We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but dirty and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went with my family for a two week stay at the matina, and although it is in a great location I was exteremly disappointed with the room (310- in the old part) there was dust everywhere! and dead insects on the batroom shelf which where still there when we left even after telling the maid many times. The staff overall were nice, however some were not especially the maid and some of the entertainment team. The pool side wasn't regularly cleaned and some of the sun loungers were broken. Its extremely overpriced for what it is and won't be returning to the hotel.. however, pefkos is a lovely place and will definitely will go back at some point!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabethrose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Elizabethrose9,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are truly disappointed that you did not find your room to be of our usual standard. We apologise for the experience you had during your stay with the cleanliness of your room and can assure you this is not a regular occurrence, and I will personally speak to the housekeeping team to ensure this doesn’t happen in the future.

Please note that the public areas of the hotel are cleaned every morning and then again throughout the day so we will have a look at this particular area to ensure our future guests do not experience the same situation as yourself.

We hope to see you again in the future for a more enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Returned from Martina on Weds after our 5th holiday there, this time we stayed for 3 weeks and stillwas not ready to come home. Firstly a big big thank you to Amy in reception for fulfilling our requests, she could not have done any better, we stayed in room 516 (perfect) As for some comments regarding towels not being changed, we even got clean towels on the day before we came home. I am not going to mention individual names because the whole of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and it would be unfair to pick just a few names. I cannot say enough good things about this place, we love it. We are a couple in our early 50s, would we go back for a 6th time? Answer: we"re booking the flights this weekend. Thank you to all the staff at Martina for making our holiday what it was, see you all next year.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room in 5 years (no need to worry)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Terry G,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you had a great 3 week stay with us and that you already know you'll be returning next summer.

We look forward to seeing you then.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from our 5th visit here and can honestly say I still enjoy it as much as the first time. I emailed 2 weeks before to request a room in Block 8 which was granted. Upon arrival at about 3am we were checked in very quickly by Bob who was very polite.
The rooms are clean and although the beds seem hard to some people they were fine for me.
We had a lovely cleaning lady who was always polite and did an excellent job.
The pools are great and we especially like the one near the Peoples Bar.
Both the food in the Peoples Bar and Meltemi are of an excellent standard, ate lunch at the Peoples Bar 11/14 days and also ate at Meltemi 4 nights.

All the staff are friendly and I think part of what makes Matina such a relaxed and wonderful place is the staff who are always friendly, polite and happy to help.

Hope to return some time in the future

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Ruth186340,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review,

We are so pleased you enjoyed another stay with us and found meals at both our snack bar and a la carte restaurant to be of a high standard.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for 17 nights from 18 June 14 and once again had a perfect holiday. Lovely staff who are always willing to help and everyone says hi whenever they see you. Not the full menu available at the Matina bar this year but we just went to the. Peoples bar instead. Still went to visit Stergos every other day at the Matina bar anyway, how couldn't we?! He's a absolutely lovely man and a real asset as so many of the staff are. Thanks also to Amy for allocating us a great room (because our preferred one wasn't available this year). Also, thanks - I THINK!!! to Stephanos for mentioning the Pefkos triathlon to Paul. I think he's entering it if it goes ahead again next year. . I'll support him from the Peoples bar as he rides and runs past. Lol. Right I'm off to contact Amy to book my visit for next year.

Jennie & Paul Donegan

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jendon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear jendon67,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed another stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next summer.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just spent a week at the Matina, it was our first trip to Pefkos. We loved this place. Two minutes from the beach and a short walk to the night life and restaurants. We stayed in room 514 which was a studio and perfectly kitted out, clean and spacious. My only complaint were the hard mattresses which gave me back ache. Other than that, I can't fault it. Two pools, two bars and a lovely restaurant Metalmi. Reasonably priced supermarket which was extremely well stocked. Grounds really well kept and maintained. I would go back like a shot!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the old block. It was perfectly good. AC was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Spacejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear spacejosh,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our onsite restaurant, Meltemi, also.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

lovely friendly staff, Abby and April such lovely girls and stergos behind the bar was great. room was clean and ample for our needs. would recommend this to any family after a quiet and relaxing holiday. lovely beaches 1 min.walk brilliant can't say any more about it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank wmjsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear wmjsmith,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and our location to be a bonus.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the Matina for 2 weeks from the 9th July with my husband and 4 year old daughter. This was by far the best and easiest holiday we've been on as there was so much to keep my daughter happy. And of course happy child means happy parents! Every morning we were greeted by the legend that is Stergos who gave my daughter a lollipop or a piece of fruit each morning. On our first morning he called us over and explained where everything was in the hotel and he repeated this with all the new arrivals. He is such an ambassador for the Matina.
We were in room 414 which was really spacious and clean. Good balcony furniture and a drying rack were also provided. The kitchen had everything we needed so we had breakfast in most mornings sat on the balcony. The shower was also really powerful and the hot water was plentiful.
My daughter loved the entertainers Abby and April, much more so than the Kids club staff. She amazed us by getting up to sing karaoke in the Matina bar and she loved the kids discos. Only slight negative is that there could have been more hotel run activities for the kids to do during the day or early evening but this may be something for the future when the kids club is no longer run by TC.
Ate in the Meltemi restaurant twice as wechose to return to it for our last night. The standard of food and presentation was fantastic and I recommend this to everyone.
Overall, we really can't fault this hotel. We instantly felt at home there even though it was our first visit and it's location cannot be beaten, in terms of proximity to the stunning beach.
Huge thanks and well done to all the staff - you're all doing an amazing job. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Riley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Riley1974,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We have made a note of your comments regarding children's activities and hope to improve on this in the future.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalia Hotel
Thalia Hotel
#16 of 34 in Pefkos
580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#9 of 34 in Pefkos
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Address: Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pefkos
#4 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: £19 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matina Pefkos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Matina Pefkos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Aparthotel Hotel Pefkos
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing