We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I love Pefkos. a quiet resort on the whole but sufficient choice of bars & tavernas. Thankfully no noisey nightclubs & whilst catering to a predominantly British clientele, not a greasy spoon resort.

Have previously stayed in Pefki Islands for many excellent holidays and always found the standards extremely high. Saw the Island Blue being built and have previously used the wonderful pools and so this year decided to upgrade to B&B at the hotel, staying at the end of September/start of October.

We were so pleased that we made this decision. At the risk of repeating what others have said, we got a fantastic room in the block that we wanted thanks to the hard work of the wonderful Katerina who has always helped us with our requests in the past and must have a really difficult job to meet everyone's requests with the number of repeat customers that both the hotel and the apartments attract.

We were transported from reception via the golf buggy and the maid was on hand to make us feel very welcome. She was excellent throughtout our stay as have been all the maids on our previous visits. The room was vast and well equiped and the bathroom was excellent, with such a massive shower, that was a real pleasure to be in.

Breakfast was excellent, you could sit where you wanted and there was a good choice of both hot and cold food and you could make up all sorts of combinations and so I really enjoyed that. We had several evening meals in the restaurant and again the food was of a high standard, I would really recomment the Lamb Kleftiko!! My one criticism and this is being really picky would be the vegetables, the oven potatoes and rice were excellent but the 3rd element could be improved upon. Staff at both breakfast and dinner were very efficient and polite.

We also attended the Greek night, not usually our cup of tea but we were so taken the first time that we had to repeat the experience the following week and this was interesting as we experienced it one week outside and one week inside as it rained on the Sunday as the weather had turned. It was good to see that some items of food were changed so that it wasn't an identical menu if you went more than once. I also think that it appealed to us as it wasn't professionals putting on the show. George the lead musician has done maintenance jobs in both the Studios and the hotel room for us and Costas the lead dancer has previously served us our breakfast and lunch at the Pefki Islands but please don't get me wrong, this is no amateur production, it was an excellent show all round and people did want to get involved!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already booked again for next year. We know from experience that the hotel and apartments next door fill up with repeat bookings very quickly, so didn't want to risk being disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have pool views. Some 1st floor rooms can be approached by a slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yellowhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us again here at the Island Blue. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday with us once more and thank you for your kind comments which are much appreciated.
We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    120
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
237
387
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel in sept, excellent room very big overlooking the pool, very clean fresh soft towels, pool area okay only fault was the brollys not big enough to keep you shaded in the hot sun, evening meal was good, breakfast i have had better, we mainly used it as a base explored every day, lindos was fantastic , rhodes town do not miss, our third year to rhodes we will be booking again for next year, but will be booking a different hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for takign the time to write your review of your stay with us here at Island Blue hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday overall, but am dissapointed that you felt let down in some areas of your stay, especially the breakfast. I do appreciate your comments as they enable us to constantly review our services and faciltites to our guests.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and exceed your expectations.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We highly recommend this hotel! Large, clean and modern family rooms. Great service and friendly atmosphear. Nice pool area and several beaches around the corner. Pefkos is a relaxing place with a broad supply of restaurants. We had high expectations - and the staff met them or even in some cases exceeded them.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for takign the time to write such a great review of your stay here with us at Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we did indeed exceed your expectations. We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I can't really describe how happy I was at the Island Blue. We had been to the neighbouring Pefki Islands Resort 8 times before and loved it, but decided to move on to the Island Blue this time (both are part of the same accommodation and are managed excellently).

From arrival to departure nothing could have been better. All of the rooms have a lovely outlook over the superb swimming pools. The grounds are spotless and beatutifully maintained. Maid service was brilliant. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, lots of changes and variation during the holiday and everything cooked to perfection. Service was superb.

The hotel has a Greek Night. Ordinarily I would avoid things like this (aged 55 and a half) but decided to try it and it was EXCELLENT! I had assumed that the 'Greek entertainers' would be a professional troupe going from hotel to hotel, however the bazouki player was the maintenance man of the hotel and the lead dancer was the pool barman. This made it a really good and friendly night as they both recognised and remembered us from previous visits.

So we have re-booked for next year already.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Concorde2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue hotel. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again here in Pefkos and am glad that you decided to try our Island Blue Hotel.
I thank you for your great comments and will be sure to pass them onto the staff - especially our all singing and dancing stars, George and Kosta!
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We went to Island Blue with UK travel agent Thomson in the first week of October. What can we say about this hotel that hasn’t already been said? Still, it’s nice to know the latest, so here goes.

It’s well worth its rating as a 4-star and we had excellent value. The price went down dramatically from the previous week but even at peak prices it would still compare favourably with any other of its type in this location. Because of its excellent guest feedback it will be a Thomson Platinum hotel next year which may increase the prices.

Our transfer was much shorter than the Thomson brochure suggested – just one hour instead of an hour and a half but that was because we only had to stop at one other hotel. A nice bonus though. We arrived at 10 pm and were told the restaurant was open until 11.30 if we wanted to eat, and the bars until the last guest leaves!

All the staff we met throughout the week were friendly and helpful - and seemed to enjoy their work even though they must have been exhausted at the end of the season! All the staff we talked to spoke very good English.

Island Blue is part of a complex of three hotels and all guests can use the others’ facilities such as pools and bars. This gave a good choice of five pools – all have slightly different atmospheres from very quiet (the one next to the restaurant) to pretty lively. We liked the one nearest the Island Blue apartments which is a reasonable size. All except the one near the restaurant had music playing most of the day.

Location: The hotels are quite near the beach – only about 5 minutes’ walk but there are some shallow steps down to the beach which would make if difficult for anyone with mobility problems. The beach itself is sandy and clean but very, very narrow – only about one sun-lounger’s width at this point although it widens out to about 20 feet at the other end. The sun loungers and sun shades are €4 a day each, but we were told that often they don’t collect the money. The hotel doesn’t supply beach towels.

Pefkos town is also a short walk from the hotels – less than 10 minutes – and has a huge number of restaurants and bars to suit just about anyone. A bit of a cartel on prices, most seemed to charge the same for the same dish.We recommend Nostalgia and Enigma. There are also two restaurants with good choices of three courses for just under €8 – we thought the left hand one was much the better of the two.

Rooms are lovely and spacious, with air conditioning at no extra charge (unlike the other two hotels in the complex) and the twin beds were comfortable if a bit on the firm side. There was a fridge and kettle, cups and glasses but tea, coffee and milk is not provided so take your own teabags and coffee, or buy at the supermarket just down the road. Sheets were changed once during the week. There’s a TV and a safe in the room but there’s an additional charge for the safe. The bathroom is large, with a lovely powerful shower and no shortage of hot water at any time. There’s a fairly powerful hair dryer in the bathroom, near enough to the mirror. We were on the ground floor so had a pool-facing patio with a table and chairs. Upper floors all have a pool-facing balcony.

Food: Breakfasts were excellent – a huge variety of options including cereals, toast, seven kinds of jam/marmalade (yes, I counted them!), yogurt, fruit juices cakes, ham, cheese and fruit plus all the requirements of a full English breakfast – sausages, bacon, eggs etc. It’s completely self-service and you can sit anywhere. We didn’t eat dinner there, so don’t know what that would be like, although the choice looked good and cost compared well with that of other restaurants in the town. We used the snack bar at the pool a couple of times – it serves quite a decent variety of hot and cold food such as omelettes, salads, pasta, pizza and sandwiches.

Other odds and ends: There’s an entertainments team but we didn’t take part in any of the activities so can’t comment on those. Island Blue has a small library above reception if you run out of books. There’s a Greek night which is supposed to be excellent (we didn’t try that). There’s some low-key entertainment eg band/singers in the bar some nights – quality varies.

We hired a car for three days through Thomson/Budget for €104and went to Rhodes old town (fabulous and not to be missed), Lindos (also lovely but if you’ve got a car it’s best to go late-ish in the day when all the tourist coaches have gone) and the west coast.

Overall, we had a great holiday (aided by perfect weather) and if we wanted to stay in a hotel in Rhodes again we would be very likely to choose Island Blue. We would definitely recommend it very highly. Minor improvements could be providing beach towels, making the safes in the rooms free of charge and supplying teabags and coffee.

Room Tip: All rooms are pool facing, ground floors have patios, upper floors have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneandIan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel in early October of this year.

When we arrived we were greeted very friendly staff at reception who helped us with our bags to our room. The room was huge and we had a good view over the pool out to sea. It had all the usual facilities you would expect.

The hotel is part of a bigger complex which comprises two other hotels. You can use the facilities at the other hotels but we stayed at the Island Blue most of the time. The swimming pool is large and there were plenty of sun beds, although some people still seemed to insist on marking the sun beds with towels and I don't even think they were German.

The only criticism of the pool is that it was freezing cold; if you are planning some form of polar swim the pool could be handy for training. Once the sensation in your body has faded you get used to the cool waters and frostbite isn't too bad, and it's not as if you need five fingers on each hand anyway.

The bars at the hotel and by the pool were fine and seemed similarly priced to others in the town. We didn't try the restaurant so I can’t really comment on that.

Overall I think the hotel is fantastic value for money and you get a lot. I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going to Pefkos.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the pool out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtticusFinch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Pefkos. All your comments are very much appreciated.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We had stayed in Pefkos before and had vowed to return but wished to find better accommodation than we had previously. Having read the favourable reports of Island Blue on Trip Advisor we booked there for the last week in Sep and first in Oct. The holiday was one of the best we have experienced - due mainly to the exceptional venue provided by Island Blue.
All the accolades in previous reports are true. From the moment we arrived all staff were wonderful. The Rooms are fabulous - large with all amenities and the luxurious bathroom and walk-in shower. Breakfasts provided a vast choice of delicious food and the resort pools are first class. There were a few large, comfortable sunbeds at the Elia Pool but regrettably, those at the main pool were narrow and uncomfortable. This is our only minor criticism in an otherwise exceptional Hotel Resort. Our thanks to all at Island Blue for a truely memorable holiday.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guests
Many thanks for your fantatsic review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday and appreciate all of your comments.
We very much look forward to being ablke to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.3 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing