We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Third visit to Pefkos and first time at Matinas and we were very happy with our stay.
The rooms are well above average for a "Greek self-catering experience" - clean, comfortable, decent kitchen facilities and everything worked! Location is perfect - a few yards from the beach and just set back enough from the bars not to suffer any disturbance at night. Lovely pool, friendly staff. Pefkos is a nice little resort with a decent choice of bars and restaurants. It seems to be geared towards the British tourist, rather than an authentic Greek Experience, but thats not necessarily a bad thing. Busses run fairly regularly to the North of the island (Rhodes, Lindos), but if you want to go to Prassinissos (the southern tip) beware- they dont go there after the end of September!
Cant find anything negative to say.. well done to the management team.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Twonicemice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear twonicemice,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    258
    83
    20
    5
See reviews for
535
341
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Great base for the holiday and very close to the gorgeous beach. The staff are great and the rooms are clean and comfy, if basic. Our bathroom was disappointing as the shower was faulty and you couldn't have a bath without the plug getting stuck in the plug hole but we managed, somehow. Drinks in the Matina bar were good/reasonably priced. Food in the Peoples bar was disappointing. The pools are nice and were empty - we stayed towards the end if season though, otherwise I would imagine it would get chocker as it's definitely a family resort. If you have mobility problems, this is at the bottom of a steep hill if you're thinking of venturing out - not a problem for us, but would imagine it could be troublesome for others. All in all, would probably stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Vicky C,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note, we have taken your issues on board and taken the necessary actions.

We hope to see you again in the future to hopefully exceed your expectations.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

2nd time at the Matina and even better than last time. Stayed 2 weeks for our wedding with all the guests enjoying it and wanting to return
Location, couldnt be better as we are big beach people and spent many hours a day in the crystal clear warm sea. Great bars, and amasing restaurants all on your door step.
Absolutely love the place and can't wait to return next late September when the weather is perfect and the area is just nicely busy
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Stay in the new part
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peteshillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear peteshillo,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location perfect for you.

See you in September!

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the Matina in October 2013 for a week. We are a family of four and Matina and Pefkos managed to keep us all happy. From the moment you arrive and you are greeted with a warm smile to the moment you leave the staff can't just do enough for you! On top of that the location of the hotel is fantastic! Not even a minute away from Pefkos main beach and practically still beeing in the villages centre. Our room was spacious and clean. Maid service is 6 times a week. We tried several restaurants in Pefkos and concluded that the best food is served in Meltemi, Matinas on site restaurant. The value is great too, you get 10% off for staying at the hotel. We used people's bar for breakfast and drinks at night. Beautiful atmosphere, great staff and amazing cocktails!! Matina also has an on site supermarket which is very convenient, has everything you need for your holiday and is reasonably priced. The little ones enjoyed the kids club. All in all we had a fantastic time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear George W,

Wow, it really sounds like you had a great holiday with us, we thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed in September with my husband in Room 613 in old block,got there late at night so dumped luggage and headed for bar for much needed drink.Next day when i had a good look round the apartment realised it had gone down the nick since i was there in the June.The floors were filthy and within minutes my feet were black and the balcony hadnt been cleraned for months by the look of it.I used a whole pack of antibacterial wipes cleaning all the surfaces and the light switches and washed all the cutlery and crockery as there was dirt and hairs in the bowls Ugh!!!The patio windows were so dirty i tried to clean them but made little diffrence without the proper equipment.The bedroom smelled of urine,dont know if it was the bed or the floor but i slept on the couch in the lounge.This was my 3rd time here and will be my last as it really dissapointed me.I didnt complain at reception as i know that nothing would be done as they dont take critisism well.On the plus side its in a fantastic location and the food is lovely,the staff are all so nice and hard working except the cleaning staff who seriously need a few lessons in cleaning.

Room Tip: Go for new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Elizabeth H,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We find it a shame that you didn't mention your issues to us during your stay - we would have then been able to resolve them for you. This is not the kind of service we want to offer our guests as you have witnessed the first two times you visited us.
I personally apologise that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay.
I want to take this opportunity to say that we indeed take criticism well and we act on our guests comments (both good or bad) on each occasion.
We are not perfect but when we make a mistake we want to be aware so we can fix it
I would really like to know what made you form the opinion that we don't take criticism well and that we wouldn't act on your problem.
On the other hand thank you for your kind words about the hotels staff, food and location
I would really like you to visit us again so we can show you that what happened was the exception to what usually our standard of service is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at Matina 24th July until 7th August 2013, it was one of the best beach holidays we have been on! I would like to thanks every member of staff, especially Matina, Amy, Kostas and Valentina.
The pool is very clean, rooms etc spotless. The restaurant Meltimi was one of our favs, Kostas was very hospitable, we tried the stuffed vine leaves for the first time, their's is a family recipe and we really enjoyed them.
The Greek night is a must, food was delicious, entertainment brill and a great atmosphere.
My daughter especially enjoyed the kids club, she misses Jenga Jen, Nutty Nathan and Jake!!!
We have booked to return next July, so see everyone at Matina then.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurafoz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear laurafoz7,

A huge thank you for taking your time to post your review.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay (And your meals) with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our 4th time to Pefkos however our first time at Matina, and it certainly won't be our last.

The staff really make this hotel a place to come back to - from Stergos at the pool side bar to Valentina in the People's Bar, everyone walks around with a smile on your face and always willing to chat and help out whenever they need to.

We had a room over looking the play park (614) which was a very good size for us 3 (2 adults, 1x2 year old). The room was a little dated and would certainly benefit a little work however we didn't spend a great deal of time here so it was perfect for what we needed it for (getting changed and sleeping mostly).

The complex itself is very clean and tidy, although the bins could probably do with emptying a little more frequently. The pools are a good size, clean and were not that busy during our stay (we could always get a lounger where we wanted). Everything was pretty much as we expected from a hotel with the price we paid.

The onsite supermarket is well stocked and fairly average prices for Pefkos. We ate in all of the bars onsite and the food was pretty decent. The onsite restaurant is excellent and receiving money off is always welcome...!

All in all no real complaints at all. For the price we paid for 2 weeks, it certainly exceeded our expectations and made us want to go back again.

Thank you to everyone at the Matina for giving us such a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Peyles,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in the summer.

It's great to hear our complex exceeded your expectations and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.7 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#8 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Property: Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Address: Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pefkos
#5 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Matina Pefkos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Matina Pefkos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Aparthotel Hotel Pefkos
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing