We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Run Hotel Offers Great Break In Greece”
Review of Hotel Amphitriti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amphitriti
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Amphitriti (also spelled Amfitriti) in Pefkos,Rhodes is a medium sized (60 rooms?), family-run hotel. Close to the beach and far enough away from the main streets to offer both a convenient but also quiet place to stay this lovely hotel is worth every penny of the reasonable price charged for the accomodation. Beautifully kept, spotlessly clean and with a decent sizes pool and better than average bar and food facilities, the Amphitriti offers the resident a piece of modern-day Greece whilst facilitating a relaxing, friendly and well laid out centre from which to explore the locality and the rest of the island. Just about three km from the charming town of Lindos with its old-style, car-less, narrow, winding streets and shops, the Amphritriti couldnot be better sitated.

The hotel offers and pretty good bar-snack/luncheon area at poolside and the friendly and helpful staff make sure that you get everything you want at reasonable prices. Already having won several awards for its high standards, the awards seem to keep rolling in. All rooms offer air conditioning and room safes (both at an extra cost) but no television. Pool/sea views or courtyard type rooms are available which are adequate in size and well maintained. The way the hotel is run ensures that you will have a stress free holiday as no-one will bother you during your stay but there will always be someone on-hand somewhere to offer help and advice should you need it.

The Amphrititi is certainly somewhere that I would book again; in just one short week we allfelt as if we belonged there and made friends every day.

Room Tip: Specify if you want sea view but all rooms are great no matter what the outlook!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterbrown24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel and our first time in Pefkos

Overall, the holiday was excellent. Pefkos is a lot quieter than what we are used to and certainly more chilled out. There are lots of lovely restaurants (see my other reviews) and a handful of livelyish bars, if that is what you are looking for.

We arrived at the Hotel, late at night, after an hour's delay in the UK and waiting on the transfer coach for nearly an hour for everyone to get on, so we were not in the best of moods! Upon arrival, we were allocated room 320, which I think was the worst room in the Hotel. The room (along with others) is right in the corner, with a small, completely unprivate terrace and below street level. Although there was a pretty garden area to look whilst sitting out on the terrace, if next door had ever come out onto their terrace (which thankfully they didnt), then it would have been very uncomfortable and close. In fact, they would have to step onto our terrace to get to their front door!!
Don't get me wrong, the room was great, but small, but location of the room was not and I would certainly not recommend the room because of the terrace. We went to ask for a change, but was told the Hotel was full. I also hate being on the ground/below ground floors, due to bugs etc (which there are a lot of here). Unfortunately we drew the short straw in this area and other rooms appeared great, with sea/pool/garden views and large balconies. We were B&B and I believe there area also studios and apartments here, but that option or a view option was not available when we booked.

The cost of the air conditioning is also shocking. 9euro a night!!! And with my hate of everything creepy crawly, no way were we leaving the door open at night! So we had no choice but to pay it. The cost of the air conditioning alone, would certainly make me think twice about going here again. In relation to the air conditioning machines, ours and certainly a couple of others I noticed were leaking fluid, ours across our terrace floor. I am pretty sure that this is not right and that it can result in various illnesses, so very unsafe!

The cleaner of our room could also do with learning a few cleaning skills. Our room or the terrace floor (which was very dirty), didnt get mopped until our 5th day.

The rooms are very modern, with comfortable beds. 1 large double wardrobe for storage, but no other draws or cupboards whatsover.

Apart from the room and air con issue, this Hotel is great. Very friendly staff, reasonable bar and food prices. The pool is a decent size, never had any issues finding a sunbed and due to it's location, had a great sleep every night as it was always very quiet.

Beach is a five minute walk away, main strip 5-10 minutes along a dark, poorly lit road at night.

We hadn't been to Rhodes for six years and found it expensive then. Now it is even more expensive. I could not believe the prices of drinks. One large beer and a spirit with mixer, easily comes to (the cheapest we found) 8euro. If you drink a considerable amount on holiday, this is not your place!

Scores of lovely restaurants, mainly catering in Greek/English/European type food. Two Chinese restaurants and an Indian restaurant. There are 3 restaurants that do offers where you can have a 3 course meal for 8euro, with a variety of options to choose from. We never ate in any of them, but they always seemed to be full when we walked past. I can honestly saw we did not have a bad meal, they were all delicious!

The airport for departures is also shocking, and the worst I have ever encountered. We were at the airport 2 hours prior to departure, finally got checked in with 45 minutes until the flight departed and were still going through passport control when they made the final call for the plane. They are unbelieveably slow. They are also very hot on charging for overweight baggage. And even though we were 3 kilos over on our hold baggage and had virtually no hand luggage, they still tried to charge us. After much shifting about of our packing we resolved the situation, although I saw scores of people being charged extra. At the end of the day, do they want us to buy souvenirs etc in their Country or not, because if I ever return, I certainly won't!!

Overall a good holiday, but unless Rhodes sorts out it's airport situation, we probably won't return for a few years! Which is a shame, as I do love Greece and Rhodes is very beautiful.

Room Tip: Take some fly spray and ask for a sea/pool view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffycamel2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Accomodation as excepted, we have looked at the Amphitriti on other trips to Pefkos and decided to give it a go this time, we were not disappointed. Staff are very friendly and helpful, we asked for aroom change before we unpacked, i didn't want a room by the pool, this was sorted immediately. the owner sorted the rooms so my parents (in their 70's) could be next to us when they arrived 4 days later. asked for ironing board and iron to iron wedding shirts etc, no trouble arrived in our room 5 minutes later! The rooms were very clean as was the pool area, plenty of sunbeds. the pool bar resturant was very good too. The kitchen equipment in our room basic, although there is a kettle and toaster. lines are provided on patio/balcony but do you remember your pegs! Towels were fluffy a very nice change from the normal hard ones. only five minutes walk to beach or main road. safety deposit box was 15 euros a week and 15 euros deposit for key. We didn't need air con, just left patio door ajar a night. Excellent time we will come back to the Amphitriti, as will my parent's, my aunty and uncle. Our wedding party was 45, so we were sprend around pefkos! One thing to be aware of, you will be dropped off at the top of the road and the owner comes to pick you up in her car, which was fine, only we didn't have a rep on our coach to phone ahead, to we were left there at 11pm! However we did know where to go however dragging cases down the dark path was not a good start, the owner was so sorry but it wasn't her fault, but the fault of Thompson!!! ps there is a map in the handout given you on the transfer coach, should have know it was there for a reason!!!

Room Tip: away from pool round the back we had 313. afternoon and evening sun nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday at the Amphitriti Hotel Studios, what a lovely hotel, pleasant staff nothing was to much for them, plenty to do around you, or be as lazy as you want to be. Lots of lovely restaurants five minutes away. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dnp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for a week in mid May 2012. The hotel is ideally located on a quiet road just 5 minutes from the beach and the restaurants and bars of Pefkos. It was spotlessly clean with a nice pool and bar area - plenty of sun beds available. Rooms were cleaned regularly the towels provided were the "fluffy" type. The bed mattress with a little hard for my liking but this doesn't prevent me from giving the Amphritriti full marks.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool and beach had the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKINFUTURE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed in self catering studio for one week. Good points: room was very clean, friendly staff, nice clean pool, good location 5 min from beach and to town centre, food at the hotel was good price and tasty.
Negatives: no hairdryer in room, air con extra 9 euro a day (did not need to use it), very uncomfortable bed.
Overall very good and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here time after time, the owners are just the best and I'd thoroughly recommend it. Free wifi too!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
791 reviews
0 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#9 of 34 in Pefkos
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
860 reviews
0 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amphitriti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amphitriti

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amphitriti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphitriti Hotel Pefkos
Hotel Amphitriti Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing