We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon at the Island Blue”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic honeymoon at the Island Blue”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We arrived at the Island Blue on 3rd August 2011 at 10pm to be greeted by Christos and his buggy !! we and our cases were driven to the room which was magnificent. Clean, tidy with a fabulous pool view.The Elia resturant is excellent and we were half board.It was still serving food as they have two change over days wednesdays and saturdays , so a nice meal was had when we arrived. Breakfast is a buffet style with everything you could imagine and serves until 10:30am. The rooms are immaculate and cleaned everyday. The staff are friendly and concientious The weather was in the 40's so the airconditioning in the room was a godsend. The Island Blue pool was big and relaxing , however you do need to reserve sun beds early. It would be good if the hotel allocated 2 beds to each room number first then this might help. Just a suggestion!!
we went for a meal at La Piazza in Perfkos, next door to the eclipse club. A beautiful meal and one I would recommend. i would suggest bed and breakfast as an option as the half board ties you to the hotel, although the food is lovely and well worth a visit.
The Greek night is excellent A must!!. The beach can be found after a short walk passed the supermarket and well worth a visit. we went early evening as it was just so hot!! The resort of perfkos is small but a few good bars can be found especially the ZIG ZAG Bar, well worth a visit , excellent cocktails and friendly staff.
Thank you to all staff at Island Blue for making our honeymoon very special and keep up the standards. the little touches mean so much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear the newly weds!
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue. I am very happy that you had a great honeymoon here in Pefkos and hope that it was a memorable stay for you.
Wishing you all the best for your future happiness as man and wife and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    121
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
239
389
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just come back this morning staying 10 days at the Island Blue and had used Trip Advisor before so wanted to pass on our comments.

The hotel is set in a beautiful location, evertything is in walking distance (beach, restaurants, bars, supermarkets etc). We were fortunate in having a room that walked out on to the pool (some other ground floor rooms involve clambering over a wall and walking through vegetation). The room itself was large, cleanand having a fridge and air con included a definite bonus. The issue with sun beds depends on your fellow Brits. If you were not particularly fussy often beds were available at least up to 9 or 9.30. What was frustrating was seeing beds 'reserved' and then remaining unused for hours (and in some cases the whole day). The hotel's polite requestson reserving beds unfortunately not always heeded by some of our fellow compatriots who remain oblivious.
Staff are friendly and hard working and nothing is too much trouble. The Greek night (Sunday's) is good value (€16 for adults for our 15 year old we paid €8, I think younger kids may be free?) with more than enough food to go around (it is buffet style mixture of starters, main and desert) and this appears to be very popular so best to book early. the only downside is that coming in from Gatwick meant that we didn't get to our room until 5 am whilst check out time is 12 noon on day of departure. You can ask to extend until 18.00 (subject to availability), however you have to pay an extra €38 (to cover the costs of the cleaners staying late). Still worth doing so. Finally TV's come with some English channels so you are able to stay in touch with events at home and the hotel bar has Sky sports.

Lindos is a must (if you go nowhere else) and either a short bus trip (note the bus stop is opposite end of town) or if you are a family of four a taxi costs around €8.

We hired a car for 1 day to take in Rhodes town as neither bus nor taxi or organised excursion worked for us. We could also stop off and find other beaches and try restaurants further afield. Our preferred restaurant based on quality/price/view combined was Nikolas Taverna, but if looking for a cheaper alternative, the neighbouring Anixis was also good value. If you want to splash out then you must go to Philosophia has surely the best view although this is reflected in the cost, but the food is also good.

A word of warning if you have teenagers, they will get served alcohol in the towns bars!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InternationalGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guests
I thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay here with us at Island Blue, your comments are very much appreciated.
I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and very much look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I suppose you pay for what you get and the Island Blue is a very well managed and presented what I'd call an Aparthotel as opposed to a traditional hotel as we know it in the UK. In UK terms I'd classify such as a very good 4 star and it's the first time for years that myself and my family have stayed in such modern and spacious accommodation (only built 2-3 years ago). The pool area(s) and bar are well laid out with lots of sunbeds although the, typically, selfish attitude of Brits is to make sure "you're alright and forget about anyone else". I went down to the pool area one day, on the way to breakfast, at 9:20am and 99% of sunbeds had been reserved with a towel with only 2% occupied at best at that time. I'm not critical of the Island Blue management at all as they can't be fighting with guests to stop them "claiming their spot" and the written rules that sunbeds can't be reserved before 8:00am / towels will be removed from sunbeds not used for 2 hours is a nice gesture but, realistically, unenforceable. So in peak season you'd best get your towel down by 7:30am i.e. if you can't beat 'em join 'em. This sunbed curse is everywhere you go abroad (and not just confined to the Brits but it's something we excell at) so I don't think the Island Blue is any better or worse than anywhere else in this respect but I felt obliged to "put the record straight". Nonetheless, we had one of the best holidays that we've had for years and will, certainly, be going back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverFoxWirral_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for takig the time to write your review of your stay here at the Island Blue. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for your lovley comments.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Four of us stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment. it was very spacious and had the advantage of a second bathroom. It was modern and clean and the maid service was second to none. The pool area is eexcellent and even in the height of Summer had available sunbeds. The whole place had a lovely calm, friendly and pleasant atmosphere. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast was taken at the Elias Restaurant. There was a selection of hot and cold food, and there was always a great selection regardless of the time we took breakfast. We had dinner one night in the restaurant, it was lovely and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I would also recommend the Greek night held at the restaurant, it is excellent value for money at 16 Euros per adult, 8 Euros for children. It was a very entertaining evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audreyf261063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of the hotel and your holiday, your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed onto the staff.
I am very happy that your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just had two weeks in a spacious apartment in the Island Blue Hotel in Pefkos, it definately met and exceeded all of the excellent reviews. Spotlessly clean and great staff, fabulous views from the Ellia pool and restaurant and within short walking distance of the centre of the resort. We will come back here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your holiday here with us at Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enkoyed your stay with us and look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beddau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We have just got home from our honeymoon at Island Blue Hotel Pefkos. We had a wonderful time. The whole resort, pool areas, reception and rooms were spotlessly clean. The air conditioning was a must as the temperature was reaching 40 + degrees !!!!The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, well presented and cooked well. The beach is very narrowI ! Island Blue is the better of the several hotels that make up the resort village. I would definately go back to Island Blue and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlisonJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your greta review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. Congratulations on your recent wedding and many thanks for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Just got back from Rhodes 27/7/11 this is our 6 th time to pefkos 1st time in this hotel, its brilliant, rooms are amazing, very spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful. Pia the lady who works at the Elia is fantastic, we will miss you.x
An excellent hotel would defo recommend it.

See you next year

Room Tip: If you have kids select a lower room as easy access to pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnhird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear guests
Many thanks for your great comments about your holiday here with us at Island Blue. I am very happy that you enkoyed your stay with us and look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. I will ensure your ceomments are passed on to Pia at the Elia.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing