stay, towels hard and only changed once (in fact found towels that had been left on floor to be changed had been picked up and refolded). Cooking facilities = 2 ring hob, kettle, 2x dinner plate, cereal dish, side plate, cups, dining knives, forks, teaspoons, dessert spoons and ashtrays!. The only utensils were a large serrated bread knife and tin opener. Finally pans, 2 saucepans (no lids) and 1 frying pan. Not really able to make more that salad and soup (not even a toaster/grill).

Complex: Staff vary between rude and grumpy (Kelly Marie), scatty and absent (Kelly - Olympic Rep), miserable (Rachel) and arrogant (Arris - Manager who insisted on shouting out quiz answers during the question rounds!). The site is on three levels and is quite a climb up from the main road. Air Con (vaguely described as payable locally in the brochure and by the travel agent at Ilkeston Travel as nominal) was 50€ per week (minus a 5% discount a massive 2.50€!). You cannot sleep, eat, breathe in Greece in July without Air Con and I doubt all the rooms used that much power over the day (add to the fact that it switches off automatically when you remove the key fob from the room). Also Safety deposit boxes should be free and in every room not 25€ per week and in the “24-hour” reception. Room was on the lower level (as asked for) for my Mum, and near the pool/bar. We appreciated that the noise from the bar would be audible from our room and were OK with that initially, but when Karaoke and disco goes on until 1-2 in the morning it can really affect the next day’s energy levels.

On site shop: Same basic complaint, miserable staff. Also the pricing seem to depend on the mood of the cashier Monday Peaches are 2.75€, Tuesday 2.85€ and so on. Very little stock both groceries and gifts.

Travel Information: Staff positively dissuades you from using other than their transport. The local bus to Lindos (a lovely coastal town with historical sites) costs 1.60€ one way and goes from the end of the main street. The timetable is displayed; trip takes 10 mins and is easy to do. Highly recommend.

Tours: DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE RHODES EXPRESS TOUR. Local bus costs 5.50€ each way (11€ Return). Tour costs 19€ return and is not worth the extra 8€. We turned up in Rhodes (after the bus had sailed past Lindos as the Rep slept leaving guests there and then almost threatening to turn our bus round to collect them), the Rep got off the bus said “see you at ten to three” and disappeared. Not a direction or map given just “off you go!”

Bar/Activities: Over priced – randomly priced drinks. 2.40€ for a Glass of Supermarket bought Juice Drink – NOT a glass of fresh orange juice (quite a difference for a Diabetic). BBQ night good meat, chicken breast, 2 kebabs and a burger patty. And an apportioned serving of green salad, tzatziki and chips. No drink, ideally soft drink or water or pita bread/olives. In fact the lack of free salad/dips was disappointing. Salad doesn’t cost that much and would have encouraged us to stay and buy another drink.

To round up, good pool and a reasonable base but don't expect much more however much you pay.

Room Tip: Book your lower level rooms before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstrious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I have to agree with all the other bad reviews on this site.
1. We had a room close to the bar/pool and the noise on 'event nights' was ridiculously loud and it goes on until about 1am - not cool when you have to get up at 5am for a day trip to Turkey or at 3am for flight home! And noise is one thing but really bad karaoke or non-stop ABBA is a bit much to bear!
2. The rooms were not cleaned properly. The basin in the bathroom was never cleaned and if they did attempt the toilet they didn't use any cleaning products. One day we came home to find they had made one half of the bed and not the other, very weird. Plus the kitchen does not come with any cleaning products, such as dish wash liquid, cloth etc, and they do not provide any hand soap in the bathroom. I assume this is so you go and buy it yourself fomr the attached supermarket - where they offer a 5% discount, quite the rackett. Also towels were changed once while we were there and when my mum asked for a new towel Kelly at reception asked her a bunch of questions as to 'why' and then made out that it was incredible difficult for her to get a new towel. I chose not to look under my sheet at my mattress but our friend did and was horrified!
3. You have to pay 50 Euro for one week of air-con. It does say on our travel docs that air con was payable at local rates but 50 is pretty excessive, espec if you are on a tight budget. We were also told that we should set the aircon at 26 degrees - not great advice in 30+ heat!
4. You have to get up pretty early in the morning to get a sun lounger by the pool, and most of them are broken. Plus the pool is full of kids playing ball games so common to be splashed and/or hit with stray ball. I also had to experiance a woman change a baby's nappy on the sun lounger next to me, not nice considering it was a rather explosive 'number 2'. For these reasons we hired a car and spent our days exploring Rhodes and chilling at different beaches around the island.
5. We didn't actually find the food at the restaurant to be that bad. We ate there 3 nights out of 6 and found it to be quite nice. I would recomend Nicholas Taverna at the top of the hill to the left of Finas, best meal we had in Greece!
6. Staff - Kelly at reception really needs to consider a new line of work. She is really quite lazy, rude and sarcastic and seems to find all requests a total inconvienience. Aris we found to be really nice and helpful to the guests but I did see him yelling at the staff on a number of occasions.

Reading all the reviews and experiancing this place myself, it seems that Finas could be a really nice place if the manager/owners actually took notice of these reviews and tried to make improvements. It seems to me that they don't care about the customer experiance at all which is a real shame.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarisTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Before arriving at the Finas I had read the reviews and me and our friends were really worried about the type of holiday we were going to have. The flight with SKy Wings was awful, would never fly with them again!! We got to our hotel at about 7 in the evening and checked in with Kelly and Rachel and went for a look around the pool and bar before we were shown to our rooms, which I thought was a nice touch. Our rooms were lovely, small studios but lovely French style doors opening up onto our fantastic sea view :) the kitchen area was small but enough room to make a cuppa, and we even cooked pasta one if the nights. The bathroom was clean but the shower rail had seen better days, but if worked so we made do and got used to it. Cleaners came on everyday, and swept and mopped and made the beds, you do have to leave the room considerably tidy when you go out for the day as they won't pick up all your rubbish and clothes off the floor!! And why should they!!.

First night we went for a walk around and really loved the area. Greece thou is so laid back in term of health and safety, just generally the pavements made us laugh with there 2 ft drops on one side etc!. Food out we loved both of the tavernas on the left hand side of the FInas and also the smaller beach past nicolas taverna,

The staff were really friendly, Aris was a little bossy but he is the boss!! Kelly was really friendly and even had a drink with us in the bar when she finished one night :) Campbell is nuts! But always smiling and friendly!! And very good on the karaoke!!! Recommend the BBQ nights and the mama Mia night.

All in all we had a fab holiday and met lots of amazing people. Might be worth pointing out to people who are going soon that the Finas has over 1000 repeat guests every year, and also 66 reviews since 1989 isn't bad going !!! Take all the negative with pinch of salt, The ones about people pulling the fridge out and there being dirt behind it!!!! Seriously!!!!

Make your own minds up, Sure you will have a brill time!! :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clareymaryhairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Hotel in a word is awful. The place is filthy and full of the Blackpool Brigade.
Kelly behind the desk is sarcastic and rude and the staff are only nice to you if your using there awful facilities and eating there awful food! The bar resembles something like a nightclub in Falaraki the music is booming day and night (Afternoons of blaring music too)
The cleaners are paid to stand around and smoke all day as they definetly didnt clean our room once which I might add was like a prison cell. You have been warned!! Go somewhere else in Pefkos its beautiful. another point to add is do not use Olympic holidays there carriers Skywings planes are death traps (thats if they turn up)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michaelkaren87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Having booked this 10 days before we travelled, not much time to think about it, having travelled out through Olympic holidays, the airline, Skywings, awful, 4 and half hours on the way out and 3 coming home, dirty plane, will review airline separate.
We didnt pay 5* prices so don't expect it. Rooms ok, very hard beds, we previously new about the towels so wasn't a surprise, they were changed twice in our week stay, never enough for the 4 of us though. Never cooked in the room, very basic, first time ever, we did half board, I wouldn't recommend it, a very basic menu, I am a vegetarian and there was only one option and I had it every night for the week, breakfast was beans or egg on toast or bacon roll and toast no cereals or fruit. Nothing for fussy teenagers either.
Pool good and comfy sunloungers with matresses on them. No toilet near the pool though!
There was noise at night but we were one of the ones at the back so didnt really effect us. Views lovely, certainly need to pay for the air con in July.
Last day, no shower or room available, cases have to be left in the hot reception, 5 departures our day, cases everywhere, as we were not picked up until 1.15am we had to pay nearly 50 euros to keep our room on until 10pm, having been in the pool and suncream you couldn't change to travel home without a shower.
Overall a great relaxing holiday, the hosts did nothing to make you feel they wanted you back again which is a shame.
Last thing situated on a hill, not good for old people or with a wheelchair, hill plus the heat, hardwork.
We booked a night trip to Rhodes Town well recommend it, not booked through the hotel but in the village, picked up and dropped just opposite to hotel, excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley00145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.3 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
745 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#8 of 34 in Pefkos
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pefkos Blue
Pefkos Blue
#12 of 34 in Pefkos
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#10 of 34 in Pefkos
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finas Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finas Hotel Apartments

Property: Finas Hotel Apartments
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Finas Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Finas Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finas Hotel Pefkos
Finas Hotel Apartments Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing