We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ziakis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ziakis
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault this place!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in this hotel. The rooms are immaculate and so is the rest of the hotel and the pool.
The staff are friendly and welcoming. The guy who runs the bar and the snack bar during the day is so friendly and hard working he does an amazing job!!!
The views from this place are Awesome!!! The mountain and sea views are stunning.
The weather was into the 30 degree mark great for a nice dip in the pool to cool down.
I would recommend this place very highly. And if I was to visit Pefkos or Rhodes again I would always choose to return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsandMrArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    90
    25
    13
    1
See reviews for
63
184
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel although it is a fair walk from the main street we did not find this a problem and the views from our balcony were amazing. Yannis who served the food is a lovely guy nothing too much trouble for him unfortunately we never got to say goodbye this year as he was not there when we left. Hotel is spotless and rooms are a good size we needed the air con as it was july and would have been too hot without it. There is of course a cost but its the same as all places in Greece so we just allowed for it with our spending money. We managed to walk up and down the goat path at least twice a day but got a taxi back up at night but only cos it was too dark. Saw a few comments on here about the elderly man being a bit grumpy but I found him very nice and he always smiled when he saw me. Will definitely return at some point in the future and would stay at the ziakis. Thanks to all for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jspsds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from two weeks here, the hotel is great, very clean and the staff are friendly. The rooms are a good size and are well equipped. When we booked we could only get a garden view as all the sea views had gone but when we arrived I would have called the view a sea view.
As others have said there is a steep walk back from the resort about 15 mins but the views and quiet location make this acceptable.
We went to Zeus car rental in the resort and hired a car for 10 days for the same price the rep wanted for 5 days meaning we saved the walk and had easy access to all the Tavernas not just in Pefkos but also Lardos and Lindos, I would recommend this to anyone as all three places have some great Tavernas.
If you have a car travel south about 30 miles to Plimiri where you will find a small fishing jetty and a Taverna just on the end selling fish straight off the fishing boats, FANTASTIC and well worth the trip. Look out for the octopus drying, you can't eat fresher.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end June/beginning of July. Having read the reviews we were prepared for the climb up to the hotel from the town, As seasoned walkers, we didn't find it too bad but we always came the longer way round. There is a steep way and a very steep way back up the hill. unfortunately the nearest route into the town centre is the steepest and best avoided.
we also hired a car for a week (Zeus car hire) which made getting to beaches a bit easier.
There are 4 tavernas within easy reach if you don't want to go all the way into the town. The Anaxis is very reasonable and quite near. There is also a tavern at the Finas hotel which does a 3 course meal for E8.90.
The hotel was a bit bigger than we usually used and the pool area could get a bit rowdy with younger people messing around. I think it's a matter of luck as to who is at the hotel when you stay there, as our second week was much quieter.
We used the main town beach most of the time. You can walk there in about 20 minutes by using the 'goat track' and then cutting through the Lindia Thelassa hotel. There is a sign in the hotel which says the nearest beach is 800m. It might be if you can fly! This beach is also quite small and gets very full early on.
The main beach is also quite narrow and can get full. There are sunbeds at E8 for two - you get charged the same irrespective of what time you arrive. There isn't a lot of space for sitting on your own towels until you get into the town.
Pefkos is not a big town and relatively quiet. There are a few bars and about 40 restaurants. I thought the prices were slightly more expensive than other places we have visited, especially the house wines. For the past couple of years we paid E6-7 for a litre. Most places in Pefkos charged E11-13. The exceptions were the Anaxis and the Finas hotel, where it was E7.
The Philosophea is very good, if pricey, with fabulous sunset views and the Enigma also serves good food and isn't as expensive as it looks. However, we really never had a bad meal and there is plenty of choice. You won't go hungry.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and actually appreciated the walk back in an evening to digest the large meals. The hotel is clean and comfortable and is reasonably priced. The one exception is the 'added extras'. Aircon is E55 a week and the safe deposit is E20 a week. You can buy a safe for less! However, this seems fairly common now - a cheap price but you pay through the nose for add-ons.

Room Tip: There are some with a fabulous view over the town at the front of the hotel. Avoid those in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p_a_barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Overall, enjoyed our stay here. We arrived very late (~4am local time) so there was a bit of confusion with getting to our room and not having air con the first night.
The pool area is lovely and we never had a problem getting a sunbed no matter what time we wandered down at.
As everyone else mentions, getting back to the hotel is a trek since it's at the top of a hill from all the restaurants and the beach. We got in the habit of walking down then getting a taxi back up (5euros) which wasn't bad.
Also rented a car (would recommend Marathon!) for a few days which helped us get out and about a lot easier.
I wouldn't say the location of the hotel is a negative point as you get good views and away from all the noise of being too central.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraB354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, but I don't quite understand the rave reviews. The rooms and grounds are very clean but the rooms are slightly dated, saying that I do know this is standard for Greece. The bathroom is a let down. The views from our room 302 was amazing though and we were given a 2 bedroom apartment which was a added bonus as we only booked 1 bedroom. The hotel is on top of a big hill which was fine but very exhausting walking up and down each day especially in the 50 degree heat that we had when we were there. I can't say we had any problems with the hotel at all and yes the staff do work extremely hard. The older man on recepetiob though is very grumpy and quite rude at times, massive language barrier, granted I no very little Greek but he knows almost no English and just shouts in Greek when you try ask him a question. Even booking a taxi proved difficult and got shouted at for that! I do think they should reconsider his position as front of house. The swimming pool area is clean and nice but the pool is freezing. We ate at the snack bar a couple of times and had no complaints. Nice hotel with nice views on the top of a very steep hill especially with a pushchair. I would stay here again but would hire a car.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annak68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel full of great expectations with all these great reviews. We entered the reception only to be met with a very stroppy looking reception staff who just told a group to follow them, pointed to our hotel room and walked off. Great first impression. We put it down to the fact we were late arrivals due to late flight and coach transfer. The room itself was basic, very dated, clean to an extent. What u would need to get by for a week- few plates, 2 cups, 2 glasses. A hob and kettle that had seen better days. The shower was fine bit of red dirt (seen in pic), beds were fine bit hard with two sorry looking hard pillows and a few stains that wasn't our own. We also found an ants nest by the window so the floor was crawling with ants but not sure if a few crawlers is usual in such a hot country? Woke up to stunning views, as we had booked a sea view, the only saving grace of the hotel. We thought in the light of day things would be different. We avoided the pool as crowded with lots of rowdy people most topless. So we thought we would walk to Pefkos Town, the lady which I believe owns the place was very helpful and even though she had very little English flagged us down to help us with directions and we was very grateful. She was very pleasant and the cleaning staff were wonderful and friendly. Pefkos is quite a trek from the hotel- what ever u do bring some good shoes and prepare to walk. But a taxi to and from is 5 euro each way which can mount up but is worth it, as the hotel feels very closed off from everything. With about 25-30 mins walk to Pefkos Village. In the evening we chose to get a taxi, we politely asked the man at reception is he could possibly ring a taxi, he looked like I asked him if I could take his kidneys. Eventually rang one. Shop is useful but expensive. Few bits like biscuits, tea etc. Air con is expensive but needed 55euro for the week. 20 euro for the safe for the week. We had very noisy neighbors next door, few youngsters that had music blasting and laughing, screaming and talking through out the night, very loud. For few days, so we had no sleep. We told the reception and she called them, unfortunately this did nothing in fact they turned the music up louder. Not the hotels fault but feel they knew the guest were loud and should have told them to leave. Couldn't help but think throughout the whole trip this holiday would be perfect if I booked a different hotel. Disappointing at best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belda2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.0 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thalia Hotel
Thalia Hotel
#20 of 34 in Pefkos
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#8 of 34 in Pefkos
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ziakis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ziakis

Property: Hotel Ziakis
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ziakis 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ziakis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ziakis Hotel Pefkos
Hotel Ziakis Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing