We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional & magical”
Review of The Greek House - CLOSED

The Greek House
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional & magical”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you want traditional food, of high quality, beautifully cooked, served by friedly competent staff in a family run environment, you can't get better than this. Moving to the rooftop location takes nothing from what has always been reliable and excellent food. One of the oldest restaurants in Pefkos, it has consistently maintained standards. Can't wait to come back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Out”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

On the best food in Pefkos. We have been visiting Pefkos for a number of years now and the Greek House has seen some changes, the latest being a move to the roof, beautiful views, lovely breeze and best of all the food continues to be the tastiest and most appetising.
We have tried some other eateries but return to the Greek House time and time again, we have never had a bad meal, yes sometimes the service is a little slow but we are on holiday so we never mind and the quality of the food is well worth waiting for.
A proper family run business with food prepared by someone who has a passion for cooking.
So come on seek them out at the bottom of the beach road above the supermarket next to the Oasis bar.
You can expect a treat !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Appalling service”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and I have dined in the greek house many times .but what will be our last ever time we were kept waiting for one hour and ten minutes just for the one course we ordered .when it did come they got my wife's order wrong we also we're made to wait twenty minutes for them to take our drinks order .when we told them about it they just tried to make a joke about it at our expense .not acceptable when there's an abundance of equally nice tavernas nearby I for one will not be using this taverna nor recommending it to others again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aoapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Please move back downstairs!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Having visited two years ago having lovely food and atmosphere downstairs decided to return on a repeat Pefkos holiday.
As stated by others it's now upstairs on a large soulless and very empty roof terrace! I wonder if they have lost a lot of walking trade by moving upstairs as you now really have to hunt it out. Also beware that he terrace is full of mosquito's so slap that repellant on.
The food was cold by the timeout arrived to the terrace and slightly disappointing from previously - lamb kleftico lacking in seasoning but lamb special very nice. Reasonable house wine and waitor lovely.
If I owned this I'd move part of it downstairs sharpish and build back the atmosphere of what was once a lovely family run Greek restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pommie_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Now a Rooftop Resteraunt”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Since our last visit the resteraunt has moved upstairs - the lower floor a well stocked supermarket with the added bonus of a deli section offering freshly made take away sandwiches and baguettes, plus superb pastries. The menu here has been updated from last year but the quality of our meal was excellent. Unfortunately they have yet to cover the area and it was a little cool on our visit, but in the main season July, August, September would offer an ideal evening venue. Service as ever, with a smile and very, very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greek House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing