We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on a half board basis for a week with older teenage children. The apartment was on the ground floor that opened up to a large courtyard a few steps from the pool. The apartment was clean, modern and large with 2 bathrooms. Excellent value...
The staff were friendly especially the cleaning lady who serviced the apartment every day. The main clientele were british with families but there were a few young couples. Some attempts were made by management to offer activities/ entertainment eg aqua aerobics but we never saw anyone from the resort turn up to take them. As such the only activities on offer were the pool tables - one near the Pool bar and one at the attached restuarant.....my teenagers were happy enough to just head down to the beach, laze around the pool or play cards so it was not a problem but the lack of entertainent may deter others.
We arrived on a B&B basis but upgraded to half board - extra 12euros pp for a 3 course meal. For us the food at breakfast was adequate and did the job but we all agreed that breakfast at our lower category previous hotel in Rhodes provided more variety. The kids enjoyed the dinners at night - however the deserts could have been a bit more varied - ice cream/fruit/cake. For me the best was the ambience at the restuarant - overlooking the pool - it was hard to beat.
My only gripe would be the lack of internet/wi-fi which I felt was stingy of the hotel in not providing. Wi-fi was provided in almost all cafes/taverns/restuarants in Pefki - even the laundry mat. For this reason we headed into town for lunch or drinks and used the wi-fi services provided rather than eat/drink at the Island Blue - something the management might like to take into consideration in refusing to provide free wi-fi. I know in a previous response by management to this issue was that the complex was way too large for this to happen. The complex - is small by many standards and even so free wi-fi could have been provided in the reception and restuarant area.
So for us - minutes to beach, large modern rooms,pool view/access, good price, close to town, smaller more personalised complex.....it ticked all the boxes.

Room Tip: all rooms overall the pool, bottom rooms have quick access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Thank you for all your comments, which help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here.
As per previous responses the situation with Wifi is not possible to provide free of charge across the 3 complexes like the smaller bars and restaurants in Pefkos who have smaller perimeters. I appreciate what you have said about the reception areas for the WIfi and this is something we will review.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    124
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
248
394
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

having stayed at island blue 8th/22nd august , for our wedding anniversary , from start to finish, I can only say how good this hotel is from our first greeting to reception taken to our room on a buggy to a great spacious room with great views .The staff in all areas , breakfast ,dining, bar , pool bar , cleaning , maintenance were friendly and courteous at all times , and this made our stay for the two weeks one of our most enjoyable holidays , and I would recommend this hotel and complex to all , not to mention the resort of pefkos as well , well worth the visit . many thanks to all .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with us especially as you were here to celebrate your wedding anniversary.
Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel for another great stay in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Pefki Island Resort before but this year decided to upgrade and stay at the Island Blue and we were not disappointed. The room was really spacious and well set out. The free air conditioning was a big bonus and we certainly made use of it. We were on the first floor and our room overlooked the little chapel by the pool. All the staff were friendly and the lady who cleaned our room was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. I went into the reception on our first day and asked if we could have a couple of wine glasses in our room and by the time we had walked back to our room our cleaner was there putting the glasses in the room for us. We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast buffet always had plenty of choice and was fresh.

As for Pefkos itself we understand why people come back year after year. The people in the resort are really friendly and often recognise you from previous visits - this always amazes me when you think of the number of people they must see every year. Once again we had some lovely meals and tried out some new restaurants - one of which was Taverna Nikolas - the food there was superb and they grew all their own vegetables.

We will definitely be coming back, it is just a case of sorting out when.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us once again after choosing to upgrade to the Island Blue complex.
Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very late review, having visited in July 2010.

This place is amazing and we visited not so long after it opened. Highly recommend staying here, although the price has gone up quite abit since the time we went.

Staff work extremely hard and the rooms were unbelievable. Free air con was a huge plus!!

Nothing bad to say about this place - if you visit Pefkos try and stay here!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BIG-RON-COLEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us back in 2010! I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us and thank you for your great comments!
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!!
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dibden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here in July 2012, we found this hotel lived up to all the 5star reviews we had read. The pool was lovely, always a sun-bed available (although you could have done with a sunshade for each bed, when it was really hot). Our breakfast buffet each morning was good with plenty of choice. Our room was cleaned daily to a high standard, with a lovely view from our balcony, were we sat each evening having a drink, and watching the sunset. We found all the staff friendly and polite, and helpful when needed. The shop onsite was well equipped (even if tad more than local supermarket). Would not hesitate to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.
kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in,our room was on the ground floor opposite the pool, lovely and spacious and above all clean. We ate every night at the hotel restaurant which was excellent, would like to mention Evi who was so nice and helpful, but all the staff very friendly, enjoyed the 'Greek night' also, would recommend this hotel and would love too return some day.

Room Tip: Ask for lower room by the pool,I cant imagine there would be a bad room there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay here with us at Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos and thank you for all your comments which will of course be passed onto the staff.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a very nice visit to Greece. The weather was HOT! We got lots and lots of sun and spent our days alternating between the pool and the beach.

We had two room to accommodate my family. We gladly paid extra for the remotes for the AC, it was much needed! The rooms were nice and very clean, staff was in almost every day. In Greece you can't flush your toilet paper. So the rooms got a quick brush up and garbage change every day.

We walked up the hill to the bakery quite a few times. The store there is just a little cheaper then the one onsite. But it did have more of a selection of things.

The beds were hard. They were so hard that I folded up the extra blanket and slept on it. It hurt my back very badly.

We did see bugs and ants occasionally. The staff kept things really clean. Some advice, if you don't want to see them more be sure to keep your food cleaned up!

Room Tip: We were not directly around the pool, which was nice as there were some nights when there were activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaboFinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay here with us in Pefkos. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us and thank you for all your great comments.
I was confused as to why you wrote you had to pay for the air conditioning at Island Blue as this is free of charge for all Island Blue rooms - only in the Pefki Islands and Lindia Thalassa sister hotels is the air conditioning charged for.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to our hotels in the near future for another great stay.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
2.3 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing