We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place, Amazing Service Loved Loved Loved It!!!”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place, Amazing Service Loved Loved Loved It!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Island Blue hotel. We got married in Lindos during our 2 week stay and had an amazing time with 26 family and friends!!
The hotel, rooms, service and food were absolutely brilliant in the hotel. There is nothing at all to complain about!!

I noticed that someone complained about bad service when in a small group as the weddings were taking over and getting better service - absolute rubbish!! We were part of a wedding group but most of us ate seperately and went to the greek nights as tables of 2 or 4 and we had no problem at all with service.

Some people have also complained in other reviews about the sun loungers being reserved, however this is something that goes on everywhere and has done in all the holidays i have ever been on in 27 years!!! but people have to moan about something i suppose :)

We had champagne, fruit basket and goodies delivered on our wedding day and breakfast in bed with champagne the morning after the wedding!! And then the day after when we returned to our room the maid had covered our beds with flowers and petals. Just lovely personal touches.

The hotel is very close to the beach, yes there are some steps to it, but if thats a problem there is always a ramp to go down to the beach.

Overall an amazing holiday/honeymoon. I hope Island Blue keeps up to the same standards as we have already booked to go back for our first anniversary next year!!!
If you want a little bit of luxury with not a huge price tag like some of the luxury hotels Island Blue is definately the place to go!!

Room Tip: All rooms have pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurancarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    127
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
254
402
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic 11 night holiday in Rhodes, staying at the Island Blue, Pefkos. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

The hotel is well located, close to the beach and within easy walking distance of the good selection of shops and bars in Pefkos. The rooms are well equipped with a full size fridge, satellite TV and tea and coffee making facilities. They are modern and clean with excellent views over the swimming pool. The pool area was superb. A good size pool that was never overcrowded. We never had a problem getting a sunbed or parasol. This was probably due to the fact that there are three more pools on the site. The pool bar was excellent serving a good selection of food and drink at reasonable prices. The food was delicious and my son who is a vegetarian had no problem finding something to suit his diet. The bar staff were efficient and very friendly.

We were staying on a half board basis and therefore ate at the restaurant every evening. The restaurant is in a fantastic location overlooking a pool with wonderful views of the mountains and complimented by a mouth- watering choice of food. The restaurant staff were also very friendly and efficient. Greek night was a highlight with an amazing selection of local dishes and superb entertainment.

Rhodes is a fantastic island. Don't miss Lindos and the acropolis. Rhodes Town is about an hour away but well worth the trip. A fascinating walled city that is full of history. We went on the Thomson 'Discover the West' trip which was wonderful and gave us a taste of what the other side of the island is like. We highly recommend this trip.

The only thing that could have made our stay better would have been free wifi access. You are able to purchase a wifi card in reception but hotels we have stayed in previously have had free wifi and we certainly missed this.

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our holiday and would definitely return to the Island Blue.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJN56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue Hotel. Your kind comments are very much appreciated. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday here in Pefkos and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of July on a half board basis and most of what we think is already covered in the other reviews, but there are a few things we thought we should add. (we stayed at the island blue resort, ground floor about 5 steps from the pool)

As we arrived around 11pm, we expected to only have a basic snack for our dinner, but the restaraunt staff served dinner until late which meant we had a lovely 4 course meal. The 4 course meals were on the a la carte menu for those on halfboard and altered each night, offering a choice of two meals, but every thing was delicious. Only thing i'd say is to be careful if you don't like salty foods, as they do like to throw a lot of that in! Another thing is that when we arrived to our room, we were offered a complimentary bottle of wine for our first night at the restaurant :)

We choose to eat out only two nights but would recommend Enigma as the food was fantastic and always busy in there whenever we walked past. Anyway, back to the hotel...the breakfast choice was always great, plenty of english and continental foods, tea, coffee, juice etc. Even if we arrived late,all of the breakfast options were available.

The greek night is definitely a must, had a brilliant time. They get everyone up to dance, even the men, play great music and have good performances. They also serve a large buffet with loads of choice, but be sure to ask for an ice bucket early on for your wine as the restaurant manager got a bit rude for me asking and it seemed to be some sort of inconvenience.

All in all the hotel was lovely, always spotlessly clean and we loved the pool area just outside our room, though it got quite annoying that there were towels already on the beds every morning. The pool bar served great cocktails and snacks. The cleaners came and changed the towels and sheets every day, as well as the bins and there were also spare pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. We had a generously sized walk in shower but beware about the tap behind you when you're in there as i knocked it once across to the hot heat and ended up almost scalding my head!

On our last day, as we had a late check out time, we choose to pay for a room which i think was 20 something euros. The room we were transferred into was a huge apartment with a kitchen, so they don't down grade you! However, there is also a choice of a shower and changing room which was free of charge and could be used for up to an hour.

The location around the hotel was excellent, no sea view but only a short 5 minute walk to the beach which was narrow but beautiful with crystal clear sea. The resort is situated at the end of what is classed as the main strip of pefkos, so far enough away to not get disturbed by any noise from bars/restaraunts. We tended to buy water from the shop just outside the resort as the water at the hotel contained magnesium and tasted horrible.

We would definitely consider returning here as it was pretty faultless. Only one last thing to add- if you do any excursions, you can usually book them for cheaper in pefkos/lindos town. There is a 'rhodes by knight' trip we seen advertised in lindos which was about 30 euro cheaper than the thomson excursions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitestar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write yur fantastic review of the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you both enjoyed your holiday with us and your comments are very much appreciated.
We look forward to being able to welcome you both back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have just returned from the Island Blue with a party of over 20 for my sister's wedding. We took our 18 month old son away for the first time, and what a holiday he had! We were given a ground floor room, right next to the toddler's pool and everything was so clean, safe and friendly. My sister had a fantastic wedding at the nearby St Paul's Bay in Lindos.

The only areas for improvement was the price of a safe key (nearly £50 for a fortnight) and I think this could be cheaper.

Food at the hotel is reasonably priced and very tasty. The pool bar food was faultless and we ate there regularly. There are many restaurants nearby, but the Philosophia was our favourite. Lindos is 8 euros in a taxi and a must at night for strolling around the cobbled streets. Rhodes Old Town was a 1 hour coach trip and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

You won't be disappointed with the Island Blue!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank bex99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovley review of your stay here with us at Island Blue. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope that everything went well for your sisters wedding. We very much appreciate your comments.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel and resort in the near future!
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed for a family holiday for one week in August in one of the two bedroom apartments - perfect for a family with older children. The kitchennette and fridge were a particular bonus - as were two bathrooms and the apartment itself was very spacious and modern. The apartments were kept spotlessly clean by very friendly housekeepers. We booked directly with the hotel at very reasonable rates (saved a large amount on package holiday price).

We were half board and the food was fantastic, a good variety and excellent quality (and again, excellent value for money having booked direct).

The hotel is well located, an easy walk to restaurants and supermarkets and also to the bus stop for buses into Lindos and Rhodes Town which we made good use of!

Unfortunately the 'towels on the sunlounger' early in the mornings was a huge problem and the hotel desperately needs to address this. I am sure most of the culprits were British as most of the holidaymakers seemed to be. We refused to join in and luckily there were usually still some sun loungers around the top pool available each day (but it was certainly restrictive if you wanted to use the main pool at Island Blue).

The only other down side were the large number of weddings the week we were there, they seemed to move around the hotel in large groups and this definitely had an effect on service in the restaurant for smaller tables. (Which was a shame, as I have mentioned earler the quality of the food was fantastic) Maybe the hotel needs to consider the effect on other holidaymakers when booking in several large groups at the same time.

Overall though, excellent accomodation and a lovely location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had a lovely week at the Island Blue at the end of July, start of August - rooms and grounds were very well maintained and the whole atmostphere was relaxed.

Katerina from the Island Blue had arranged a taxi from the airport for us but due to a taxi strike we had to hire a car. Katerina contacted us soon as she was aware that there may be a transport issue for us and even provided directions.

We had a two bedroom, second floor room with a good sized balcony and a sea view and were very pleased with it. The water, wine and fruit were very welcome when we arrived and the flowers were a lovely touch. All the rooms face the pool area.

We stayed on a half board basis and found it to be excellent value for money (separate menu) and never once ordered all of the couses on offer as it would have been too much to eat. Having said that I think that it may have been a better idea to have been able to order from the main menu and paid an additional charge for specific items, we did this once but it was not offered as a general thing. There is a limited choice on the half board menu and so you had to check what was on offer the next day when deciding whether to eat in or go out to another restaurant. We did eat out on a couple of occasions but to be honest the food at Elia was superior and the service was always very friendly. There was always plenty of choice for breakfast.

I have seen comments about the reservation of sunbeds, I too find this really very annoying, but unfortuately this is something that seems to happen wherever you stay. The allocation of sunbeds may be an idea, maybe pool towels could be supplied, this would then identify whether you were a resident - as long as there were enough sunbeds and umbrellas there would be no problem.

Staff were not pushy and trying to get you to buy drinks all the time, this was a welcome change frrom one or two places I have stayed and everybody was generally very helpful.

Lindos is a lovely place to visit as is Rhodes Town.

I would be happy to recommend the Island Blue to friends and family and I am sure that I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMartinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The accommodation was spotlessly clean with daily maid service. The website (and Thomson brochure) said that it was 100m to the beach. This is only true as the crow flies (it's more like 500m) and there are steep stone stairs which need to be negotiated as well. During our second week, there were 3 wedding parties there and the staff were definitely more geared up to serving them first. We waited 40 minutes for drinks during the Greek night because our tiny table of 4 was wedged between two larger groups. Agsin during the band evening, we had poor service because there were 2-3 staff serving the larger groups.
We paid £4500 for our holiday through Thomson and there was no welcome basket in our room, we were also allocated a first floor room which was lovely but further from the pool. We had a nice enough holiday but feel a bit disappointed as we worked and saved so hard for this and it wasn't anything special.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor and book direct rather than via an agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqnfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us here at Island Blue. I am dissapointed to hear that you experienced some drop in the level of service from us and appreciate your comments - they help us to continuously review our facilties and services we offer our guests. I can assure that we like to look after all of our customers and apologise for the areas where you felt let down.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Otel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing