We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 May 2010

hi we have just come home from the matina apartments in pefkos,we have once again had a fabulous holiday ,we have been for our sons wedding this time with family and friends what a marvelous day it was,the wedding was at st pauls bay lindos , we went by glass bottom boat hired direct through jeannnot that was the icing on the cake it was so relaxed and everyone thouroughly enjoyed it, then afterwards in the evening stephanos at the matina apartments did a bbq on the beach for the reception this was a lovely setting and very romantic. the staff at the matina hotel are excellent ,and so polite and friendly,they make you so welcome it is amazing and they are fantastic with the children .I cant wait to go back next year
tracy n steve

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ptracypalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2010

We had booked our 3rd visit to the Matina last August and were all very excited about going back to somewhere we have come to know and love.It was about half past midnight when we drove into Pefkos and we all waited with baited breath as we drove down the beach road towards the newly developed Matina. After watching the build all winter, I couldn't believe how good it all looked in the flesh...even if it was dark.

The first day at the Matina, gave us all a chance to have a good look round the new developments and we quickly found ourselves being drawn to the new pool which was amazing. There was a lovely round kids pool with water feature, nice new pool with a bridge to a small Island, new blocks which gleamed in the bright sunshine, new pool bar (Peoples Bar), Laundarette, Meltemi Restaurant, Supermarket and landscaped areas.

The new build definitely fitted in extremely well with the old complex and in my opinion was definitely an enhancement to the place. We made a point of always popping back to the old pool bar to see Stergos and have our lunch there and always fed the kids early in the People's bar about 5 - 6pm as the old pool bar stops serving food about 3.30ish.

Stergos was still his good self and as most visitors will know he's a great character and I'm sure commands a lot of respect from both visitors and colleagues alike. As is to be expected, numbers were down all over the resort, but you could definitely notice a drop in numbers around the old pool bar as the new pool attracts people walking down the bech road and half of the guests in the hotel. I think some days, the new pool was far busier that the old pool. The old pool had been completely re-developed over the winter and the wall between the kids pool and the bigger pool had been removed and re-tiled.

The menu had in both the old pool bar had been changed from last year but prices were pretty much on a similar level as the year before. Both the peoples bar and the old pool bar served the same food.

The new laundarette was directly opposite block 7 (behind the kids club). I think the price was €6 for a wash although I didn't personally use it, I think the outlaws did!

The kids club was run by a 2 very nice girls this year who were great with the kids and my eldest son loved going there....probably because there was only really 3 - 7 kids max per session so they did a lot of cool things and had a lot of 1-1 attention. The kids club is open from 10am - 12pm for 5-7 year olds, 5 or 6 days a week. For 8 - 12 year olds I think sessions run from 4pm - 6pm.

Entertainment in the hotel was as in previous years, Karaoke nights, quiz nights, BBQ night and Greek night. Due to lack of numbers, Karaoke night was only running on Tuesdays so Saturday nights in the apartments were quiet. I'm sure it will probably run on Saturday nights as the season warms up. Although Karaoke isn't my cup of tea, it is Paul's so we always made a point of getting back in time to here him sing us out!

This year we stayed in room 701 - a ground floor room in a shady area which is great for kids. The terrace only really gets the sun around lunchtime so is a nice place to relax in the late afternoon and early evening.

Have booked to go back again in June 2010 so will post another review on my return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stitcherooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

we 1st turned up at the matina at pefkos in september 2008 as a late deal, wasnt sure as to what we was going to get but what we did get was a fantastic holiday and a fantastic hotel and staff, we have now just got back from our 3rd stay and are due to go back later this year for 2 weeks, its got everything we want in a holiday, quiet if you want it and lively if you need, though never too lively, the music may stop at midnight but the bar stays open till well into the morning

the rooms we have stayed in are always clean and well looked after and we have no reason to doubt that will continue in the future, the beech is less than 5 mins walk, 2 great pools and an assortment of shops and supermarkets all within walking distance

a quick mention about the staff, who would bend over backwards to help you in anyway you want and always available to give you friendly advice

sports fans are catered for with tv's scatered about showing a variety of sports and the food is very good, infact this year we only ate at the matina

all in all very happy

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hondavee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I stayed in the Matina in mid June 2009 and had the best holiday ever. I went with two other females, we were aged 18/19 at the time.

The apartments are spotless. We had a studio apartment for three people. It had two twin beds which could be pulled apart and a single bed. There was a kitchenette in the corner of the apartment and a full length wardrobe which was large enough for the three of us. There was also a separate bathroom with bath and shower. The apartment was a good size, with lots of space and then we had a balcony as well, which we spent most nights having a glass of wine whilst looking over the pool/landscape of Pefkos.

There was a daily maid service (except one day, but cant remember which day this was) and towels were changed every day.

The pool was brilliant, there were always sunbeds so need to wake up at the crack of dawn to secure one!

There is a restuarant/snack bar/bar by the pool which is very reasonably priced, and the staff are friendly and funny. In particular there was a guy called Costos and he was great fun! He kept the bar open just for us until nearly 2 am, making us lots of different cocktails and being a great host!

Pefkos as a place is on the quiet side, not that I'm trying to put people off, but it probably wouldn't be for people who want a club based and party fuelled holiday. There is the neighbouring town of Lindos though which is larger and has more clubs on offer. As for Pefkos, it has some good bars with great cocktails, but only one bar/club called Eclipse. It is good fun in there though. One thing I will warn people of, females in particular, is that the men can be quite sleezy, but then you get that anywhere really! They didn't do us any harm!

As for the food, you really cannot beat it! Try the local specialities like the stifado (like a rich tomatoey beef stew - delicious) and the moussaka. The pita bread is lush and my friend took a strong liking to the cheeseballs! Try the restaurant called Smile if you get a chance, we had some great food there including fantastic steak.

To sum up, Pefkos is a great place if you want a very relaxed holiday, with great picturesque views, lovely beaches, beautiful scenary, delicious cuisine, and a nightlife that will keep you entertained.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rvski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Hi all..

Hol June 2009- Matina apts.

This year we opted to take a taxi to the hotel at a cost of 50 Euros, so we were quickly at the Hotel, ready to start our holiday. We were welcomed by the lovely staff in reception, who are always on hand to help you out regarding your room , currency exchange, air con etc.



The new apartments are beautiful and blend in nicely with the original apartments. The original pool area has been completely retiled and there are new sunbeds and umbrellas for some welcome shade from the afternoon sun.



We were in room 312 (One of the larger studios with a large balcony), looking out over Pefkos Bay on one side and the resort from the other side. The balcony had a table and 2 chairs and 1 cushioned sun beds!

The air con is essential and costs around 60-70 in a studio for 2 weeks or 135 euros for 2 weeks in a 1 bedroom apartment (these have 2 air con units). The temperature in the resort was in the forties, every day for the whole fortnight!! Very hot! There can be quite a breeze at times, but the breeze tends to be warm as well (known as MELTEMI- Hence, this is the name of their new restaurant). The matina apts are surrounded by lovely well maintained gardens and are a stones through from the beautiful sandy beach. There is a good sized kidney shaped pool with shallow end and there is also a small separate paddling pool for younger children. This paddling pool is surrounded by sun beds and has large umbrellas to shield the children from the sun. In between the newly built apartments there is 2 new pools, one for toddlers with small slide and animated characters. There is another large pool surrounding a small island garden… There is also a new poll bar, self service laundry, restaurant and well stocked shop.

The main pool is surrounded by plenty of cushioned sun beds and umbrellas and there is always enough, even when the apartments are fully booked. There are toilet facilities and shower facilities next to the pool areas and these are cleaned regularly.

Next to the pool areas, is the Childrens play area which is fully covered. The play area has some swings, a chute, a small trampoline, lots of little tikes outdoor toys, a jungle gym and plenty of tables and chairs. There is a separate air conditioned building in which the kids club is run, which is new, fresh and very clean. The kids reps, Jennie and Naomi were fantastic and after some initial reluctance, our son loved the club and could not wait to go go!!

There is also an air conditioned games room which has pool tables, air hockey, table tennis; a few amusement games, and computer games. There is a quiet, air conditioned peaceful bar and small gift shop at the reception area with a book swap library, comfy chairs, sofas and an internet café.

There are 2 pool bars which is open all day 8 till late, serving drinks, food, snacks etc. The standard of the food is very high and very reasonably priced with traditional breakfasts, salads, toasties, sandwiches, burgers, pizza, soup, omelettes, great pasta dishes (carbonara is lovely- huge portion for 5 euro). Childrens menu is good (Chicken Nuggets are 100% breast chunks- lovely, sausage and chips, pizza, omelette, spag bol etc). Most snack options are priced between 2.50 euros- 4.50euros. Great value! They also serve main meals in the new restaurant in the evening; fabulous Beef Stifado,Souvlaki, pork chop, pastas, ribs etc.

The Matina has a wide selection of entertainment on throughout the week, with reps night , quiz night, Karaoke (Tues and Sat- John and Helen and the entertainments team are great and always encourage new comers, but no pressure if you just want to watch the variety of singing talent on display!!) They do a BBQ Night which is very good value for money- 10 euros for an adult, 5 for kids. They have pork souvlaki (skewered kebab), chicken fillet, pork chops, sausages, burger etc along with Greek salad, chips, rice etc. The portions are excellent and food is lovely!

The highlight of the week is the Greek night on a Sunday Night, 12 euros per adult and 6 for kids. This price covers the cost of your meal and you have lots of lovely greek food on offer (Beef Stifado (Stew made with small onions in a beefy tomato sauce), moussaka etc. They also have a live band with 4 dancers who do a great job of entertaining everyone with Greek dancing and games for kids and adults.
There are plenty of small supermarkets in the resort selling everything you need on holiday incl. many British brands. There is a new, well stocked supermarket in the Matina which stocks all your essentials


Can I may add..A big thanks goes to the Pallas Family for all the hard work done during the close season of 2008 and all staff at the Matina…
Paul,Lynne,Ross,Stevenson

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

matina apartments have a big complex with lots of planting around. we were shown to our apartment which was 517 this had been the owners apartment. once inside we were pleasantly surprised at all the space and well equipted kitchen. our balcony was huge and over looked the sea. There are lots of toys and games to keep the children happy.It was lovely and quiet being the last week of the Greek holidays but think it will be noisy in the peak holiday time.The staff were all lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed at Matina Apartments from 7th to 21st of October 2009 this was our first time at Matina and we loved every minute the apartment was very clean complete with kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and two cooking rings not that you want to be bothered with cooking with so many places to eat out. Try the on site Meltemi, Smiles, Enigma, and don't miss Terpsis at the end of the village. any way back to Matina two fantastic pools plenty of sunbeds with parasols, with snack bars offering a large range of food when you dont want to prepare your own lunch wash it down with a nice cold beer. plenty of games for the kids and a really good kids pool and play area. The beach is only 50 or so yards from the reception with the cleanest sands you have ever seen again loads of sunbeds but these will cost you 8 eur. for 2 beds and 1 parasol per day, there is an on site supermarket and 2 others within 100 yards, a short walk up a slight hill and you are on the main street with dozens of restaurants/tavernas and shops.
would we go back to Matina yes, yes, yes, we love Pefkos Village and the people.
Well done Matina dont change anything, a nice site, friendly staff (from management all the way to the very nice lady who cleaned our apartment 412 whilst we were there). Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likerhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.5 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#9 of 34 in Pefkos
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalia Hotel
Thalia Hotel
#16 of 34 in Pefkos
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Address: Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pefkos
#4 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: £30 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matina Pefkos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Matina Pefkos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Aparthotel Hotel Pefkos
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing