We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lia Matina NOT Lia OR Matina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lia Matina Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pefkos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lia Matina Studios
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lia Matina NOT Lia OR Matina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just returned from a two week visit to Lia Matina In Pefkos. I agree with the previous reviewer that this page needs sorting out to get rid of confusion.The Lia Matia Studios are down a little lane down the side of Smile Garden.They are set in gardens that are maintained by Tsambika and Mary.The studios are very clean although a little worn. Very quiet but with easy access to tavernas and beach.They were cleaned six days a week and Tsambika always has a smile on his face. My wife and I have travelled extensively throughout Greece, and these studios are perfect for the job.I would recommend to anyone, give them a try and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Pick a first floor room for a distant sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Please Trip Adviser ensure you place these lovely studios under a different heading from the much larger Matina Apartments/studios in Beach Road. thanks you.

Our third visit to these wonderful relaxing and welcoming Olympic Studios hosted by dear Tsambika and Mary who maintain the accommodation to the highest standards and ensure the studios are really well equipped.

Another lovely 2 weeks spent here and enabled a truly enjoyable holiday to be enjoyed.

Room Tip: Better views on upper floor but larger accommodation on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lia Matina is a very well maintained clean apartment block. Nothing to see from the patio on the bottom floor but there a is distant seaview from the top floor!

Very quiet even though the bars are only across the way. There is no access to the beach road from the apartments so you don't have anyone passing your patio to get to the beach which make them very private.

They are very big compared to a lot of Greek places and the beds are good and comfy. Brilliant shower but it wets the floor but it dries in no time. The airconditioning is excellent, 55 euros for a week, very quiet unit. Good mozzie screens on every window and patio doors.

Ther are a lot of cats and kittens about which I didn't lke initially as I am not a cat lover but they didn't bother you unless you tried to feed them.

The owner is very pleasant and is there most of the time. He is always cleaning around and is very helpful.

We didn't use the Thalia pool but used The Angel which was just across the road from the turning down to Lia Matina. Okay bar snacks and food and a very clean pool and bar area. The staff are very friendly and pleasant.

We really enjoyed our weeks stay here and came back on the 14th of September to 14 degrees and wind and rain!

Room Tip: Apparently the bottom 5 rooms are bigger than the top 5 but I didn't see the inside of the top 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a great week in Pefkos ! Temperatures that were hovering around 45 degrees ! OK ,the Lia Matina Studios are very accurately described in the reviews on the whole .A quiet location , if you want the hustle and bustle of boom boom music you can walk some 10 minutes to find it. But ,a haven when you want to sleep.
Air con expensive at 55 euros for a week , I paid 35 euros in Parga last year !10 Euros for the safe , and an extra charge I had`nt come across before !! Our flight was an early AM flight , so we didn't get the whole week, we arrived on Sunday 4 am , had to vacate by Saturday 12 noon . Leaving 12 Hours of no courtesy room .... I was informed that I had to pay 25 Euros more for the use of the room until the Olympiic transfer coach came . Oh well !
Or , leave the bags at the owners house . Ants were a problem , the tiny yellow ones that were with us the whole week ( ground floor) I got used to them , an they did bite .
The TV doesn't work on the ground floor apartments ! Be prepared to buy loo rolls !!!
The owner Tsam , was very pleasant , and kept the rooms clean. Generally the holiday was a good one , I have travelled to many islands , Pefkos is a gem !!!!
Many fantastic food choices /Restaurants, we even ended up at a wedding reception when the bride welcomed us to join them at a local taverna !!
I think that when you pay a chunk of money for the package holiday , sometime the extras costings should be looked at by the owners. I hope these comments help !!

Brian ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian666_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The picture on trip advisor is very misleading as there is no pool at Lia matina - you do have use of Thalia Hotels pool but to be honest there are several pool bars in Pefkos which were much nicer!
This was the only downside. The rooms were extremely clean and fresh. The owners were very accommodating and after a day and night of been stuck in the room with a tummy bug I ventured out for a walk. On our return they had come in and cleaned and made our beds for us! A very pleasant surprise :-)
It's well located to the town and up at the top of the road, Angel bar was ideally located for our pool use throughout the day - again excellant service!!!
Will defo be returning to Pefkos and would not hesitate to book at Lia Matina apartments again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crookes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

How disappointed I was when I arrived at the 'Lia Matina Studios'. Type in 'Lia Matina Studios' into Trip Adviser, and a selection of images will appear showing a lovely group of apartments around a beautiful pool- these are not the Lia Matina Studios. In reality, the 'Lia Matina Studios' are a small block of mediocre flats down a series of alleyways, surrounded by budget hotels and wasteland. There's no pool, so air conditioning is a must- expect to pay £100 on top of your holiday price, and for that you get an ancient, noisy and barely sufficient unit which will still leave you sweating. Remember to get a receipt for this payment, as the owner is likely to accidentally forget that you've paid it, and will get confrontational when you approach him about it. Needless to say, I couldn't wait to come home from what was on this occasion, a very disappointing Holiday in Pefkos, at the Lia Matina Studios!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bb506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lia Studios are based at the easterly end of Pefkos, near Apostolis and Anixis Taverna. Not to be confused with Lia Matina near Rock Garden.
Lia is up a short incline and at the top it splits off into two units of 10 apartments. We were staying in the lower group of ten, we are told these are the renovated ones, the others also may be but we can not confirm this.
Upon entry to the immediate left is the bathroom, small and compact you have a toilet, well lit sink and mirror, a hairdryer and a shower cubicle. This is a proper shower in a proper cubicle, a rare thing in Greece.
Upon entry into the apartment on the immediate right is the kitchenette, this consists of a 2 ring hob, sink, kettle, cupboard space below the sink and fridge/freezer. Above is 2 other cupboards with glasses, cups, plates and cutlery. All you would need for a week or two. It is however a kitchenette so if you think you are going to be able to rustle up a three course meal, think again, unless your meal doesn’t extend beyond beans.
Further along on the right is a double wardrobe, ours was severely lacking coathangers, but there was 3 or 4 shelves inside the wardrobe, as was a heavy blanket and 2 extra pillows. Next to the wardrobe was a TV, turned on once, all, as expected Greek stations. Below this was a vanity unit and 2 chairs, also with a well lit mirror. Also a safe is there.
Opposite the vanity unit was 2 single beds each with a night stand.
Finally out to the balcony, in addition to the standard sliding door was a fly screen door, and a table and 2 plastic chairs.

The room itself was functional and cleaned every day bar two, so 5 out of the 7. Air conditioner was available but really difficult to get, no apparent manager, never saw the rep (Olympic) once so ended up hiring a fan from Timmis shop. We went in July so needed something to cool the air.

The view from the room was fantastic, but its worth noting, the room we had during 12-7.30 with the sun shining, it hits you full in the face so you wouldn’t be able to take the view in much anyway. Also room we had, the catch on the sliding doors was broken so not good at all. One other thing, you cant sit out on the balcony late evening as the sprinklers come on and soak it.

Now those criticisms aside, its a fairly pleasant accommodation, its in a good location, fantastic views but one thing that we had a problem with, its riddled with cockroaches. Lots of them, to the point my wife started naming them, I name them too “flaming cockroaches”.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pedro_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
19.7 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.8 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#26 of 74 in Faliraki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Evita
SunConnect Evita
#21 of 74 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
19.6 mi away
Palm Bay Hotel Studios
Palm Bay Hotel Studios
#12 of 34 in Pefkos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathara Bay Apartments
Kathara Bay Apartments
#34 of 74 in Faliraki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lia Matina Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lia Matina Studios

Property: Lia Matina Studios
Address: Main Road, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Pefkos
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lia Matina Studios Hotel Pefkos
Lia Matina Studios Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing