We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Family of 4 (2 boys aged 5 & 6 years old). Mid August 2 Weeks.
Lovely place to relax with beach extremely close-by. The room was clean and spacious enough with hangers on the balcony for drying out towels/clothing. Enough powerpoints to charge several electronic devices simultaneously. Everything you'd expect for self-catering was present.
Complex has plenty of amenities meaning you don't really have to leave the complex. Supermarket has large stock of goods and the bottled water is very cheap. Supermarket was also able to source a birthday cake for our son's 5th birthday. Restaurants and bars are clean and the service is particularly excellent with all the staff speaking very good English. The variety of meals on offer at the Restaurant is good and the rooftop seating area is beautiful on a night giving the meal that extra special element. The service is prompt which is not the general experience we had from other restaurants in Pefkos (Pefki). The pool bar is great fun with Stergos & Mark always willing to make you laugh. Both bars have the sports channels and put on Football & Rugby. They are more than happy to change the channel if there is a match on you wish to watch.
The pools are extremely clean and have plenty of sun-loungers and umbrella shades. They have varying depths and are brilliant for families with young children. These pools are the focal points for the entertainment activities organised by April & Abby. April & Abby help make the holiday even more memorable for kids and adults alike with quizzes, night-time pool parties, discos and competitions. Like the rest of the staff at the complex they are happy, helpful and seem focused on making you enjoy your holiday.
The complex has a few arcade games, air hockey table, table tennis and several pool tables to provide a different distraction.
There is free wi-fi in the public areas but unfortunately none in the rooms, but we were hardly in the room so this didn't bother us as a family.
The prices at the shop and bars are very reasonable and doesn't hit the wallet hard for families.
At the end of the day the acid test is that I would recommend this complex to my family and friends back home in England, especially if you want a family biased location that has good transport links to areas of interest such as Falaraki Waterpark, Lindos and Rhodes Town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Richie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Richie J,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and made the most of our facilities.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

2 adults & 2 boys, aged 8 & 12. Stayed for a fortnight at the end of July, beginning of August.

A superb location, great restaurant, good bars (especially the People's Bar) and very friendly staff who were either English or spoke excellent English. Good pools (two big pools - with a further 2 tiny pools for toddlers). The hotel's grounds are well kept and it's generally well maintained. The hotel has a games room, on-site supermarket (open until midnight), family entertainment most nights (trivia quizes, live music etc), a kids club and includes various other minor features such as a book exchange, all of which make this an excellent hotel for a family holiday.

Our accommodation was a ground-floor room in the 400 block. It is a bit basic and realistically would only rate maybe 1 or 2 stars as it is getting tired and could do with a make-over, especially in the bathroom where the fittings are worn, especially the mirror. The shower too was OK but the shower-head was scaled up (very hard water) and blocked briefly but was sorted promptly when we complained. The room's catering facilities are typically minimal (small fridge, 2 ring hotplate, microwave, basic utensils etc) - including a potentially lethal arrangement of power sockets inches away from the tap - but it was generally clean and adequate for our needs. The attractions of the hotel's general facilities make up for the room's minor failings.

The only downside to the hotel - which thankfully didn't bother us - was the racket from the Matina bar at times. Anyone staying in rooms close to this bar better enjoy a very late night as there were kids playing football, drunken singing and general partying till well past midnight / 1pm on several occasions in the week. Fine for those involved but I'd have asked to be moved if we were closer, thankfully we were some distance away.

I would add particular thanks and my compliments to Lenka, Lucia and Vasilli at the People's Bar. Lovely friendly attractive people and the makers of the best vanilla milk-shakes ever!

Room Tip: New block, avoid low numbers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clair Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Clair Y,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of all your comments and thank you for your observations.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Cheap n cheerfull best way to sum this place up! Breakfasts at peoples bar are very good pool okay near to beach and centre of Pefkos is just up the road ask for a high floor as the groud floor rooms are a bit like cellars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear B S,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We note that you prefer high floor rooms, but many of our guests prefer the ground floor rooms also.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been staying at the Matina for over 10 years now, this year we stayed in the old block, we requested by email 2 weeks prior to arrival a ground floor room, as we where traveling with our daughter 7 months and son 3 years. we had 2 prams and there is no lift so did no fancy lifting the prams up to the top floor after a few meathos. on arrive we where given a top floor room, when complained, we where given a ground floor room the next day. Room, was a refurbished room with large fridge freezer , flat screen tv. cleaned daily, but dead fly's or mosses never removed.
Pools are good as ever, never ned to put towel on sun lounger. beach 2 mins down road.
didn't go in people bar so can't comment on this bar - no entertainment or even the quiz that they used to have.
Not much changed in the way of bars and restaurants, but over 40 to choose from, best is as always corellis , that is on the road out of pefkos towards Lardos, 10 mins on foot, but well worth the walk.

The best price we found this year was with Jet2 with free kids places around £1200 for 2 adults 1 infant and 1 child. but checked price to go in September 2014 and cost was £2500. sorry can't pay double for the same thing.
All in all very pleasant relaxing holiday and would return again.

Room Tip: room 705 ground floor on the end of the block is quiet , large rooms (1 bed apartment) does not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Jon B,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

As you mentioned you had requested a room prior to arrival, we do try our very best to meet all requests wherever possible, but this cannot be guaranteed and a specific floor/room cannot be booked. We do receive a vast number of requests and in high season it is particularly difficult to meet every one. However, we were pleaseed that we were able to move you to a ground floor room the following morning.

Please note, People Bar has a live vocalist once a week, and quiz night with our entertainment team at least twice weekly.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would return in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went with my family for a two week stay at the matina, and although it is in a great location I was exteremly disappointed with the room (310- in the old part) there was dust everywhere! and dead insects on the batroom shelf which where still there when we left even after telling the maid many times. The staff overall were nice, however some were not especially the maid and some of the entertainment team. The pool side wasn't regularly cleaned and some of the sun loungers were broken. Its extremely overpriced for what it is and won't be returning to the hotel.. however, pefkos is a lovely place and will definitely will go back at some point!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabethrose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Elizabethrose9,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are truly disappointed that you did not find your room to be of our usual standard. We apologise for the experience you had during your stay with the cleanliness of your room and can assure you this is not a regular occurrence, and I will personally speak to the housekeeping team to ensure this doesn’t happen in the future.

Please note that the public areas of the hotel are cleaned every morning and then again throughout the day so we will have a look at this particular area to ensure our future guests do not experience the same situation as yourself.

We hope to see you again in the future for a more enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Returned from Martina on Weds after our 5th holiday there, this time we stayed for 3 weeks and stillwas not ready to come home. Firstly a big big thank you to Amy in reception for fulfilling our requests, she could not have done any better, we stayed in room 516 (perfect) As for some comments regarding towels not being changed, we even got clean towels on the day before we came home. I am not going to mention individual names because the whole of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and it would be unfair to pick just a few names. I cannot say enough good things about this place, we love it. We are a couple in our early 50s, would we go back for a 6th time? Answer: we"re booking the flights this weekend. Thank you to all the staff at Martina for making our holiday what it was, see you all next year.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room in 5 years (no need to worry)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Terry G,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you had a great 3 week stay with us and that you already know you'll be returning next summer.

We look forward to seeing you then.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from our 5th visit here and can honestly say I still enjoy it as much as the first time. I emailed 2 weeks before to request a room in Block 8 which was granted. Upon arrival at about 3am we were checked in very quickly by Bob who was very polite.
The rooms are clean and although the beds seem hard to some people they were fine for me.
We had a lovely cleaning lady who was always polite and did an excellent job.
The pools are great and we especially like the one near the Peoples Bar.
Both the food in the Peoples Bar and Meltemi are of an excellent standard, ate lunch at the Peoples Bar 11/14 days and also ate at Meltemi 4 nights.

All the staff are friendly and I think part of what makes Matina such a relaxed and wonderful place is the staff who are always friendly, polite and happy to help.

Hope to return some time in the future

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Ruth186340,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review,

We are so pleased you enjoyed another stay with us and found meals at both our snack bar and a la carte restaurant to be of a high standard.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#9 of 34 in Pefkos
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Address: Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pefkos
#4 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: £32 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matina Pefkos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matina Pefkos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Aparthotel Hotel Pefkos
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing