We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Blue Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pefki Islands Resort(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindia Thalassa Resort(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Summer Memories Apartments(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pefkos Village Resort(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$59
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pefkos Beach Hotel(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coralli Apartments(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Evi Studios(Pefkos)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
633
135
19
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
135
19
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf buggygreek nightpool barblue poollovely hotelwedding partiesbed and breakfast basisbuffet styleelia barpefki islandsstayed on a b b basisnext yearair conwalk in showeriron and ironing boardcooked breakfastadult only pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We booked independently via hotels website (flights by Jet2, transfer thru Booking.com) in July and arrived late August. Cutting out the travel agent meant we could spend more on the holiday! On arrival at the hotel (1h 20mins from airport) we were transported with our luggage to our room by golf buggy - no man-hauling heavy cases!

Our room was on the first floor (no stairs, just a short ramp from the rear access road) and overlooked the pool (they all do), a small chapel, and the bay in the distance. Air Conditioner included in the price, which kept the room comfortable - vital since we were in the middle of a heatwave. We also had TV, Kettle, Fridge, Safe Box, Hairdryer and a spacious bathroom with walk-in shower, comfy beds and plenty of storage.

Although the whole complex seemed to be on or near full occupancy, it was not mobbed-out and we never struggled for sunbeds, or a table at the poolside bar which became our oasis. There is a mini-supermarket nearby, but Pefkos town is but a short walk with more shops, bars and restaurants.

Breakfast was a buffet-style array of cooked or continental fare, eg fried things, breads, cereal, fruit, yogurt, served in the rooftop-poolside Olia restauraunt; most people sat out on the shaded patio area to enjoy what little breeze there was! Stunning!

We did eat in-house, (excellent) but also tried local nearby restaurants. We asked around for recommendations and were not disappointed.

The staff were all very friendly, polite, and helpful, and we certainly felt like we were being well looked-after. The housekeeper tidied (-up after us) and cleaned the room every day and put out fresh towels if needed.

Regrettably we didnt see much of the surrounding areas or even Pefkos itself, because it was just too damn hot to move. The beach nearby although small, offered safe and excellent swimming, and so became our haunt. With a fresh-water shower & hose, and the shop nearby, we wanted for nothing at all!

We did go on a boat trip to Rhodes town; the boat trip was long (abt 4h) hot and crowded, but did stop halfway for swimming & snorkelling. Rhodes town is a must-see and made up for the discomfort. returned by air-conditioned bus... aaaahhh......

Many of the people we talked to in the hotel were there on their second or even third visits. We were there for a week, which was plenty of pool-time for me, and being self-employed, I don't get paid when I'm on holiday.

In conclusion, I'd definitely go back, and certainly recommend to anyone looking for a quality vacation.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter with balconies. Ground floor rooms have shaded patio areas leading directly onto poolside.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nordkapp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your excellent review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel last August. I am very happy that you both had an excellent holiday despite the very hot temperatures!
It is great to hear such great feedback and that you also had chance to visit some parts of the island. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future so that you can discover more the island has to offer!
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed in Island Blue hotel on August and we enjoyed our stay. Nice clean rooms and helpful staff. Plenty sunbeds around the pool. The breakfast was good and plenty. We will return and we recommend it for our friends and family

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rafal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us last year here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had an excellent holiday and enjoyed your time here in Pefkos.
Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.
Kins regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at the Island Blue Hotel for a week in October and it was a lovely holiday! The hotel is nice and very very clean. It's a lovely place that's not too expensive so very good value for money. We booked a double room but actually got a family suite because it was available. This meant we had access to a kitchen and a spare room and second bathroom. The room was nicely decorated (nice minimalistic style) and it was very very clean. The cleaner came in every day to clean it and change towels. The pool was amazing, big enough to have a swim, not too cold and again very clean. We did not have a problem finding a sun bed but I can see it being a bit crowded during high season. The inflatable mattresses and beach balls that hotel guests could use were a nice bonus- I haven't seen any other hotel do that.
The best thing about the hotel for us was the food! We booked a half- board stay which was turning out much cheaper than having dinner in any of the restaurants in Pefkos every night. The staff at the Elia restaurant were very friendly albeit sometimes a bit slow (although we didn't mind so much because we were on holiday and not in a rush!) and the food was great! There was a good selection of food for breakfast and a very good menu for dinner, including both international and Greek cuisine which is great because I like to try local cuisine. The stuffed plums and grilled halloumi were to die for and I can thoroughly recommend the Moussaka and Kleftiko. The only thing we didn't like were the steaks so if you would like a nice cut of beef for dinner it's probably best to go somewhere else.
The location of the hotel is great, close to the beach (although the beach was very crowded and sun beds were expensive so we didn't use it), close to a couple of supermarkets and bars and restaurants. Pefkos was easy to get to from the airport (we rented a car) and very close to Lindos which is amazing! As one reviewer already mentioned there is a lot of cats in the area. I love animals so it didn't bother me but I can see that some people might mind cats following them around.
All the other staff were also lovely, the only bad thing I can say about the hotel was that one of the cleaners stole a couple of our cigarettes. In hindsight we should have probably reported it but at the time we didn't care that much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.
Thank for all your great comments which are very much appreciated. It is great to read your comments and they will of course be passed onto the staff.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I always try to write reviews which help prospective holidaymakers as the last thing I want to hear is moans about things beyond the resorts control. As we arrived in the last week of the season we expected it to be quite. We didn't expect it to be so quiet. The up side of this was that we were able to eat in all of the restaurants that were rated as excellent on this site without having to book. Our room was very spacious with a pool view which was lovely. It's the first time we have been B&B as in the past we have done self catering or all inclusive. I thought we would have a kitchen area but we just had a fridge. Not a problem to us but it may be for families in the high season. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. We couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room or the rest of the place. The pool area was spotless and the pool although cool was clean. There were more than enough sunbeds for the people staying and the ones which had been stacked away weren't needed. The breakfast choice was extensive. We always like to eat local produce so the Greek yogurt with honey and walnuts was delicious. Cereals could wait until we got back home. There was also a vast assortment of cheeses, meats and fruit, as well as the british fry up. The staff were friendly and although we had it pointed out by some of our fellow guests that the staff chose the football matches they wanted to watch, we prefered to watch the matches at the Angel bar across the road which had much better TV screens and cheaper drinks. Everything was closing down for the season but everywhere we went was friendly. We hired a car from the airport which was the best thing we did as we drove all around the island in our weeks stay. The only thing which I haven't read in the other reviews is the amount of cats in the area. If you like cats you will be delighted, if you don't beware. Great resort we will be going back again.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyCue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday despite it being the end of the summer season here in Pefkos.
Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated. In the Island Blue hotel as its a Bed & Breakfast or Half Board option the double/triple rooms do not come with cooking facilities. The 2 bedroom apartments do have cooking facilities aslad are usually occupied by families with children etc
I am glad that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Just returned from holiday at Island Blue having been transferred there as our originally booked accomodation in studios next door had closed for the season. Although rooms very comfortable and upgraded to B&B it was evident that it was the end of the season and the hotel was closing down around us during our 11 night stay. Sunbeds were packed away with only a few remaining around the pool, the sun beds around the pool outside the restaurant were laid on their side which gave the message they were not to be used. The pool was not cleaned for the last few days of our holiday which resulted in algae on the sides and bottom of the pool which meant we could not use it. Rooms were not cleaned to the standard we have experienced in the past. Good selection of food for breakfast but not always that hot and cereal was down to 1 choice on our last few days. Staff generally friendly and helpful but bar staff did not want to be there and we felt we were in the way if we went back to the hotel in the evening after eating out. On 1 occasion 6 of us were finishing our drink and talking when the bar was closed and the lights put out leaving us in the dark! The staff appeared to control what football was shown on the TV which resulted in us and other guests going to nearby bars to watch the matches we wanted thereby spending money elsewhere when we could have been spending at the hotel. We have had 4 previous fantastic holidays staying at Lindia Thalassa Studios which are owned by the same company and the atmosphere at the Island Blue in no way compares with what we experienced there.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with easy access to pool area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel.
I thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated. The end of season is always a quiet time for many hotels and so facilities do need to close compared to number of guests but I apologise if this infringed on your holiday and gave a negative impression of the complex. All your comments will be taken on board for future when reviewing the facilities and services we offer our guests.
We look forward to being to welcome you back to the hotels in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews