We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views!”
Review of Karpathios Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karpathios Studios
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Pefkos
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely views!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent a week here in June 2013. Fantastic weather.We were in an upper white room with views over the bay from the balcony, and the mountain where goats climbed about to the back of the apartment. It was good to be pre-warned of the steepness of the drive, but the fantastic views and the lovely setting are well worth it. The pool and poolside bar are great, a very relaxing atmosphere there and plenty of sunbeds. Bar food and drinks were very reasonable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good standard of cleaning, fresh towels and bed linen changed regularly. Pefkos itself has everything you need for a holiday. Plenty of places to eat - we particularly liked Nikolas Taverna, Spitaki taverna and Kavos Mare taverna. Plenty of small shops that sell everything from fresh fruit to sun cream. Nearby beaches were all lovely. There's a glass bottom boat to Lindos and a small light aircraft for coastal flights (we didn't try this). Car hire also well priced and plenty of choice.We'd be happy to go back there another year. (There were a few mozzies, but nothing as bad as we have experienced in Crete).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    65
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
32
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed 2 weeks in June and I couldn't have asked for anything more for what we paid. 2 weeks via Thomas Cook cost £177! I was amazed when I saw the room, the view and the pool area. We have been to Greece many times and have paid double for nowhere near as nice. As it's away form the main road in Pefkos - it's very quiet an relaxing. The pool area is lovely and big and the views from the top 2 floors are fantastic (ask to be put in a room on the 2nd / 3rd floor - the white blocks). There are comments re ants on many reviews and yes, they are there but it was nothing dramatic for us - we had a few on the balcony and saw 1 only - just the one time in the bedroom. If you are looking for a basic clean room in a good location (and don't mind a bit of a steep hill....) then you really can't go wrong with The Karpathios Studios!

NB - The Philosiphia is by far the best restaurant in Pefkos and PALS the best bar in Lindos :-)

Room Tip: ask to be put in a room on the 2nd / 3rd floor - the white blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuckle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

just got back from Karpathios studios,firstly the climb to the apts from the road is steep but if you have ever stayed at the Ziakis or Dimitris on the top road you will find this ok..There is a supermarket close by but its still down the hill.we got one of the dreaded dungeon rooms under the pool and found it to be very basic but everything worked ok kettle toaster etc,.the shower was very good loads of hot water!Cleaners come every 2nd day but never left any toilet roll which was a bit embarrassing having to ask at the bar for it. Air con was 50 euros and a safe 10 euros which was not bad.its a shared sort of balcony with a bit of a view .the pool area was very peaceful and clean with plenty of beds, beer 2.50 euros for a large one ,its not a pint though,you can get pints down the main drag for 2.50 .check out time was 12.00 noon and there is no room available for a shower its like a wooden box with a makeshift shower in it looks like something out of a POW camp so we ended up getting changed in the WC without a shower which was a bit disappointing.All in all its a basic apt at a cheap price , it never spoiled our holiday although we would not go back to these apts .Been 5 times now to pefkos and its great but there are much better apts although you will have to pay a little more.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne_sabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Currently on holiday at the karpathios. The rooms are basic, have a stunning view. Were in one on the first floor so after climbing cardiac hill we go up another floor but the view so makes up for this. The bathroom is a wet room so be aware of mosquitos. Theyre everywhere here! We came to visit my mother in law so happy to just sleep & shower in the room. The pool is lovely, never busy; mainly couples here. And Ravi in the bar is great for a laugh. I would recommend it if youre not after 5* accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shroom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the studio last August and found the apartment perfectly suited to our needs and very good value. The pool is a good size and quite quiet, no worries about getting a lounger. Most of the guests were couples or older kids, which meant a nice relaxed quiet atmosphere. There is a steep hill to the apartments, but we live in Edinburgh and are used to climbing very steep hills, took a couple of minutes to climb, no big deal. If you have mobility issues it would be very difficult. The bonus of the steep hill is the amazing view of the whole bay. At the bottom of the hill is a set of steps that lead out a supermarket that we did all our shopping at all week. It does some really lovely pastries and authentic bread.

The accommodation was basic but clean. We were in the apartments under the pool and they were perfectly fine. You don't get an individual balcony but the view is still amazing. We sat out on the porch every night for a nightcap. The kitchen is very basic, the small hob is only suitable for cooking breakfast, although I did try to make pasta one night but it's not really practical. The pool bar does food, but really basic, toasties and the like. There is however free wifi and the cheapest pint of Mythos in the whole resort!

The beach is about 5 min on from the supermarket to the nearest sun beds area. We chose to walk on to the right along the coast where it was quiet. The sea is crystal clear and full of shoals of beautiful fish. There is a busier more commercial beach about 15 minutes walking left down the Main Street after the supermarket, but we preferred the quieter parts of the resort.

There is a good choice of restaurants. Our favourite was 'Spitaki' which means little house. Fantastic mezze, great service and a beautiful setting in the garden surrounded by grape vines. There are plenty of places that do authentic Greek food to a high standard and quite reasonable. There's a great pizza place as well!

We took a trip on the glass bottom boat to Lindos, well worth the money, the boat captain was a legend and it was worth the euros just for his banter. You get a tour on the boat, dropped off in Lindos for 4 hours and then an opportunity to go swimming on the way back in a secluded cove all for €8 each. He sells beer on board for €1 as well!

We loved Pefkos and the Karpathios Studios. I had read some of the negative reviews before going and was concerned but can honestly say we had one of the best holidays ever, so much so we've already booked to come back summer 2013!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Good little place perched just above the main town.

Location - excellent - nice to have a few mins walk to the strip and supermarkets and bars. The hill is as described, literally 50 meters at a 45 degree angle, that's all to the upper main road. You can then cut through to the strip. 10 mins to beach. Nice to have great views over the bay.

Pool/Restaurant - Excellent - clean, tidy, pizza 4 euros, big beer 2 euros, baguettes and snacks cheap. Ravi is excellent and friendly. FREE WIFI around pool.

Rooms - Either half underground - ok but not great, or big with stunning balconies which we were lucky to get (had to ask to move).

Overall a great friendly little place with enough cheap food and drink options to keep you happy in the day. A nice walk into town for evening drinks and food. Aircon was maybe 50 euro locally - worthwhile in Summer.

Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: You want the rooms with a balcony, not the bat caves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HA_DAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here last summer and booked the hotel on the Internet for ten nights . On arrival we were told that the hotel was over booked and that we would have to spend three nights in another hotel (Coralli). After some negotiation the owner paid for the taxi to the hotel but did not compensate for the return fare!
On our return to the hotel we were allocated a studio. The room was spacious and had a superb balcony with stunning views. On two occasions i had to request that the room is cleaned and bins emptied. The pool area was clean and there was plenty of space to sit. On several occasions family and friends of the owner were visiting. The 5 / 6 boys' took over' the pool, splashing and constantly jumping in and playing aggresively. Speaking to other guests these boys were regulars at the hotel.
The walk up the hill is worth the views.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indianqueen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.4 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#11 of 34 in Pefkos
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#9 of 34 in Pefkos
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karpathios Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karpathios Studios

Property: Karpathios Studios
Address: Pefkos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Karpathios Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Karpathios Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karpathios Studios Hotel Pefkos
Karpathios Studios Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing