We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, good value for the money we paid.”
Review of Thalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thalia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, good value for the money we paid.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Sat on our balcony overlooking the resort and sea at this very moment. We felt we should add our slant to some of the negative comments on here, we are both experienced travellers, we were very worried about some of the recent reviews following our booking, we have found the rooms to be of a large size but a tiny bathroom but that's fine for its purpose, its cleaned (mopped) so far everyday. Staff helpful and friendly helping me locate lost handbag phone and holiday money left on transfer coach (silly me) all returned and held for me at reception with updates every time I passed reception. Bar staff always working long hours efficiently with a smile on their faces. Pool area is clean and usable always a sunbed but one or two could do with replacing. Now the restaurant.... My boyfriend is lucky he can eat anything put in front of him but not everyone can! Tonight for eg 3 dishes were all that remained out of the original 5, chocolate cake all gone an hour into meal so only jelly for us! So it's what you've paid for, a cheap cheerful hotel, we are enjoying our stay on this beautiful island in a friendly place! So pay for 5* if you want it and stop your moaning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinktravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    121
    88
    65
    117
See reviews for
188
207
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We arrived with low expectations due to previous reviews. On arrival we were greeted by the night receptionist who was very friendly throughout the holiday. Younger people seem to be allocated to the rooms by the pool bar, the receptionist was very surprised when we weren't, but we were very pleased! The rest of the hotel staff were all young lads who acted a little suspiciously at times, they were more interested in chatting up other young girls there, that took any notice of them, than providing good service.

We went all inclusive for the first time but would never do it again. The food was dire, I imagine prison food tastes better. One of the trolleys of food was filled with strange looking salad and the other was filled with very strange meats & fish. The dining room was small and cramped often no where to sit and full of rude Europeans. We love Greek food so if your expecting traditional Greek food you'll be disappointed. The only positive thing I can say was the bread was always fresh & tasty and the apricot jam at breakfast was nice too. We booked this to save money and ended up eating out every day. The coralli on the main road heading towards lardos was gorgeous our favourite place in pefkos, worth a walk!! All inclusive drinks were all right except you had to purchase your own bottled water and were mostly given in plastic cups, we were treated to a glass on one occasion!

The room was fine normal Greek accomodation. We paid for air con which was well worth it. The bathroom flooded a couple if times and we were looked at like we'd been putting things down it. The cleaners solution was to put chlorine down it? Only when it flooded into next door was it properly looked at which seemed to make it worse. The cleaning standards were terrible, stained bedding & towels, toilet and floors never cleaned.

Pefkos is beautiful though and made up for the poor hotel we've been twice now just book a hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havingarightTIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pefkos hotels

solihull
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

OK Like you I had read the previous reviews and thought OK it cannot be that bad , its probably just a little bit outdated ........ HOWEVER ......

For the family in bunker room 2 ( you will know who I mean) and the nice couple who had visited Rhodes many times and thought this was their worst hotel they had stayed in - Here is my review :-

First impressions - Badly needs repainting, broken bits of granite on the stairs going up to our room and tomato/baked bean stains on several stairs that were still there fourteen days later !
Décor very old fashioned and needs a good clean !

Into the room - First Impressions not a bad size, that was the only good point ! curtain was half hanging off the rail so I stood on a chair and re hung it myself- now how long would that of taken - bathroom - very small dirty shower curtain and when you had a shower the water came out that slow and painful it was an effort to get the shampoo out of your hair ! Fridge was dirty and just about cold - aircon was that noisy I thought it was raining during the night. For a family of four we had our towels changed once on the 12th day of the holiday, I asked twice for clean towels and was told that they had none - now how can a hotel in August have no towels.

Dining Room - more like a sauna - terrible food with two lads trying to be waiters who were more interested in their phones and chatting up women than anything else, Food was constantly running out and in the end we just about managed breakfast (which was awful) warm milk for cereals, greasy bits of pretend bacon and not a lot else and we ate out for lunch and dinner (much nicer experience) the dining room was also very very hot and was really uncomfortable to eat in there - the aircon was never on (probably never worked), food very bland.

Pool area - a lot of broken sunbeds just left in certain areas , pool tiles were not very clean and childrens pool was very dirty with a broken edge to it that had to be covered up with a table to stop someone hurting their feet.

The grounds of the hotel were quite pretty but it was so run down and dirty, the so called gardens were just a brown land mess !

Our room was cleaned that badly, that each night I would go on the hunt for a broom and clean it myself and the dirt that was stuck in the broom was disgusting, on one occasion I cleaned the room with a broom and baby wipes and when we came back on the afternoon the so called cleaner had been in in her trainers and left black dirty foot prints everywhere that I had to re clean it - this hotel really needs to employ decent cleaners with proper uniforms, invest in some brooms and mops and give the place a damn good clean, we always used other hotel pools as they were so much nicer, and pefkos really is lovely but this hotel needs to sort its self out !

Day manager and night manager were really nice but still never gave me any towels !

There are better hotels and apartments there in just as good positions - so book wisely ! If the hotel was to invest some of its money into revamping and redocoration and changed the staff and food it would be a good little hotel but in its present state - avoid it !

Room Tip: There are no good rooms all outdated and dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked late so didn't have much choice of either destination or hotel. First impressions were admittedly poor, and sure enough some of the criticism, particularly of the food, is/was deserved. However, when we complained on our second day the manager dealt with this very quickly and we had no problems with the food served for the remainder of our week. The food is not inspiring and there isn't a great choice, but we ate well and always found something. Things aren't helped by the typically rude guests from other European countries, particularly those from the Eastern European countries, who tend to pile their plates high, not leaving much for those coming in a bit later. My advice, get to the dining room earlier rather than later.

Our room at the rear of the hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable and bed linen and towels were changed regularly. The pool and bar area were okay, plenty of sunbeds were available, and the young lad who serves drinks during the day did a fine job. I wouldn't particularly describe this as a child friendly hotel. While alcohol and soft fizzy drinks are available for AI guests all day, there are no juices for children if they don't like or can't have fizzy drinks and ice cream is available only between 4.30-5.30 along with a laughable excuse for a snack - a piece of cheese and ham between unbuttered stale bread.

However, overall we did enjoy our stay once the food was sorted out. It's not as bad as some reviews are painting it, and, with a bit of thought and a lick of paint, this could be a great little Greek hotel instead of being merely adequate as it currently is. The best thing about the hotel really is it's proximity to Lindos which is the next town along and is easy to get to. Pefkos itself is not great, and is dominated by English bars and restaurants. If that's your thing, great, but don't expect to find much in the way of authentic Greek culture or cuisine in Pefkos itself. You'll have to look a bit further for that, but then you're paying big money.

Now, if they could just do something about the dour Germans and Eastern Europeans...

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel with a sea view are definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonGlens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Do not book this hotel, however good you think the deal is. We returned to Pefkos following a fabulous stay last year at the Pefkos Beach Hotel with Thomson. Money was a bit tighter this year so I searched for deals independently and ended up booking with Sunmaster, who are rubbish. Everything you read about the poor cleanliness, service, rooms, pool, food etc on previous reviews is true, there are no redeeming features of this hotel and it spoiled our holiday. Air con at 49 Euros per week is an absolute rip off, it hardly cooled the room and sounded like a plane taking off! Luckily we spent our time at other hotel pools, beach etc and ate out but this then made the holiday more expensive than last year when I went with Thomson. Don't go there, it's not 'basic Greek' as a couple of reviews have stated, that's an insult to the vast majority of Greek accomodation available elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are no tips that will help you, all rooms awful, but if you have already booked the back is qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday with my girlfriend in pefkos, this was our second visit as we enjoyed it very much last time. However on arriving at the Thalia hotel it was obvious we had made a huge mistake. So where do i begin?
The room had not been cleaned from the last occupants, i wont go as far to say clean towels and bed linen as it was just ironed and folded. The pillow cases were covered in makeup and the spare pillows in the wardrobe clearly hadn't seen a wash in... well forever! their was bare wires near plug sockets and the fridge was off with no obvious way of turning it on (it took two days to explain the the staff that it needed sorting) We were not expecting much as it was advertised as two star but a clean room is surely a given. At this point we decided we would give the hotel food a miss and given the smells coming from the kitchen we made the right choice.
Maybe the biggest problem by far was when i discovered i was sharing my shower with a cockroach! after killing it, it took the staff 3 days to finally clean it up! Finally the room was only cleaned once in the whole 7 days and i say cleaned, more dirty ironed sheets and soak the floor with a mop then sod off and wait for us too come back and break our neck on the wet floor. To sum up the place is a nightmare. Please no one make the same mistake we did, it will ruin a holiday which is a shame as pefkos is a great place.

Oh and dont try to complain to the staff as English suddenly becomes a hardship for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmrider86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huyton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were under the impression that the hotel was going to be a family friendly hotel but I feel the health and safety standards are far from family friendly. On arrival there was another guest complaining to the reception about the condition of their room in which the receptionist replied we have no family rooms available. When we checked in and were allocated our family room we were far from impressed the room looked very run down and didn’t look very clean mainly the bathroom there was a hole in the sink which allowed water to poor out when filled also the sink was unstable, when the shower was used the tiled bathroom floor would flood creating a slip hazard for our children. also the foul smell of drains
When we went down to the pool area the children’s pool was not filled meaning we had to take our children into the big pool. When we spoke to the staff they said they wasn’t sure when the child’s pool would be filled. Upon entry to the big pool I noticed the ladder was very unsafe and was not secured to the floor properly which I highlighted to the staff who assured me it would be fixed but never did meaning the only entry and exit point from the pool was from the deep end.
When the children’s pool was filled a week after we arrived it had not been cleaned so the water was dirty also at the bottom of the entry steps to the children’s pool there was a drain with a plastic grill over it with holes in large enough for a child’s foot to get caught in.
The toilets near the pool area where like an ice rink always wet and very unsafe both of my children slipped here lucky enough I was holding their hands so no injuries. The toilet was not secure and neither was the sink also the door would jam closed and would not be able to open from the inside myself and my 2year old got stuck in here one day until somebody walked past and heard us shouting.
The stairs leading down to the children’s play area where in bad disrepair they were broken in several places and I would say very dangerous also the floor of the children’s play area was raised with rubber mats these mats were not glued down and kept falling away at the sides exposing the marble edging underneath
We decided to go all inclusive so we knew the drinks and food would be included in the price of our holiday. The food consisted of spaghetti with no sauce most nights some sort of meat dish which was not filled very often a potato dish and bread to which butter was only provided sometimes there was no children’s choice. In the dining hall often there were no glasses to get a drink. We gave the food a go a few nights but it was quite poor and repetitive so we decided if we were to enjoy our holiday we would need to eat out so we spent a lot more than anticipated.

my advice is not to book here there are plenty of apartments in Pefkos don't book the Thalia

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.2 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
341 reviews
20.9 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalia Hotel

Property: Thalia Hotel
Address: Pefkos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalia Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing