We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Blue Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Summer Memories Apartments(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eagle's Nest Hotel(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$698
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elvita(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pefkos Beach Hotel(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coralli Apartments(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pefkos Village Resort(Pefkos)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveller rating
634
138
20
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
138
20
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf buggygreek nightpool barblue poollovely hotelwedding partiesbed and breakfast basisbuffet styleelia barpefki islandsstayed on a b b basisnext yearair conwalk in showeriron and ironing boardcooked breakfastadult only pool
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 797 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Island Blue with my Wife (2nd Aug-9th). Hotel is very nice, spotlessly clean and very well maintained, it is one of three hotels at the complex along with Pefki Island and Lindia Thalassa and is the best and most expensive of the three. Our room was large and modern, clean and well kept daily by the friendly maid, we had a good sized balcony overlooking the pool and the small Church with views out to the sea and mountains in the distance. Breakfast is at the Elia restaurant and breakfast here is very good, plenty of choice and food is to a good standard. All staff at the complex are friendly, warm and welcoming, there is a choice of four pools at the complex ( all very nice and immaculately maintained), plus the beach which is five minutes away on foot. Pefkos itself is small and quiet, perfect for families and Couples alike. Overall we were very happy with the holiday and accommodation having already booked up to return next August this time at Lindia Thalassa.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Villamatt1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to our sister hotel Lindia Thalassa next year and any requests please email u at info@lindiathalassa.gr

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Island Blue from 24th May to 7th June this year having previously stayed at Pefki Island in 2003 and 2007. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious and all have pool views. We enjoyed the breakfasts and there was plenty of choice with excellent service. We only ate at the restaurant twice and both times had issues with the service e.g. having to go to the bar to get the bill as no waiters available and ordering drinks which were never received. Whilst we were there my husband felt nauseous for several days although this thankfully didn't get any worse. On our last day we ate at Elia about 6 hours before our flight home. Having been well throughout the holiday I then started with severe vomiting and diahorrea which started at check in at the airport and unfortunately lasted throughout the flight home making for a nightmare journey home. I recovered after about two days once home but my son also became ill once we arrived home. We both had ate chicken dishes at the Elia restaurant although obviously we can't be sure of the cause of the illness. Having read the recent reviews I hope the source of the stomach bug is detected and the issue resolved. All in all we enjoyed our holiday and still love Pefkos. I hope the management will continue to prioritise the needs of couples and families as well as catering for the wedding parties at this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the tie to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy that you had a great holiday in Pefkos once again.

Thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests in resort, The issues you raised with regards service etc will be brought to the appropriate managers attention.

The sickness you experienced on your return to the UK is very unlikely to be from what you ate at the Elia and more of the sickness virus that was affecting the whole island (not just Island blue)

We hope this has not deterred you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We visited Island Blue as a couple from 19th July to 26th July, having previously stayed in 2012 and loved it, so made a return visit. Although still an excellent hotel we did feel standards were not quite as good. Grounds and pool areas are still spotless and rooms still excellent (one of the best we have ever had in Greece) but cleaning was not quite as good as first time around although it has to be said we did not see the cleaner we had in 2012 who was amazing. Buffet breakfast choice although still very good seemed to have less choice than our previous visit.

It is more expensive to stay at Island Blue than the sister apartments Pefki Island (on same site) and worth the additional you are paying for bigger modern rooms, free air con, and much better/bigger pool area, however guests staying at sister sites have use of Island Blue pool, which at times does mean can be difficult to obtain a sun bed. We may have been unlucky as there was a very large wedding party staying at Pefki (35+) who used Island blue pool daily so probably made situation worse. I have to say this was an issue on our previous visit and although when Hotel Manger responded to my last review advising hotel were working on this issue, clearly it is still to be resolved.

As other guests comments there was a particularly nasty sick bug going around the hotel and we did feel it would have been prudent for hotel to advise guests (we booked direct with hotel) as we only found out from hearing numerous people discussing around the pool and by then it was too late, my partner went down with it on our final day making for a very unpleasant nervous flight/onward journey home!!

Pefkos is a great little resort with a good beach and has some nice restaurants. There seems to be some good signs of moving away from the eat all you can for a tenner buffet culture with some nice upmarket places opening since our last visit. Symban was really amazing, both for cocktails in amazing surroundings, freshly cooked pizza and thai, a lovely waiter David, working extremely hard to get the place a good name, food arrival was a little slow but give them a chance worth the wait.

All in all another lovely stay but do feel the pool issue really needs addressing. Sick bug was one of those unfortunate incidents that I guess can happen anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay once again here in Pefkos for your holiday.

Thank you for all your comments and feedback which is very much appreciated and does help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort.

It is dissappointing to hear that you thought that the cleanliness levels were not as high as your previous visit which is very unusual to hear as we have very high cleanliness scores and very hardworking maids but this will be addressed with the head housekeeper and actioned.

With the wedding parties it is usually the case that there is a mixture of guests staying between all 3 hotels and so of course naturally they do want to meet up and be together and the island blue pool is the bigger of the 5. We have found that since highlighting to all guests that island blue guests do get priority over the sunbeds and pool use that this has calmed down a lot and reduced the numbers but we are still trying to find an overall solution to this problem.

Thank you again and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We upgraded from the Pefki Island Blue and was over the moon with the rooms. We were fortunate to have 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms plus great views out to sea from the third floor. Agree that the wedding parties can get a bit tedious as there's the usual stag and hen party's the night before and it all gets a bit noisy but it's always quiet around the pool and no Sun bed saving so you can get a bed even at mid day. All the staff are outstanding and do their best to help when ever they can. We got a jeep for 100 Euro for 2 days down town so don't pay anymore. Katrina on front desk needs a special mention as she is wonderful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SpikeOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you once again had a great holiday with us here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated and do of course help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a lovely hotel, this is our second visit here, first time was two years ago. Hotel very clean, food good and in a fantastic position but beware of tummy bugs (which may be due to inadequate cleaning of the swimming pool). 3 of our party of 4 went down with sickness 4 days into a week long holiday and we are still suffering a bit now.

The hotel were trying to sort it out by upping the chlorine and putting hand sanitising gel in all public places as it seemed so many people were being ill.

This unfortunate episode did spoil the holiday so have been put off returning as on the last occasion we also suffered sickness.

If there is anyone else that has had problems with this hotel please PM me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy that you had a great holiday for your second visit to Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated and sorry to hear you were ill during your time here in Rhodes. I can rest assure you though that the stomach bug, which is affecting the WHOLE island of Rhodes, not just us, is not a result of pool cleanliness. Our pools are tested 3 times a day and are some of the cleanest pools you will find. The sickness bug has continued to spread due to guests poor hygiene and sanitation and not listening to bot the hotels and doctors advise when they have been ill.
All guests were instructed to stay in their rooms for at least 24 hrs, yes people were going back out and using the facilities withing a few hours of feeling better.
The hotel have done their upmost to help guests with the situation and out extra measures in place with extra hand sanitizers, deep cleaning, santizing of air con units daily and are working with Thomson to find the source of the problem which is being brought in from the UK.

We hope that all your party are now feeling better and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews