We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, wedding and holiday! Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Everything about the island blue hotel is perfect! We stayed from 10th-24th August 2013 with friends and family who attended our wedding.
We arrived late on the Saturday evening and was greeted by personable friendly receptionists who organised a golf buggy to take our cases to our room, which was on the top floor as requested prior to arriving.
We were bed and breakfast but a number of our wedding guests stayed on a half board basis and highly recommended the evening meals at Elia restaurant. We dined a number of times during our stay and loved every meal. The breakfast options were great! And we were greeted every morning by friendly staff who were attentive to our every need! I enjoyed the champagne breakfast on our wedding morning, the staff did a great job at making myself and the bridal party feel extra special that day. The pools around the island blue were spotless and spacious, with plenty of sun loungers available and we were a party of 40! Our rooms were also spacious and clean, and fresh towels were brought in every day which was great.
Our wedding day was perfect, more than I could have ever imagined! Louise who organises the weddings at the hotel did such an incredible job!! The veranda terrace looked fab, we sent a picture of what we would like the terrace to look like and they delivered above and beyond what we expected. I highly recommend anyone booking a wedding at the hotel to go through louise and the team. The food was delicious and the staff and management were attentive to our every need.
Thank you again for making our holiday and wedding extra special! I highly recommend the Island blue and surrounding hotels within the resort. We are already planning on our next holiday and staying at the island blue again:)
Andy and Rhian Hayes x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos especially as you were here to celberate your special day with us,.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated and it was a pleasure to look after you and your family and friends. You all looked so happy on your wedding day and we are happy we were able to give you the day you wanted.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and we wish you all the bst for your married life.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This is without doubt the best place to stay in Pefkos .the breakfast was excellent with plenty of healthy options . The whole place is spotlessly clean. The beach is only a seven minute walk away but is down a set of steep steps.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from 5 night at this hotel for our mini moon. We have been to Pefkos before and we fell in love with the place so we knew we wanted to go back there. This was our 1st stay at the Island Blue hotel and we were really impressed. The hotel complex is massive, with3 swimming pools so it was never hard to find a sunbed. The staff were really friendly, although I did catch 1 cleaner in our room sniffing my lip balm, which was weird!
We ate in the Elia restaurant on 1 night and I wasn't very impressed with the food, although I was ill that day so it could have been the reason I wasn't keen.
The hotel is defiantly family friendly and there were a lot of children around the pool, this didn't bother us as we were missing our 2 year old anyway.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and if we return to Pefkos I think its safe to say we would return to the Island Blue Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shells761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos for your mini honeymoon. Congratulations and all the best for your future married life.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and faciltities we offer our guests here in resort.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Island Blue 17th Aug for 2 weeks. When we arrived check in was quick and efficient. Like others we were taken to our room by a buggy.

Rooms are very spacious, very clean and all over look pool area. Rooms are cleaned daily and towels changed.

We stayed on a B&B basis, breakfast was sufficient, they served bacon, fried eggs, boiled eggs, beans, toast, cereal fruit etc.

We used pool at Island Blue, we were slightly worried about getting a sunbed as previous reviews suggested others out with would come and put towels down, however we had no issues and sun beds were available throughout the day even with towels being put down early morning.

We attended the Greek night which was good, don't think it was worth the 17 euros thou, it would have been better if a couple of tables were allowed up at a time instead of everyone rushing and then standing in a long queue. Never got the chance to have desert as it was all gone by the time we got there.

The resort itself is nice with plenty of restaurants, terpsis, dama dama were our favourites. Would also recommend going to Philosophia which over looks the beach, best view you'll get. We were disappointed with the lack of shops, all souvenirs could be bought from supermarkets which there are plenty.

You can easily jump in a taxis and go to Lindos approx 10min away for 8 euros and this has loads of shops to look though and plenty restaurants to chose from also.

Weather was fantastic, in the 40's everyday and would get extremely windy at nights so slight breeze even if warm.

Would also recommend going to Rhodes, loads of history, shops, harbour etc to keep you busy.

We had a few issues with room however reception sorted this out after 2 days and we asked for late checkout due to inconvenience which they sorted without charge.

Overall really nice holiday and accommodation has been best we have stayed in however resort itself is not interesting enough for us to venture back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort.

We look forward ot being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at island blue for a week, for our honeymoon. The hotel put champagne in our room and have us free wine with dinner at their restaurant 'Elia'.
We booked a package with Thompson and feel we had good value for money.
The rooms were spacious and modern, cleaners once a day; although they just do beds, bins and towels; they didn't replace plates or cups which they should have.
Upon arrival we were taken to our room on a gold buggy and when leaving the buggy came and for our bags for us.
I cannot fault the service.
€38 to keep the room until 6pm as check out was 12pm was well worth it; although I was disappointed that the towels weren't replenished, when playing this amount and clearly it's having the extra time to get ready to go home towels are a must!
The pool and pool bar at blue island was nice, we didn't really have any problems about Loungers etc. some people have moaned about the other hotels using the blue island pool but it is a complex at the end of the day, there are 5 pools and everyone can use anyone! The pools were lovely and cool, clean and well kept.
Breakfast was good, hot and cold drinks, hot a s cold food.
Pefkos is beautiful! I'd recommend hiring a car a d going to Rhodes town as its only an hour away.
Lindos, the next village was lovely; better to go late afternoon/evening time.
There were some great eating places, we loved Lee Beach down by the sea, and Turpsis restaurant.
We were really disappointed with the red dragon chinese, service was awful, highly priced and not very tasty!

There is free wifi in the bar; very handy!!

Overall, we have an amazing time at Island Blue, the reception staff were helpful and all other staff were very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel in an Instant and would def. go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurageary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Isand Blue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday especially as this was for your honeymoon - congratulations.

Many thanks for all your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort.

Wishing you both all the bets for your married life and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A group of us stayed at the Island Blue Hotel from July into August for a family wedding.
The location is great as it's a short walk away from the Pefkos strip which is great to go to of an evening. Local buses are also reliable and cheap and are a great way of visiting other areas of Rhodes.
The food served at the hotel is slightly more expensive compared to what you will find on the strip, however I do believe that it's better quality and therefore you get what you pay for!
The hotel staff at the bars and reception are all really lovely and work so hard; they are a credit to the hotel.
It is definitely not a hotel to take young children to as there is very little in the way of daily entertainment to keep them occupied.
We were only disappointed with 2 aspects of the holiday overall. Firstly, although the bedrooms are lovely and clean, for the price we paid we were disappointed to find there were no double beds, only 2 single beds pushed together. I have stayed in many other Greek hotels where I have paid a lot less money and had a double bed and I feel particularly for the newly-wed couple this was a let down considering the price of the hotel and it's high ratings.
Also I would recommend that you DO NOT use the hotel's laundry service. As we were a group of 9 at the hotel with young children staying for 2 weeks, using the laundry service was unavoidable. However when receiving our items back from the launderette, many of the clothes had shrunk considerably, had burn marks from what we could only imagine as coming from the tumble dryers, and even some did not appear to have been washed at all. The amount of items that were damaged added up to a considerable amount of money so we spoke to management to find out what they were going to do about this issue. Management spoke to the launderette workers who claimed they had 'never seen any of these clothes before,' and much to our disgust he then believed the workers over his own paying guests and came up with a few ridiculous suggestions how the damage may have occurred. This was extremely infuriating as paying customers and really put a downer on the holiday; we had to go on and claim through insurance when we were back home, meaning many of us had no clothes for the second half of the holiday.
Overall the hotel is a lovely place to stay in a very good location and I would recommend it if you are going to Rhodes, however I can't help but feel it is slightly overpriced. I will not be returning... plenty of other places to see and stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to here that overall you had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and faciltities we offer our guests in resort. The rooms are not advertised as having double beds and as you can see in all photos online and in brochures this clearly shows this.
The laundry matter is still being investigated and has been the only time this has ever happened here in the hotel.
We cannot comment however about how much your paid for your holiday as a refelction of the hotel as this is down to Thomsons pricing structures not the hotel.

We do hope that you will at some point return to Pefkos and choose the Island Blue once again for your stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Island Blue as we were getting married in Lindos and wanted to stay in Pefkos-our favourite place :) Was more expensive than we usually spend but it was a special occasion and we wanted the best. We were not disappointed, the room was lovely and spacious, clean and well equipped. Perfect for safe storage of my wedding dress and other attire...

The breakfast was lovely too. We ate in Elia one evening it was quite nice but not our favourite.

There were lots of pools to choose from, and we had family and friends staying at Lindia Thalassa and Pefki Islands too, all very impressed with their apartments.

We were very pleased with the added extras too, it was my husbands birthday while we were away and we were offered a discount at the restaurant. On the wedding night the bed was decorated with rose petals and complimentary fruit, wine etc left for us. We were a little taken aback by the little box left on our bed containing items including a condom and a sexy body crayon.. almost a bit seedy but it did make us laugh. :) Also breakfast in bed brought to us the morning after the wedding which was lovely.

Louise is fabulous and was very helpful during our stay.

We were unwell for a few days of our holiday but the TV and comfortable room made it more bearable when we couldn't go out.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and we cant wait to go back for many anniversaries.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in pefkos especially as you were here to celebrate your wedding - congratulations!

Thank you for all your comments which are very muhc appreciated and will be passed onto the staff.

We look forward to welcmong you back in the near future for another great stay and wish you all the best for your married life together.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
13.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
159 reviews
25.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: £66 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing