We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all. Pleasantly surprised.”
Review of Thalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thalia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Suffolk, U.K
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad at all. Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Ok, we have just returned from a weeks stay at the Thalia, I must admit after reading some reviews, I did wonder what we were going to!!.

Stop worrying, yes, it could do with a bit of TLC and if I got Into Nit picking mode, I would be here forever but It's a 2* Hotel and you get what you pay for. If you want 5* pay the price for it and stop moaning!!!

Food:- It's fine, typical Greek fare, plenty of choice and the trays DO get refilled quite quickly, If you are a fussy eater and like English food, i.e cooked breakfasts, pie/mash/burgers....then don't stay at the Thalia. One of the girls I was with is a real fussy eater and she really liked the food, yes, the trays were not labeled but you could see what you were getting, if you're not sure......ask!!

The one gripe I have is that the Air con wasn't on in the restaurant, i did ask why and was told the engineer was coming to fix it, he still hadn't been 6 days later!! They bought a large fan in but unless it was aimed at you, it did make eating in there quite uncomfortable, In fact for 2 days we ate and ran!!

I will just mention, as a previous reviewer has, some of the other Nationalities, they pile up their plates, have zero table manners, then leave most of the food, this does irritate the staff and I did notice that the said offenders tended to go In to eat early and this is when the trays didn't seem to get filled up quite so quickly and who can blame them, so leave it half an hour after opening, then go eat.

Rooms:- Basic but clean and functional, who sits in their room all day on holiday?? plenty of power points, balcony/terrace and most Importantly Air Con. You really need this as it is blisteringly hot. It works well, does the job and well worth the 49 euros for the week. The bathrooms are small but again functional, we did have a toilet malfunction (it wouldn't flush) but was sorted within half an hour.

Pool:- Really lovely pool/Bar area, plenty of sunbeds and shade if you want it. Now there have been complaints about the bar area and the childrens pool. As previously stated in another review, there is a tree with Black Berries that overhangs the patio area in the bar, these cause the patio to stain, it is NOT dirty. The childrens pool was emptied every night, cleaned and refilled, can't see what the problem is really.

Toasted Cheese and Ham Sandwiches and Ice Cream at 4pm, I must admit the ice Cream did make us laugh as it was a bit Luminus, LOL but it tasted ok. Not flash snacks but they did the trick (the cat loves the ham). The drinks list is ok considering the price you pay for the hotel, plenty of Cocktails and spirits to choose from. Bar staff friendly and efficient, although some are happier in their work than others!!

The owners are lovely people, helpful and polite, treat them with respect and you get the same back.

If they refurbed this hotel to a higher standard, they could charge much higher prices due to the location but for me it would lose it's old fashioned Greek style and for me that's the Greece I love, not high rise hotels with no character.

The Thalia is situated In a great spot, 10 mins from the beach and 5 mins from all the Bars/Restaurants, although if it's still as hot as it was it might take a bit longer to walk!!

Most of us are well Travelled all over the world and have stayed in various levels of * Hotels, we wanted a value budget break and this is what we got, again, if you want 5* with cooking stations etc don't stay here BUT if you want a good value, relaxed friendly hotel, then the Thalia is for you. Would we go back? Yes, we probably would. As we paid so little to stay here we were able to eat out a couple times as well.

Pefkos Is lovely and we hope to return next year, although not in July due to the extreme heat, can't handle anymore, lol.

Ignore the moaners and complainers, you get what you pay for and the Thalia is a nice little budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Fish062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    114
    83
    60
    108
See reviews for
168
190
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tychy, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I've just come back from a week in Thalia hotel and I'm satisfied. I don't think I could expect anything more from a 3 star hotel.

As far as food is concerned, it was repetitive but good. Some dishes were diffrent from anything else I had tried before and it was sometimes difficult to say what exactly you're eating but everything was tasty.

As for rooms, they had 3 stars standard. Ours (Np 301) was clean and it had nice view from the balcony. The beds were comfortable. However, we booked a room for 3 and got double room with a small additional bed. Luckily I'm quite short (160 cm) so it was perfect for me though, I gather, too short for somebody taller. The big disadvantage was the air conditioning. Fist of all it is not included in the price but I guess that's 3star standard. Second of all, it doesn't work well. We took it for one day, paid 7 Euro and couldn't feel the difference:( The receptionist was very nice and came to fix it. Unfortunatelly, it didn't change much. That's a shame because in July the temperature fluctuates around 40 degrees centigrade and good air conditioning is a must. However, our friends had a room on the ground floor and their air con was working well.

As for the staff, the bartenders were so bored and cold. They never smiled or said anything more than they had too. I know it was unbelievably hot and horrible to work in such temperatures but they could at least pretend to be nice.
Fortunately, the cook, receptionists and waiters in the restaurant were very nice and helpful.

The location is wonderful. It takes about 10 minutes or less to get to the beach. The views are spectacular. I especially recommend exploring the headland on the left side of the beach. We climbed up there and found a lot of oregano bushes and two donkeys:)
If you're keen on snorkelling, do it near the rocks. I saw a few pretty big fish there.

All in all, it was a nice stay. I think I could come back to Thalia hotel but I would choose a room with a better air con. Moreover, the views are memorable and worth seeing again. Don't be put off by the bar staff, you can ignore that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ewa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Fantastic location, not far from the beach, bars and restaurant just around the corner. BUT! Rooms really need updating, our son who is 16 had to sleep on some sort of camp bed. He found it ok but we paid adult price for him and which I think most adults wouldnt like. There wasnt really any choice of food which was a shame because this is the area the hotel really needs to sort out. You have to get there 1st aswell otherwise they ran out sometimes, because of unnamed nationalities eating it all I mean 2 and 3 plate fulls at 1 time each. On the positive side the family at the hotel were very friendly and couldnt do enough for you. I just think that some of the staff could show a little bit more enthusiasm. After all they are in a beautiful location with gorgeous weather, who wouldnt want to work in a place like that!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pefkos hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just arrived home after a week at the Thalia. The room was ok, nothing special but air con was a must as it was unbeliveably hot for this time of the year. All Inclusive was a bit of a nightmare. When the bar ran out of something it was`nt replaced(ie Tia Maria) so if you wanted a cocktail that included a certain ingredient they did`nt have TUFF! As for the food, if you like chicken or pork this place is heaven, if not err forget it. We had breakfast out more than in also a few nights out for meals and drinks,something I begrudge when I`ve gone all inclusive. Just one other thing,if anybody reads this and they got a smile out of the bar staff I`d love to hear about it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just got back from staying at the Thalia Hotel .Rooms not bad basic but clean only had the 1 cockroach and he flew in when we was sitting on the balcony food not great for me but i knew that before i went as im really fussy the chef did try but theres only some many chips you can eat lol the staff at the hotel was all lovely and friendly the pools were clean and there was plenty of sunbeds to lay on met some lovely people who have been staying there for years the only problem i had was with the polish they took over the pool and was not child friendly which lead to a few rows Pefkos is a lovely place with plenty of bars and resturants and there is a great glass bottom boat trip what makes a lovely afternoon out overall had a great hoiladay oh one more thing the air con is 49 euros a week which you must have or you won't sleep so add this to the cost of your hoiladay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank britanypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We booked this trip back in Feb, as a cheap break. I choose this hotel as been to Pefkos before and the location is great. Just 5 mins walk from all the bars and restaurants and about 10 - 15 mins walk to the beach. Depending on how fast you walk. The hotel is exactly what we expected - basic. But our room was cleaned every day, and we found the staff were friendly if you made an effort to be friendly. As all inclusive the foods and drinks were included. Not keen on the breakfast - they cater mainly for the Europeans rather than English. Food was a bit bland, but we generally found something OK, But as we chose this hotel purely for the location and the All Inclusive option - we ate out a couple of times as we like to go out and about,the fact that the food was not that good didn't bother us. Probably the only thing was a bit annoying was that you could not have a beer until 12pm. Most places we have been start serving beer at 11.00am - after all we are on holiday.... Oh and you have to pay for A/c, but I knew that before I booked.

A couple of nice places to go was Jasmines, Don't be put off by the fact there is a kids area to play, the kids were no trouble and it kept them occupied. It is very nice food and the people there are very nice as well. We had a couple of evening meals there and also had breakfast there, which was really lovely and good value. You get a lot for your money.
Don't bother with the restaurants offering a 3 course meal for 7.5 Euros Sounds good value but not that nice. We did have a meal at one of them and was really disappointed.
The Rock bar was also a good place to go, they gave us free shots with our drinks, 3 each one night.
The Glass bottom boat is nice trip to Lindos, which is beautiful. Worth a trip ... Pop into The Sunburnt Arms for a pint and pork pie lol There are lots of lovely rooftop bars - which is lovely in the afternoon sun.

So please don't be put off by bad reviews, if you want a 3 or 4 star hotel - pay the extra. And this is Greece by the way - they live very basic lives.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front, much quieter and we loved sitting on the balcony people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We booked the Thalia hotel as it was actually cheaper than similar star rated hotels for all inclusive as opposed to B&B or self catering. We went with an open mind after reading some bad reviews and were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is in a good location just a few minutes walk from the centre of Pefkos and there are plenty of shops and bars/cafes nearby.The main beach is around 5-10 mins walk away and is a lovely sandy beach with shallow warm water. 2 beds and a parasol were 8 euros for the day.
Our room was typical of a 2/3 star Greek hotel - 2 single beds, with rather thin mattresses and pillows, and a small shower room. The room was very clean and the bedding and towels were changed daily.We had plenty of hot water, soaps and decent toilet paper provided. There were enough hangers in the spacious wardrobe but no hairdryer or tv. There was also a fridge which was useful for keeping our water cool. We bought 5 litres of water from the supermarket attached to the hotel for 1.80 euros. We paid 49 euros for air conditioning for the week (definitely essential!) and 10 euros for a safety deposit box (in reception area). No beach towels are provided.
If you have a night flight they charge 40 euros to keep your room so it's cheaper to book an extra night before you go.
The pool area was lovely with plenty of shade and lots of flowers and shrubs, although there is a large plant overhanging the bar which drops black fruit and this makes your feet purple if you walk over it and makes that area there look a bit dirty. The pool was clean with a water slide at one end. There was a separate child pool which was emptied and cleaned a few times while we were there but this is in direct sun all day. We didn't find it a problem getting a sunbed although a large group of Polish people had their towels out early!
You can get soft drinks from 10am to midnight and alcohol from 12 to midnight at the pool bar. We always got served quickly.
The food is typical food that a Greek family would eat and we had no problems with any meals we ate there. As previous reviews have said it's not haute cuisine and not fast food, that so many Brits seem to love on holiday, but it's edible and great for the price paid. We always ate breakfast (0730-1000) there as we don't like a large breakfast so the Greek yogurt with honey and bread, cheese, ham,eggs and cake was sufficient, although we would have liked some fresh fruit.
We ate some lunches(1230-1400) there on our pool days and this was usually salads, pasta with sauce, meat, chips, bread and watermelon. It seemed to be better going in earlier as the food later wasn't very hot and not much left.
We ate out most nights as we had planned to and had excellent meals in Enigma, Nostalgia and, our favourite, Dama Dama, We ate in the hotel the 2 nights we had been out on long day trips and the food was pork, potatoes, veg, stew, rice, pasta, salads and 1 type of cake. Dinner was from 7-9pm, and again it was better going in earlier rather than later.
The dining room does have air conditioning units but these were never switched on so it made it uncomfortable to eat especially at night. We didn't stay long when we did eat there!
If you're thinking of booking this hotel just remember what you're paying and don't go expecting 5 star service and food. It is a basic clean hotel in a good location and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maisymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
20.9 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Theologos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
21.3 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
24.4 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.4 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalia Hotel

Property: Thalia Hotel
Address: Pefkos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalia Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing