We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again , rooms from hell !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Bay Hotel Studios
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My girlfriend & I have just returned from a week in Palm Bay studios and it was disgraceful to say the least.
On arrival we were given keys to room 112 , eventually we were shown where it was to be met with the most appalling sight ever !
The room was not ready and an utter disgrace :-
* The mattress protector from the previous occupants was still on and covered in stains and body hair
* Pillowcases where stained
* Shower tray was totally filthy and never washed or scrubbed for weeks
* Toilet was covered in urine stains
* Sink was disgusting and all rusted up with dirty mugs left there and ants inside running up the wall

After asking if there was another room available and told no. After approaching the manager I was shown the diary and it showed no rooms free until Saturday and if we wanted to move then it would incur a charge of 50 Euro.
We decided to take photographs the young lad who was working behind the bar saw us doing so , he then said he could show us another room that suddenly was vacant !
We accepted that room but that was not without faults , the bed slats were all loose and missing and the mattresses were very thin and the beds uncomfortable.
The rooms were like greenhouses and so hot it was unbearable to sleep at night , the air conditioning was charged at 49 Euro a week and was useless to say the least.
Pefkos its self is a beautiful place and worth a second visit but never again too the Palm Bay apartments.

Room Tip: Don't book !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank karl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Went to the Palm Bay with my husband and teenage son.

We were given two studios with room enough for three people in each studio.

We had a fridge with a compartment for ice and a couple of rings for cooking - which took forever to cook with.

The balconies were large with a table and three chairs on each.

The food in the restaurant was good, with large portions and reasonably priced.

Great holiday.

Room Tip: Our apartments were across the road from the bar area and up some stairs so may not suit all people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haygrovegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

...please do not judge this hotel based on the few negative reviews it has received. Me and my partner have just returned from a two week break at the Palm Bay Studios and we couldn't have been happier with what we had booked. On arrival we were greeted by friendly and polite staff and once they had quickly checked us in they showed us to our room even helping with the bags, this kind of service continued throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them no matter what time of day.

As with all the Greek Islands the self catering apartments are very basic but contrary to some reviews they are cleaned everyday with fresh sheets and towels provided. I doubt you would really be able to cook a three course meal with the utensils provided but they were adequate for sandwiches and snacks etc.

The pool area was great with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas although I do agree that some of them may be in need of an update soon. Only ate in the restaurant on one night but the food was nice and reasonably priced and I also had a number of snacks from the bar which again were good value and quality.

You are around 10 minutes walk from town which is person preference for me and the walk is quite a pleasant one. Fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank CVH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel doesn't match the pictures advertised. The room is very basic and I mean basic. There was no facility to dry beach towels etc. The shower door was broken, the toilet didn't flush and there were ants all over the kitchenette and bathroom. The maid service was poor. We were staying for two weeks and the towels were changed three times and I had to ask for them to be changed. The floors weren't swept and the bathroom wasn't cleaned at all.

The staff are friendly and helpful, food in the restaurant was ok and reasonably priced. The pool is adequate but during our stay it wasn't cleaned.

The hotel is rated as three star accommodation, this has to be a joke! We wouldn't even give a one star rating. Overall we were really disappointed with the accommodation. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here, and found the hotel perfectly fine. We had read some of the negative reviews so were abit concerned. But our room was fine. However, it is quite small, and not much room to put toiletries, and lotions and stuff. Didn't use the kitchenette, as we had no intentions of cooking, when there are so many nice restaurants up the road in the main bit of the resort. We ate breakfast and lunch a couple of times, and its true, you do get good portions, and worth the money. Room was cleaned daily, and towels and sheets changed regulally as well. The pool is lovely, and we liked the beach just at the back of the hotel, but it is rocky, and no sun loungers down there. We also noticed that there are also a number of apartments that are also part of the hotel, right down by the beach bit, so if I came here again, this is where I would like to go. Nothing was too much trouble, and all the staff were lovely, and really friendly. Air con is 50 euro's a week, and safety deposit box was 7 euro's a week. We found the air con left on during the night made it really cold, so that we had to get up in the night to turn it off. There is a shop as well, which we were told is owned by the hotel. The hotel is almost the last one on the outskirts of Pefkos, but for us it was good, as it was lovely and quiet, but if you wany lively, just a short walk is all the bars and restaurants, and a couple of beaches that have beds, and umberella's, at a cost of 8 euro's for 2 beds and a brolly. 10 mins bus ride away is Lindos, which is lovely to visit, but it's very busy in the day with all the tourists, so we went in the evening, when it quietened down abit. You can get a donkey ride up to the Acropolis, but I think its abit cruel, and in the heat of the day. You can walk up to Acropolis, but if you want to go in, it shuts at 19.40, so we only had 30 mins inside, and it's 6 euro's to get in, even though we only went in for half an hour. Lots of lovely rooftop restarants, and a maze of tiny streets with shops, well worth a visit. We holidayed at Pefkos last year, and would deffo go back again, it's such a lovely place.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the sea, ask for one of the rooms down by the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chippychatsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday with a friend. The room we were allocated on arrival was looking out over the back of the block in front so we asked if we could possibly move to a higher floor - they could not have been more obliging. Really lovely staff - nothing too much trouble. As I have a slight walking difficulty the distance into the town was a little too far so had to resort to a taxi at a cost of 5€ into the town - well worth it but be warned - in the heat of the last week, it became quite exhausting! Local buses are not that frequent so maybe a car - if you are brave enough - would be the answer.
We only ate at the Palm Bay once in the evening and a breakfast on the day we left but both meals were very good value.
The rooms are VERY BASIC. You get what you pay for so do not expect anything more!! The sheets are changed regularly as are the towels but the cooking implements are not good but if you are like us and have no intentions of cooking then it doesn't matter! The bathroom was a bit grotty it has to be said but if you keep flip flops on in the shower then there would be less likelihood of falling on the wet bathroom floor after your shower!
All in all a great time was had but just a tad out of the town and a 30 minute walk to the main Lee beach. It cost 8€ a day for two beds and an umbrella - Incidentally the beach by the hotel has quite a lot of shingle and there are rocks to negotiate and no sunbeds either.
The pool area is beautiful - water clear and clean - beds very comfortable and no-one puts towels on the beds before dawn!!
Just better mention air con - it is not as cool as you would want but they looked at it but it never seemed to alter - it was only adequate and they do not take credit cards so be prepared to pay cash for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Billshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

returned last night from holiday,what can i say,hotel staff wonderful,food really good,and the studios very clean,we were made to feel really welcome,nothing was to much trouble,cant wait to return next year.

Room Tip: room 110,facing the sea,with large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shannie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.7 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.0 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#9 of 34 in Pefkos
477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.8 mi away
Thalia Hotel
Thalia Hotel
#16 of 34 in Pefkos
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Bay Hotel Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Bay Hotel Studios

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Price Range: £161 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Bay Hotel Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Bay Hotel Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Bay Studios Rhodes
Palm Bay Studios Hotel Rhodes
Palm Bay Hotel Studios Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing