We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“brilliant holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

we stayed at the island blue for 10 days in july,our room was huge,fantastic walk in shower room and very mod.great views over the pool and mountains.we have stayed at many other 4 and 5 star hotels that dont come close to this place.it is a very friendly,modern and relaxing hotel with great staff and good food.we were so impressed with our stay that we have already booked to return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday with us and look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel next summer.
Please send us an email to info@islandblue.gr before you arrive with any room requests.
Many thanks
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    120
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
237
386
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I visited island blue hotel August 2011 booked originally as I was to get married in lindos but later changed to my honeymoon. Island blue is part of a resort consisting of 3 hotels/apartments. Island blue being the newest and most expensive but luxurious.

The rooms are large with balconies, free air con, very clean with flat screen TVs and a fridge handy to keep your water in.

Breakfast is a buffet style in a rooftop restaurant. Food has fried selection as well as the usual continental style breakfast.

Each of the hotels in the resort have a swimming pool with a different type of atmosphere family, party, chilling and the best in for couples or peace and quiet is the restaurants pool. Each pool has a bar next to it where you can order snacks and drinks. They have happy hours and promotions. This is where we stayed for the two weeks :) the sun beds have padding and there's parasols which you will need as it is so hot.

There Is a beach next to the hotel but it's tiny and easier to stay by the pool.

On site is also a supermarket Which has a range of food, drinks and Souvenirs.

Pefkos main strip is a 3-5 min walk which means you don't get the noise from the bars. Or get a taxi to lindos for about 8 euros.

When we told lindos blue about it being our honeymoon they gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne when we had a meal at the restaurant and a fruit platter.

This hotel is beautiful and I would recommend it to anyone who visits lindos/pefkos. I thoroughly enjoyed my honeymoon thanks to this hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us especially as it was such a special occasion for your honeymoon.
Thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and wish you all the very best for your future happiness as you start your married life.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed at island blue for the second time. The positives - good location, the views, the quality of the room and furnishings and laid back atmosphere and cleanliness.
The less positives - the entertainment and kids club since John and Helen left a couple of years ago. The lack of any kitchen equipment,cutlery or crockery in the kitchen area and lastly the service is becoming (with exceptions) more formal and less friendly. Its not that the staff are rude but they are less willing to engage and give of themselves than they were a few years ago. Elvis sauntering around without a word to any guests gives a poor example.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyi-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay for the second time with us and thank you for all your comments.
It is dissapointing to hear that you did not find the staff as friendly on this occasion, which is a very rare comment from our guests as we have many guests who return to us based on the staff and as per previous comments they are always as helpful and friendly as possible.
Also Helen and John are back at the hotel this summer running the entertainment programme with 2 live shows, 2 Kareoke's per week as well as our Greek night and live music every Saturday at the Elia Restaurant.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Island Blue, what a fantastic place! Our room was huge, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The hotel is spotless and there is maid service daily. The buffet breakfast has lots of choice and the staff throughout the complex are friendly and very helpful. There were no fights for sunbeds or spots near the pool. Its a family friendly hotel and our two girls aged 7 and 12 have thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We were on the ground floor overlooking the pool which was fantastic. We felt very spoilt here and would recommend the Island Blue over and over again! It was so peaceful and relaxing. The only down side was the intense heat!! But hey what do you expect Greece in the last week of July!!

Room Tip: K block, ground floor room is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillibeans01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you and your family enjoyed your holiday here with us and that the July heat did not cause you too many problems!
We look forward to ebing able to welcome you all back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

3rd year in a row back at the Island Blue complex. The first year we stayed at the Lindia Thalassa were we had a wonderful time. Last year we stayed at the sister hotel the Island Blue and returned for our second time to the Island Blue in July this year. This year we were in a twin bed single room apartment. The room was a very good size with a decent sized bathroom with huge walk in shower. We had a ground floor room with a large shaded secluded terrace which overlooked the pool area, ideal for escaping for a break from the sun. Facilities in the room are as advertised but the whole room is a cut above due to the modern feel of the décor with air conditioning included also. We chose half board for the week (as we had last year). The buffet style breakfast selection is good and varied, from hot English fare to cold meats, fruits and tempting local pastries. The a la carte evening menu had changed slightly from the previous year and the food was of a good standard and the service once again in the Elia Restaurant is exceptional. In fact the service throughout the Hotel is first class. From the front desk reception, through the waiting staff to the cleaners, you have a genuine sense that everyone is pleased that you are staying at the hotel and everyone would go out of their way to help you no matter how trivial your request. We made a specific request this time to the hotel about our room preference and the front desk staff went the extra mile to ensure we got what we wanted which just makes it feel like you are getting that extra special personal attention. As for Pefkos itself, it is a little gem. Based around the (quiet) main road set back several hundred metres from the beach it is neither too quiet or to busy. Ideal for couples, good for families and with a good selection of bars and restaurants which cater for all tastes. From the hotel itself the beach is a 2 minute walk through the Island blue complex. The beach is clean and narrow backed by an inland cliff. The sea is shallow for around 20 to 30m which is great for both adults and kids to play in. The resort is a 5-10 minute (10 euro taxi ride) from the town of Lindos to the north which is quite possibly one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, especially at sunset when the ancient Acropolis which overlooks the town is lit by the last of the suns rays. After only visiting for 3 years it almost feels like returning to a home away from home in Pefkos, and particularly the Island Blue, and we would like to commend all the staff on a wonderful job and hope to return as soon as we possibly can.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you once again chose one of our hotels and that the Island Blue was once again all that you expected.
Thank you for your great comments, which will certainly be passed onto the staff - it is always good for them to hear that they are doing a good job.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back again to us in the very near future!
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Fantastic hotel ! Fantastic holiday! We booked bed and breakfast but were worried that possibly it would be expensive to eat out in the evening... Absolutely not! Plenty of places in Pefkos to get a nice reasonably priced meal and excellent value!! The hotel is spotless, the rooms are large and the air con is so efficient!! Everybody is so friendly!! Just one tip ... Make sure you take plenty of sun cream/ after sun with you as it is VERY expensive in Greece!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoolooKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you had a wonderful holiday here in Pefkos and very much look forward to ebing able to welcome you all back in the very near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Travelled with my partner and 18 year old son on 14th July for 10 nights. Choose a 2 bed apartment which was excellent with air con and safety deposit box included in price. (Booked direct with hotel which saved a considerable amount on travel agents quoted prices, and although a little nervous to do so with current ecomonic climate everything was fine) After reading many reviews on this hotel prior to booking the hotel lived up to expectations. Room spotless and cleaned everyday by wonderful friendly maid. Pool areas are expansive and again spotless. Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone.
I really can't fault the hotel, but would say a minor niggle was that people staying in the sister complex can use Island Blue pool's.(although they do have their own pools) While there are signs clearly stating that Island Blue guests have priority on sunbeds and umbrella's this I feel is difficult to enforce and there were times we could not obtain a sunbed.
Much has been written about the beach being rocky and yes the wider section is rocky as you enter the sea. However if you walk down to where the beach narrows it is beautiful and sandy with wonderful views and crystal clear sea. Pefkos is, as written in the main aimed at the British, however you can find plenty of traditional taverna's. As with most parts of Greece yes there are a few cats running around. Our particular favourties for food were for fish Mary&Gina with an excellent waitress who runs around constantly looking after you, Greek food, Dama Dama. Philosophia for amazing greek salad and stunning views. Best bar for us was Pane Di Capo, excellent friendly bar staff and comfortable surroundings. All in all this was an excellent choice for us and we would go back without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your fantastic review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Pefkos as a resort.
Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated. The situation with the sunbeds is still soemthing we are working on to find a solution.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay!
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing