We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wedding venue with great staff”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent wedding venue with great staff”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We got married at St Pauls Chapel on August 29th 2011. We had a party of 35 and I can confidently say that each and everyone of us had the most fantastic time. The hotel was fantastic and the team that work there are one of a kind, nothing is too much trouble for any of them. Obviously we had specific dealings with certain staff with regards to our wedding so a special mention to Margarita (our wedding planner) who was lovely and Louise (the hotel wedding co-ordinator) who is also lovely and really can't do enough for you to make the day as special and smooth running as possible-we really had no worries while they were in control. The cleanliness of the hotel is of very high standard and the staff work so hard to make sure the holiday makers are happy. I must say that Sam at the pool bar we used is a lovely man and Loukas well...what can I say-he is so much fun and truly made our holiday. The hotel are very lucky to have him-he does his job perfectly! We stayed at Island Blue Hotel but were able to use all facilities at Pefki Island as our party were staying in various areas of the hotel. We loved the whole resort and enjoyed many meals at the hotel and in the local restaurants which were all reasonably priced and offered very good food-again, all of the staff just can't do enough for you. All I can end with is what a special holiday made so perfect by the WHOLE team at Pefki Island Resort. We rarely return to holiday destinations twice as there are so many amazing places to visit in the world, but this is truly somewhere we will visit again. Thank you for making our wedding/holiday/honeymoon as fantastic as it was. If anybody reading this is getteing married here and is feeling slightly worried about their special day....please don't....Louise can sort anything!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    121
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
239
388
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just returned from a 2 week stay at island blue and would like to thank all the staff who made this an execelent stay, room very nice, 3 beds, smart bathroom and large balcony. Well equiped with fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and air con, all included. Breakfast was buffet and had everything we could want, cooked and continental, the evening meals also served in Elia were very good and compared with the best the resort could offer, and also had the edge in value. A hearty recommendation for this hotel. Once again thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanddancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the island blue for one week at the beginning of september. We had a ground floor room, it was huge, clean and very well presented, much more than we expected. We spent most of our days at the pool by the Elia restaurant, it only has around 25 sunbeds and was so quiet and relaxing and the larger pool next to the pool bar is great if you like it a bit more lively or have children. We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis, the buffet had a wive variety of food and we never had a bad meal, we also are at the restaurant in the evening and it was the best meal we had while we were there! Great room, service and staff , we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review if your stay here with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Firstly I must say I love Rhodes, and have had some of the best holidays in my life there. We were recommended the island Blue last year as its a new hotel and very modern.
We decided to get a taxi from the airport to our hotel as a treat to ourselves and a nice start to a holiday. On arrival we went into reception and my husband started to praise the taxi driver for being so informative and friendly....the response was "well he talks alot!!" from the surly British receptionist was not what we expected.... but hey... maybe she was having an off day??
Our room was spectacular..... very spacious and modern, lovely decor, ground floor and straight out to the pool PERFECT! :)
The hotel in itself is lovely and the grounds and particular the pool are kept immaculate.... ( sort of)
We were on a bed and breakfast basis and we actually found breakfast to be the worst we have ever experienced... not once were we greeted with a"good morning" from the staff it was the same repetitive thing EVERY day... and unfortunately quite cold. As it was a buffet style you could obviously have a few different things, but the waitresses ( who were standing around) did not think to remove dirty plates..... it just seemed poor service for such a lovely looking place. it also put us off eating in the restaurant in the evening.
I may be ultra fussy but sticky finger prints on all of the doors windows for the whole duration of our stay in the restaurant was just another small niggle to add with the rest.
Our maid was lovely, very very friendly and probably the happiest member of staff..... however her cleaning skills I have to say were poor. I could literally write in the dust left on our mirrors, and to find tooth paste and water marks all over the sinks taps etc after she had been ,it was clear she was doing the bare minimum. I could go on, and ON but she was a nice lady and dont want to get her into any trouble :/
I agree with previous comments that this hotel is SERIOUSLY lacking in atmosphere.... there is literally nothing going on EVER... we stayed in one evening for the live music, which was so depressing and weak, that we had to go into the town again. We were also told that entertainment was in the 2 sister hotels... we did look for it on a couple of occasions, but it was never found. We werr certainly never informed about it!
I assume there was an animation team as most mornings a girl with an orange top would slouch through the restaurant whilst we were having breakfast and mumbled good morning?? Apparently aerobics was supposed to be in the Island Blue Pool every day at 5 pm......again we didn't see it, despite our room having direct view to the pool.

We made a conscious effort to be friendly to the staff and by the end of our stay we did get a hello or good evening, which was nice and made us feel slightly more welcome. Stergos at the pool bar was fab, and so hard working, a really really nice guy, also the barman in the evenings at the Elia restaurant was friendly and made an effort ( he also makes fab Margeritas)
Pefkos itself is very nice, lots of bars and restaurants. The BEST restaurant by far is Lee Beach Bar for the day and Kyma Restaurant ( which is attached) for the evenings. You simply wont find better.... from staff, cleanliness, food quality, atmosphere... Costa and his team have it right 100% LOVED IT! and it will be my main reason for returning to Pefkos!!
The beach is rocky in parts but some places are just sand , its a lovely beach, and always clean. Although try Agathi for all sand and also Glystra ( You need a car)
Palm Cocktail bar is a very good bar, really good fun, and nice drinks and atmosphere... lovely staff, that ask if you are enojoying your holiday and are happy to help. ( NO ONE in our hotel asked us if everything was ok and if we were enjoying our stay.... they didn't care) The restaurant above Palm Cocktail is also very good, and highly recommended with stunning views.
We had a car for 11 days and got out and about to see the beautiful island.... how anyone coped with sitting around the hotel day and night I just dont know. Its a real shame to say anything negative about this holiday as it was fab and I will always go back to Rhodes... but unfortunately the hotel let itself down, with really silly small things when its does have the makings of being perfect.
We didn't really see much of reception as Island Blue is shared with Pefki Islands, but we did pop in to just find out when our coach would leave for the airport. I approached the British receptionist once again, and asked politely. where I would find the information needed.. all I got back was "Its in the book!!!!" Her manner was rude abrupt and totally unnecessary. I have always found reception staff to be warm and welcoming what ever their nationality.... trust an English woman to be the worst ever!!
All in all a lovely destination, Lindos is great as is Rhodes Old Town lots of lovely beaches, and restaurants etc.... just need to get the hotel right next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with accesses to the pool... all are large spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tequila_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us at Island Blue hotel. I appreciate all of your comments both good and bad as this enables us to constantly review our facitlities and services to our guests and maintain our high standards.
I am dissapointed that you felt let down with some areas of your stay and the ponts you mentioned will be looked into. As you will probably see from previous guests reviews such incidents are a rare occurance and so I thank you for bringin this to my attention.
There is indeed nightly entertainent in the 2 sister hotels which is advertised at the reception desk daily (except weds) which includes 2 kareoke evenings, fire eating show, quiz and our Greek night at the Elia Restaurant.
I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday though and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My wife and I spent a fortnight at Island Blue with our five year old daughter.
We had two bedroom ground floor apartment which was spacious, spotless and 2 seconds from the pool. The breakfast in the Elia restaurant was more than adequate but do try the restaurant in the evening as the food was as good as anything in Pefkos. There was a mix of people at the hotel, young, old, with and without kids and everybody was catered for. We hired a car from reception for two days, good service and it allowed us to see Rhodes old town which is a must as is Lindos.
Do not hesitate in booking, as it is a very good hotel for everybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us here at island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and very much look forward to bveing able to welcome you back once more to Pefkos for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed from 24th August until 7th September at Island Blue. This is our 3rd visit to Pefkos as we love it that much. There were 34 in our wedding party and not one complaint.

Most of the comments have been said already.

Basically, the hotel is top quality and I can't fault it at all with the 1 exception of the wifi which requires pre paid cards to be puchased from reception and can work out expensive. I bought one but then just used the free wifi available at most of the resteraunts and bars in the town.

The pools, rooms, facilities and resteraunt are all top quality and kept very clean at all times.

We got married at the chapel onsite at the hotel and then had our reception at the Elia resteraunt. We cannot fault anything on the day as it all went smooth as clockwork, and my wife and I were treated like VIP's during our whole stay!

Top hotel and I highly recommend it to anyone. We will definately be staying again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us here at Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and more importantly your wedding with us here at our chapel and the Elia Restaurant. It was a beautiful day and hope that you and your guests all enjoyed yourselves.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to create more memories.
Kind regards and best wishes for your future happiness
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Recently got back from two weeks at Island Blue. We got married at St Paul's whilst on holiday. The hotel could not do enough for us to make our holiday/honeymoon as special as possible. A special thank you to Katrina and Louise. The accommodation is very clean. I didn't see a single fly there all holiday. Food at Elia Restaurant is excellent. The salads at lunch time where nice especially the Chefs salad! It's also well worth going at night. The pool areas are really nice and we always got a sun bed.

We had our wedding reception at Med East in Lindos. It is on the hill on the way down into the village. The food, view, staff & atmosphere is fantastic at the restaurant and would recommend to go there.

Our wedding planner Anna Nixon again was fantastic and can't thank her enough for all her hard work.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank guywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing