We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and perfect for families”
Review of Pefkos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pefkos Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just back from a weeks holiday from 21-28th July 2011 at Pekfos Beach Hotel. I went with my 13 year old son and arrived at the hotel around 5am. (Booked through First Choice). The coach trip from the airport is approx an hour and a half and on arrival had a friendly welcome by Andy on reception, and on request the air con was turned on immediately. Air con is 55 Euros per week, which seems a little steep however it is necessary in July and August so best to budget accordingly, rather than do without. It is effective though and really keeps the room very cool. You cannot pay on arrival if arrive late at night, but it will get switched off at 12 noon the next day if not popped down to pay the fee before then. We stayed in a superior studio up the hillside, there are steep steps but not excessive and a car lift is right next to them if needed with cases etc. (no good for very elderly or disabled though, but there are rooms around the pool which would be suitable, but still the odd steps everywhere).
The room we stayed in 127 had a really good sized balcony and not overlooked by anyone, but some are. Rooms are a good size with good lighting and plenty of mirrors and the bathrooms are light and airy. Rooms are cleaned every day apart from a Sunday.
The hotel facilities include a beach bar which is well shaded to get out of the midday sun for a bit of lunch and service is very speedy and the variety of food is good, from Greek omelettes, all day breakfasts, salads, hot dogs burgers, wraps etc. Connected to the beach bar are an open plan internet room and a pool room with air hockey. A must with teenage kids. There are 2 main pools, the top one being far busier plus a more relaxed one several steps below, there are also 2 small shallow pools in-between for young children. You do need to get down there before 8.30-9am to get your towel on for a sunbed, but they do empty during the day so it was never a problem getting a sunbed on any day when we were there.
The nearest beach is about an 8 minute walk away and wasn’t too crowded at all when we were there. The sunbeds on the beach are 4 Euros per person for all day and can leave your stuff and go for lunch without any worries, but of course can just take a towel etc and enjoy for free. The sand is lovely white and soft and the sea is great but it is a little stony and rocky for the first foot or so, but not really a problem.
There is a convenient Laundry next to reception, where you can wash, dry and iron clothing for 8 Euros with all cleaning fluids included and might be handy for a 2 week stay.
It was too hot to go on any day trips when we were there, but there are plenty on offer in various places near the hotel, so you don’t necessarily need to book in advance. I’d suggest see how you go when your there.
The surrounding area around the hotel has a plethora of supermarkets and restaurants and bars so everything is on the doorstep. It does come to life more of an evening as in the daytime it is quite sleepy and restaurants mainly empty but maybe that changes in August. However it does not become a raucous noisy place in the evenings and you can keep the kids (no matter what age) out till very late if you wished. For younger children there are lots of play areas and games rooms for slightly older all along the main strip. A lot of the bars and restaurants in the area have free all day swimming pools/sunbeds with no pressure to eat/drink there etc, but of course the idea is that you would.
Entertainment: The hotel provides a BBQ and karaoke night on a Friday and a Quiz night on a Sunday.
Eating out: As mentioned you are spoilt for choice as there are so many to choose from and there is a mix of Greek and English and pasta dishes in most places. Nostalgia, the hotels restaurant and cocktail bar offers a 10% discount between 6-8pm, however it is slightly more expensive than others in the area so it kind of negates the discount. However it is good, we never had one bad meal when there, and the roof top restaurant is lovely on a balmy evening. Enigma restaurant opposite the hotel is very good, we ate there on the last evening and the quality of food is very good and would recommend that. For a traditional Greek atmosphere, I would suggest Dana Dana which is on the dusty road down to the beach, this is a family run restaurant and has the real Greek feeling and occasional plate smashing and worth a visit.
Prices are not much different than UK, an example lunch menu is hot dog and chips and a soft drink and a Greek salad and a glass of sangria will cost around 14 Euros. Dinner for two including starter and main and a couple of soft drinks and wine cost around 30 Euros.
Summary: It is a very British area, so if this is your thing, then it will fit perfectly I didn’t hear one foreign voice at all, it was a bit too anglicized for my liking but I know this is what a lot of people want The staff all speak good English or are actually English in some cases. It is great for families and couples; it is not the place for singles really. It is very hot in peak season and factor 50 for kids is a must. It is a friendly and very relaxing place to be, I could have done with an additional week but was a little too hot for my son and a week was enough. On the whole a lovely holiday, but not for real Greek culture if that is what you’re looking for. However thumbs up for Pefkos Beach Hotel and the key word is relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ClaudiaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Have just come back from pefkos what an amazing place . stated at the pefkos beach hotel and couldnt find a fault with place at all already trying to book for next year

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank webber71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at Pefkos Beach a couple of weeks ago, on the first night my husband lost his wallet and we thought we wouldn't see it again. We were wrong the following day we had a call from Ray on reception to say he had found it the previous night in the lift and that he had it for us at reception, thank you very much Ray. As for the rest of the holiday the property is spotless, the staff friendly, and the breakfasts are to be recommended. The views from the rooms up the hill are well worth the climb. Will one day return again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here last week for a week long holiday on his Mother's recomendation and it was fantastic. We were greeted by Reception at 11pm by two lovely gentleman who helped us with our booking, air conditioning (an absolute must in July - 55 Euros for a week) and recommendations for places to eat. Our room was clean, spacious and neatly decorated and it was cleaned every day apart from on a Sunday.
The poolside bar and Nostalgia restaurant attached to the hotel were brilliant. We went self catering so weren't tied to eating there all the time but we did by choice on many occasions. Enigma and Nostalgia Restaurants were amazing. We sat on their Roof Gardens to watch the Sun go down whilst we had dinner and it was very romantic. I would urge you to try the Traditional Greek food at both restaurants because it was lovely, especially Lamb Greco at Nostalgia (it was heaven in a dish).
The pools at the hotels were very clean and the atmosphere for couples and families was a one of welcome. The staff are great fun, polite and if can't speak Greek then that's ok because they all speak English but they do like it if you have a go.
The main beach in Pefkos is small but perfectly formed. They have sun loungers with umbrellas to rent for 4 Euros each for the whole day and they are worth using as there isn't any other areas of shade down there. The beach and water was very clean and safe, we swam in it every day and it was lovely.
There are lots of things to do in and around Pefkos. We went to Happy Feet (5 mins walk from Hotel) which is a place where you can have your feet nibbled by little fish who take off all the dead skin leaving your feet nice and smooth. It costs 10 Euros for the first 2 times you go but then after that it is 5 Euros.
We also went on the Glass Bottom Boat to Lindos which was brilliant. The Captain of the Boat Jannou (please excuse my spelling if this is incorrect) was a great guide with a brilliant sense of humour. We saw an Octopus as well as all different kinds of fish through the glass and Jannou stops in St Paul's Bay so that you can jump off the boat and have a little swim (so remember to wear your swim gear).
We thought Lindos was very pretty but it was very steep leading up to the town and the cobbles under foot were very slippery even in dry weather so this town would not be suitable for people with walking difficulties. There are no railings leading up and down from the Acropolis so no support or protection from the big drop down one side so hold on to your children if you do take them. There are Donkeys which you can hire to take you up the hill but to be honest i felt so bad for them running up and down the steep slippery cobbles in that heat, that I wouldn't even consider them as a mode of transport.
There were great views of Lindos and the sea from the Acropolis but to be honest I don't think it is worth the dangerous walk uphill on the cobbles or the 6 Euros it costs to get in. A lot of it isn't even original. If you do still want to see it then i would suggest that you join a tour group to learn the history otherwise it just looks like a pile of rocks with a great view.
There were some nice shops in Lindos, especially if you are looking for a gift or some lovely jewellery. We had lunch and a cold beer in the Captains House which was lovely and cool.
Overall we had a fantastic time and we will be going back again and again, maybe in May/June next time when it isn't as hot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gemmapops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 for 7 nights. This was our second time here as we also started for 10 nights in July last year! This is a great hotel and we'd recommend it. We have been to Pefkos four times and stayed at two other hotels. Pefkos Beach is by far the best one. The rooms are big and kept spotless. They are cleaned every day except a Sunday. The bathrooms are very good (not your usual Greek hotel bathroom). The pool side bar is great - the staff are very friendly. Kostas (and George) make a great mojito! The on site restaurant is very good. The Pefkos Beach Hotel is only a few minutes walk from other bars and restaurants and five minutes from Pefkos beach which is lovely - would really recommend Philosophia on the beach for gorgeous food. Also the glass bottom boat to Lindos is definitely worth doing. We'll definitely be back to the Pefkos Beach Hotel again and maybe even in 2012!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank McLondon1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed here in june this was the second time This time i came back married We had our wedding at st pauls bay lindos then back to the pefkos beach hotel Nostalgia Resteraunt for a fantastic reception for our 22 guests This hotel is family run and they just cant do enough The food was fantasic everyone of our guests enjoyed it Lovely rooms all our guests who stayed at the pefkos beach were given the best rooms Cleanliness second to none staff friendly hard working nothing too much trouble Special memories of the pefkos beach and of St Pauls Bay Lindos WE WILL BE BACK Thankyou michael and your lovely family

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sthelens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Booked this holiday last minute and absolutely loved it. considering its only 3 star it seems sooo much better! The appartments were spotless! Rooms were cleaned around 12ish, so could have a lay in if wanted. Air con is a must have for sleeping in the nights. The three pools were very clean and loads of sunbeds for everyone. Staff were soo friendly and helpfull. Nostalgia resteraunt. beautifull food (especially chicken gyros), all fresh food, very quick service and quite reasonable. This resort is a holiday from couples to family, and theres something for everyone! Bar staff are very friendly. Can't wait to return next year for another amazing holiday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-).

Room Tip: ask for a room by a pool! less walking on a scorching hot day and more convinient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmabradley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.3 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pefkos Blue
Pefkos Blue
#13 of 34 in Pefkos
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pefkos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pefkos Beach Hotel

Address: Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pefkos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#5 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: £21 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pefkos Beach Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pefkos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pefkos Beach Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing