We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overview of the Finas Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finas Hotel Apartments
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An overview of the Finas Hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

May I start by saying that this was our first trip to Rhodes and we usually go to the Far East so if my review of this Hotel sounds a little harsh, it could be that I am not comparing like for like. However we are in the European Community and my expectations would be that Greek Island accommodation would be of a lot higher standard than that of Thailand, Malaysia or Cambodia.
This however was not the case and the self catering Studio that we were given was of a very poor standard indeed .and very tired looking. The room was small and the balcony doors were right up against the bed to such an extent that we couldn't open them properly. There was air conditioning available at an extra cost of 50 Euros a week but as it was only June 5th the temperature didn't warrant it. However the room was a bit stuffy and would have benefitted from a ceiling or table fan which unfortunately didn't exist. The self catering facilities consisted of a 2 ring electric hob and a fridge with a few implements thrown in. Unfortunately the one piece of kit that we could have used and would have been appreciated was a toaster which unfortunately was not there ! The bathroom was modern with plenty of hot water available all the time. However when sitting on the toilet it was so close to the sink that anyone left handed would have found it impossible to wipe their backside successfully.
The really good thing about the room was the view from the balcony which was superb.
The reception area was OK with good WiFi and the bar and restaurant were really good with good bar prices The staff were very friendly and helpful and Aris and Rachel have created a very nice friendly atmosphere there especially on the Karaoke nights .A special mention here for the little Polish barmaid Karena who was lovely.
My only criticism of the restaurant was that on our last morning we decided to have the full English breakfast at a Fiver each (which turned out to be a childs size portion) but were disgusted to be billed an extra 2.5 Euros each for a cup of tea making it a £7 breakfast.
The pool area is good with plenty of Sunbeds but they have replaced the old mattress type with stretched plastic ones which are not too comfortable.
One word of warning for the older visitors to Pefkos. This resort is very hilly and The Finas Hotel is a fair walk from the sea and the main part of the resort and while it is all downhill going, it is very much uphill coming back.
One word of warning, beware of the Taverna Anixis almost next to the hotel up the hill. We had the worst meal of our holiday there and it cost us £35.
The best place to eat is the Roumeli No4 right in the centre which does a set menu for 8,90 Euros and you can pick any starter, main course and sweet from the menu. I had a T bone to die for there.
All in all it was a nice hotel to stay in but badly needs an overhaul of the accommodation

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room at the front of the hotel for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    249
    99
    67
    59
See reviews for
266
363
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just returned from finas apartments. It was ideal for us although due to being on a hill may not be for less able walkers. Rooms were typical 'Greece', basic but clean. Bedding and towels were changed every day during our stay. All the staff were lovely, pleasant and helpful. Drinks were a good price and the food was extremely good. Highly recommend Aris's slow roasted whole lamb leg! Its to die for & attracted a lot of attention from other diners .Also the Greek night was so much fun well worth paying for. Pevfos is a lovely relaxed place with an excellent mix of restaurants and bars and friendly people.There is lots of others places to visit easily reached by the local bus or cheap taxi ride (lovely friendly drivers). Got to mention Amie our Olympic rep. She had been critised on here and took it to heart bless her. She,s in her 1st year,bending over backwards to help people, despite being really poorly during our stay.Wish you all the best in the future if you read this Amie. Not for the young clubbers ; ) Air con price (50 euros per week!) let them down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0lympicHolidays, Authorised Representative at Finas Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent holiday so much and I shall make sure that your kind message for Amie reaches her.
If we can be of any assistance booking a holiday in the future please don't hesitate to contact us on 0208 492 6868.
Thanks,
Olympic Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel early in June 2013. Hotel is in a superb setting at the top of a small hill and a lot of rooms have great sea views. Ours didn't as we were in a low room looking onto a gorgeous garden. All staff were extremely friendly and could not have been more helpful. Rachel was lovely and was very knowledgeable about places to visit. Rooms were basic but spotlessly clean. We were provided with fresh towels each day as well as having the bed linen changed halfway through the week. Having read some poor reviews before we went we were a bit concerned about the standards, but as soon as we arrived we realised this was just typical of 3 star Greek accommodation. There was someone having hysterics in the hotel reception as they were not happy with the two rooms they had been shown. The staff were extremely courteous to them, whereas my advice would have been to sling their hook and pay for a 5* hotel if that was the standard they felt they needed to be able to enjoy their holiday. I didn't go to the hotel Greek night but missed a fantastic party according to my sister. I would recommend that you take out the 'Breakfast deal' when you arrive if you are booked in self-catering. This works out at excellent value for money. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Finas and would be very happy to book in there again. Pefkos itself is a fantastic small resort. More than enough restaurants and bars to suit everyone. If you do one thing while you are there I would recommend a taxi or bus to Lardos to try the best lamb stifado in the world, served at a small restaurant called Saava's. I promise you will be blown away by it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high, sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

May i firstly say i`ve put the rating as average but may i point out that in some cases i could say good or very good?. when i arrived did not no what to expect because reading reviews up & down drew my own apinion. pleasently surprised tour rep aimee lovely & courtious,reception staff courtious helpful would always say hello how are you ,and the night porter got me out of an awkward situation could`nt thank him enough ,bar & restaurant staff polite friendly & the cleaning staff noticed always room cleaned basics but beds made ,clean towels floor/bins cleaned always said hello , a special hi to cleaning lady think name was oussa somthing like that cleaned my room most of the time?, room was basic as expected but everything their for my needs and a lovely view i was fortuanate, as i have to say some people were`nt so happy with their accomodation and had to complain but my opinion was that some people were given other rooms and satified i think it`s the look of the draw and up to the individual to draw their own opinion.pefkos lovely about 5mins away small but lots of bar/restuarants supermarkets everyone friendly oh forgot to mention hotel supermarket friendly staff hi especially to the grandad their & the young girl forgot her name again sorry ,i think that when people write and say especially about the staff at the finas comments like unhelpful, rude etc, if you are prepared to show them appreciation and a kind word they pick up on it and i found them friendly & helpful sorry i`ve wrote this long review hope its been of use out their? To finish if Yarris and your members of staff happen to read this review may i take this opportunit y in thanking you for making my stay a memorable one & hope possibly to visit & pefkos in the future many thanks......

Room Tip: give alittle is`nt 5 star but if their is somthing your not happy with tell them they would be willi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It's hard to belive I was in the same place at the same time as some of recent reviewers. Our room was cleaned and the towels changed every day but Sunday (the maid's day off). All the staff were really friendly and helpful. There was something entertaining most nights, although we only went to the Greek night.
Yes Pefkos is very Britcentric, but isn't that to be expected on a package deal? I'm sure other resorts cater to other nationalities - all those Russians must stay somewhere. And having experienced British ghettoes in Turkey and Gambia, Pefkos was far from the worst offender.
We went to the welcome meeting with the Olympic rep as a courtesy and went our own way from then on. Trips and car rentals were far cheaper elsewhere.
We had a jolly good holiday at the Finas and it was great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank petitable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0lympicHolidays, Authorised Representative at Finas Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Hi,
I'm extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent holiday so much. If we can be of any help with helping you to book any future holidays please don't hesitate to contact us on 0208 492 6868.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Apologies in advance for a rather long review but it is difficult to be concise about a place with such contrasts; there are many good things to say about the Finas, but there are also some frustratingly basic problems that make it less good than it should be. Perhaps this is why it gets such a range of reviews.

The good news first.

The Finas comprises an attractive group of a dozen or so medium sized two storey apartment blocks, set in pleasant mature gardens, on a hillside above and about 10 minutes walk down into the centre of Pefkos. This has the advantage that many of the sea facing rooms have beautiful views of the sea, which is about half a mile away. Of course it also means that it's a 10 (or 15) minute walk uphill to get back from the town. We liked the site, the garden, the views and the fact that, although it's a little on the edge of town, there is a small supermarket and a good choice of restaurants nearby. Most rooms seem to have a reasonable view, though (inevitably) there are a few which face inland.

We also liked the clean and reasonably large pool, the choice of sun or shade to sit around it, the comfortable and friendly bar, the quality and value of the food (we ate there twice) and the friendly staff. Our apartment was spacious and the beds were comfortable.

Now the things we didn't like. Perhaps these were all the more frustrating because most of them could be put right quite easily by a more purposeful approach to cleanliness, maintenance and renewal.

Though the public areas were clean and tidy, there was a slightly shabby feel in places. Quite a high proportion of the sun-loungers were broken or stained, or had split covers. Some apartment blocks need a re-paint and where recent painting had been done it seemed rather lacksidazical, with no attempt to protect surrounding paving. Some of the seating in the reception and bar area has seen better days. It took three attempts to get a duff light bulb in our room replaced (with a bulb taken from another apartment). The hot water dried up twice in seven days for several hours in the evening. Towels were neither replaced, nor (sometimes) even folded up - even if they were obviously grubby after a week of use. Cleaning inside our apartment was superficial - or non-existent (we had to clean the pans left by previous occupants before we could use them and the small kitchen was very grubby). Our balcony was never cleaned, and the balcony furniture needed replacing.

The overall impression is of a once nicely built and furnished hotel, sinking gradually into disrepair, which is a shame, as slightly better maintenance, some investment in new furniture and (most easily of all), proper cleaning would make it an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Try asking for a sea view at the front of the site - the views are best from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Absolutely fantastic place to stay! Brilliant staff, the food was lovely, close enough to the beach.
The rooms are kept clean, absolutely no problem with pests or anything like that. Pefkos is a fantastic place, not too lively, but a friendly place to stay.
Cant wait to go back there next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tamsin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.3 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pefkos Blue
Pefkos Blue
#14 of 34 in Pefkos
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finas Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finas Hotel Apartments

Property: Finas Hotel Apartments
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pefkos
#12 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Finas Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Finas Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finas Hotel Pefkos
Finas Hotel Apartments Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing