We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay August 2012”
Review of Karpathios Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karpathios Studios
Ranked #19 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pefkos
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Good little place perched just above the main town.

Location - excellent - nice to have a few mins walk to the strip and supermarkets and bars. The hill is as described, literally 50 meters at a 45 degree angle, that's all to the upper main road. You can then cut through to the strip. 10 mins to beach. Nice to have great views over the bay.

Pool/Restaurant - Excellent - clean, tidy, pizza 4 euros, big beer 2 euros, baguettes and snacks cheap. Ravi is excellent and friendly. FREE WIFI around pool.

Rooms - Either half underground - ok but not great, or big with stunning balconies which we were lucky to get (had to ask to move).

Overall a great friendly little place with enough cheap food and drink options to keep you happy in the day. A nice walk into town for evening drinks and food. Aircon was maybe 50 euro locally - worthwhile in Summer.

Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: You want the rooms with a balcony, not the bat caves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HA_DAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here last summer and booked the hotel on the Internet for ten nights . On arrival we were told that the hotel was over booked and that we would have to spend three nights in another hotel (Coralli). After some negotiation the owner paid for the taxi to the hotel but did not compensate for the return fare!
On our return to the hotel we were allocated a studio. The room was spacious and had a superb balcony with stunning views. On two occasions i had to request that the room is cleaned and bins emptied. The pool area was clean and there was plenty of space to sit. On several occasions family and friends of the owner were visiting. The 5 / 6 boys' took over' the pool, splashing and constantly jumping in and playing aggresively. Speaking to other guests these boys were regulars at the hotel.
The walk up the hill is worth the views.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indianqueen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Myself and my wife, stayed here in September and we had no grumbles at all considering the price we paid for a weeks stay. The location is great, the views stunning and Karpathios houses one of the most relaxing pool/bar area's I've been to. The unexpected use of free Wi-Fi around the pool/bar area was also a welcome bonus.

The sloped driveway aka 'cardiac hill', is just that a steep driveway - I agree that for elderly guests or people with walking difficulties this may prove challenging but for us it was a welcome way to burn off the hummus and Mythos.

Ravi who is the receptionist/bar manager/chef is an absolute legend with his own inimitable brand of hospitality. He deserves a medal for the amount of hours he works.

The apartments themselves have everything you need for an affordable self catering holiday, with ample kitchen utensils and bedding/towels. As I've already said the views from the top apartments above the 'bedrock' style studios are breathtaking and I can't wait to return in May 2013 to see them again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitchieJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

stayed at these apt in sept 2021 only thing going for these is the view and the pool bar attendant was helpful .there are some lovely eating places in pefkos will go back but not to the karathios sorry

Room Tip: dont stay in the bottom rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Sayed at the Karpathios in June this year and had a great holiday. Clean airy studio, lovely pool, friendly staff. Fabulous views over Pefkos. Only 5 mins downhill to the main street but it was a very steep hill on the way back!! Definitely not for those with walking difficulties, heart or respiritory problems. The menu in the pool bar was limited but ok and had cheapest beer in the village.

Room Tip: We had room 30 - brilliant view but 36 steep steps up from the top of a very steep drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila40r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in the Karpathios Studios the first week of September. I always believe in giving a fair review so here goes.

Location: On a slight hill in Pefkos. Quite hard work getting up it in 30+ celsius heat. If you have any mobility problems pleae give careful consideration to whether this accomodation will be suitable for you. Stunning views over Pefkos and surrounding areas. Myself and my partner found Pefkos to be a bit on the quiet side. Virtually all Restaurants and Bars deserted during the day and fairly empty at night 9Is this typical of Pefkos?). We found it quite difficult to entertain ourselves here and so spent 3 nights in nearby Lindos and 1 night in Rhodes town.

Accomodation: We were placed in one of the older ground floor studio's. They have invariably been referred to as the 'Caves' or the 'Dungeons' in previous reviews. Standard of accomodation was basic, 2 small hobs for cooking, several plates and bowls and some knives,forks and spoons (A kettle did appear on day three though). Wet room for showering. Wet room had substanial mould in them and as mententioned previously the ground floor accomodation does suffer from ant infestations. Get used to them crawling over you at night. Bed was basically two mattresses on a wooden box, Wooden box had been sealed with what looked like toilet paper and not silicon.. hence ease of access for ants. Rooms generally clean otherwise.

Air-conditioning is available in the rooms for a extra 50 Euro. However, please note that in the ground floor rooms the air con unit is too small to bring the temperature down to a decent level for at least 10-12 hours. Unfortuately, and this is my major gripe, the hotel staff did not let you have a spare key to keep your air con on during the time you were out of the room (Depite paying 50Euro). As a result whenever we came back to the room after a day or night out it took 10-12 hours to cool it down again. As a result very disturbed hot and sticky sleeps!! I did discuss this with the Thomas Cook Rep who was basically as useful as a plank of wood and stated 'its down to the owner, We can't do anything'. She promised to give me a complaint form but it never arrived..............

Anyway, staff were generally friendly but when complaining about air-con situation was given the old 'nothing to do with me i'm just a worker' line.

Nice clean pool and basic bar that serves basic food and drinks.

Would i recommend this hotel? I'm afraid not. There are much better options available in Pefkos for the price.

Room Tip: Don't stay in one of the Dungeon rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesDCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

i have just returned from a two week holiday at karpathios with my sister and 3 year old niece. met some lovely people during our stay and Pefkos turned out to be a good place to stay as it was our first time traveling without parents, everything was easy to find, and the variety of restaurants which were all reasonable priced. Karpathios was very basic, you get what you pay for. rooms were cleaned everyday apart from Sundays, however we had a broken glass which took a few days to be cleared up. we arrived at 8.00am and had to wait around to find out were to go as no one could be found, which was not ideal with a very sleepy toddler. bar served very basic snacks. a plus side to the room was the view was amazing. i would defiantly stay in pefkos again but would try to avoid staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
21.4 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#9 of 34 in Pefkos
477 reviews
26.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel Apartments
Panorama Hotel Apartments
#111 of 126 in Rhodes Town
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thalia Hotel
Thalia Hotel
#16 of 34 in Pefkos
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ziakis
Hotel Ziakis
#2 of 27 in Pefkos
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pefkos View Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karpathios Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karpathios Studios

Address: Pefkos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pefkos
Price Range: £15 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Karpathios Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Karpathios Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karpathios Studios Hotel Pefkos
Karpathios Studios Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing