We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thomas Cook should dump these apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lemon Tree Apartments
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
PENICUIK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thomas Cook should dump these apartments”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed in these apartments on two pevious occasions - first time excellent, second time last September (2010) when we had problems with hot water. We were in the apartments again in September this year, and once again there was little or no hot water. We spoke to our rep on several occasions about this, and although she tried her best to resolve the issue, it was all down to the owner of the apartments who constantly was switching off the electric back up system for hot water. He would lurk about the garden waiting for the opportunity to switch off the electricity even after the rep would deliberately turn on the power. Thomas Cook are fully aware of the problem, and in my opinion the only way to resolve the issue is for Thomas Cook to,drop the Tzina Apartments from there portfolio.

Room Tip: Don't use these apartments unless the hot water problem is sorted
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
8
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Disgusting, damp kitchen infested & not suitable for storing or preparing food. Owner too mean to heat up the water, maid hosing the patio early in the morning in an attempt to remove some of the ants. Rotten door frame in the bathroom, no toilet brush & dirty stain in the toilet remained for the duration of our holiday. We had our rooms until 12 noon on the day of departure but the maid prepared the room for the next occupants at around 10 am- we spoke to our rep about this on the way to the beach & when we returned for showers at around 11.30, all towels had been removed from one room & only 1 bath towel remained in the other. The brochure for next year still offers the studios, so Manos obvously still have not listened to feedback from holidaymakers who have spent hard-earned money on a holiday there.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pefkos hotels

Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

If you wish to enjoy your holiday, do not stay at Tzina Studios.
During our 2 week holiday,the owner turned the hot water off after an hour of it being turned on.Never had a hot shower during my stay...
The downstairs apartments are substandard, With infestations of ants and cockroaches, kitchens that stink of damp and just a travel kettle and a 2 ring portable cooker our trip wasn't as good as advertised.
An old fridge (which was there last year) is still there on room 7's terrace. A huge puddle of stagnant water was right behind my kitchen window. It must have been there for ages. Water was bubbling up from the ground which must be causing the dampness.
I found it impossible to self cater here due to the conditions.
Thank goodness we got a move across the road to the Matina appartments and thank goodness for having an excellent rep. Thomas Cook should consider dropping these apartments until they are totally refurbished.
A shame though, an excellent location and attached to the oasis bar where we spent most of our time. Definately no complaints there!

Room Tip: upstairs are a lot better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The lower rooms are sub ground level and susceptible to damp which has penetrated from the garden on one side and is behind the kitchen units. When we opened any of the cupboards or drawers there was a horrible foisty smell which was obviously caused by this damp problem. One day my partner opened a drawer to find a cockroach which frightened and shocked her. A white powder has been put in one of the cupboards in the kitchen to deter these creatures but doesn't work, on 2 other occasions we found one near the kitchen area and one in the bathroom.
HOT WATER : in the corner of our patio area (room 7) is the main electric fuse cabinet for the whole block of 10 rooms. On at least one occasion every day the owner would come and open the cabinet and switch off a couple of fuse units. On the first evening we had no hot water and assumed that perhaps all the other guests had taken showers and used up all the hot water at that time. However it soon became apparent that this was due to the owner turning it off to save him money. The rep was called by other guests on several occasions during the fortnight; she showed my partner and these guests which switches to re-set in the cabinet.
Bathroom ; this needs a serious upgrade. There is disgusting black mould in the sealant around the bath. Many of the wall tiles are stained / chipped and are old and all need replacing. There is flaking of the paintwork higher on the walls which also emphasises the damp problem.
Ants ; as the patio area of rooms 7-10 are next to the garden there were hundreds of ants every day, and it was impossible to keep them out of the room.
Patio area : there is an old rusted obsolete fridge which has been left there by the owner. He is obviously not bothered by this as it was still there at the end of our fortnight, and who knows how long it had actually been left there.
Summary : having been to Greece on holiday at least 30 times since 1985, I consider this accommodation to be of a standard I experienced in the 1980's, and certainly not fit for purpose in 2011. The location of this accommodation is excellent specially being next to the fantastic Oasis pool and close to the beach, however there are so many superior places to stay in Pefkos we would not consider going back to Tzina .
Nigel and Jean, August 2011

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nigelnumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

stayed in bottom rooms very basic .bathroom not good toilet disgrace not been cleaned no toilet brush ants everywhere on floor and walls .kitchen was bad ,ants ever where when making drinks or snacks,under sink was just as bad, ants and cockroachs in waste bin .woke up one night ants on my face and all over the pillow not nice.maid not the best ,cleaned all the rooms with rag on the end of a brush dipped in cold water ,no hot water for days,not the best place shame really .nice gardens great location could be very nice

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couple122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

great location but the ground floor appartments are gloomy and in the kitchen area very damp and mildewd with lots of tiny ants in and around the cupboards. acess to these are down several stone steps with shrubs nd lemon trees hanging everywhere and while we were there quite poorly lit acess.the bathroom as very shabby with tiles on the edge of the recess to the toilet were all cracked and broken the shower head had to be hand held as it was broken and rather dirty.the oasis pool is lovely with demitri running it and is always clean and tidy had many happy hour there. on the whole pefkos is alovely place for a holliday but shame about the tzina appartments and if you book with manos and have problembs just to let you know that the rep is very ilusive isnt botherd and neither is manos i wouldnt book with them again id rether save my money and stop at home or find a better travel agent who cares about its patrons it was the worst holliday we have had in pefkos back in agust 2010.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sniggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The tzina studios could not be in a better location, Its right by the beach (2 min walk) and bars/resturants are on your doorstep. The tzina is not a hotel so there is no reception which i would of liked as if you had any problems there was no one to talk to apart from your rep, although it was nice just to crash out straight away as we arrived at two in the morning. The apartments were basic although the cooking falicities served there purpose but you could not cook a big meal as there are only 2 hobs. The bathroom was small but served its purpose. Cleaning was good, there was only one day that no one came. The bin is quite small so regularly filled another bin with bags we had from the supermarket. We did not know if you had to pay for the air con so had quite a few sleepless nights. We manged to work out how to use towards the end and i must say its not amazing but it did make some difference and we were never charged. If your fussy like me, take a pillow if you can because the pillows are lumpy!
I highly recoomend you go to the oasis bar round the corner, they have a free pool and sunloungers and the sfaff there are very friendly. The food is very good both in the bar and the restaurant. The bar serves food from 9am till 10pm and the restaurant opens at 6pm. Having seen what other hotels are like we would stay somewhere else next time. We want to visit pefkos again as the weather is hot and the beach is nice although if you want a sunlounger it will cost you 4 euros which is quite dear.
Oh if you can opt for top floor as the ground floor apartments are in the basement and look dark. We had room number 4 which has the best view of the sea.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#11 of 34 in Pefkos
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anthi Maria Beach Apartments
0.2 mi away
Melfe Villas
Melfe Villas
#16 of 24 in Pefkos
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria Apartments Pefkos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Apartments

Property: Lemon Tree Apartments
Address: Main Beach Road, Pefkos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 100m walk to Pefkos Main Beach, lemon tree Apartments are the ideal accommodation for holidaymakers looking for a peaceful Greek getaway. Set in tranquil orchards and green gardens, Lemon tree Apartments are within easy reach of the centre of Pefkos and all it has to offer. Basic, Greek accommodation at it’s best – you can find Studios sleeping either 2 or 3 guests with each room boasting all amenities you could possibly need for you stay on Rhodes. With use of the reception and facilities including swimming pools, snack bars, restaurant, wi-fi and much more a few steps away over the road at the Matina Pefkos Hotel – lemon tree Apartments really are made for the relaxing Greek holiday you’ve always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lemon Tree Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tzina Studios Rhodes
Lemon Tree Apartments Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing