We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adorable hotel and people”
Review of Hotel Tettola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tettola
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Saint Florent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we have been staying now for 4 years every summer at this hotel and it is just great! Very beautiful hotel, beach, rooms, swimming pool, quiet location , very good service, nice decorations, good AC , and very clean indoor and outdoor spaces. The hotel is built right on the beach and the sea view is stunning. Here everything is built/done/arranged in order to be perfect and comfortable for the tourists and every detail is cared for. Very very nice and proffesional family running the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LianaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned after 10 days at Tettola; booked a sea view room (#30) which along with room number 29, seem to be the best rooms in the hotel. The staff are absolutely charming and genuinely interested in their guest's lives and holidays, plus the hotel is kept spotlessly clean. The AC coped with the high temperatures and the room and bathroom were both enormous with a lovely outdoor balcony open to the sun and magnificent views.

The hotel is 5m from the sea and although the beach is pebbly, the water is either still as a millpond (early morning) or gently lapping during the afternoon; in addition, the sun terrace and pool area are well stocked with plenty of loungers and parasols and additional shaded areas under a tree. Not once in 10 days did we have a problem getting loungers in the sun or shade and the owners even supplied us with beach towels as we had neglected to take any with us.
Walked into St Florent each evening (about 15 minutes at strolling speed, but what a beautiful seaside walk) and there is plenty of choice café's, bars, restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Rooms 29 and 30 have the best (open) balconies with fantastic views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at Hotel Tettola. Booked a Superior room which was great. Had large bathroom with shower and bath. Balcony good size and wonderful sea view. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff who made us feel so welcome. Would recommend this Hotel to anybody. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked this hotel for our group based on the trip advisor reviews, as all were fairly positive.
Our experience started that way until I questioned the women at the front desk about a room!

After cycling for 80 km from the interior of Corsica to Saint Florent, we were looking forward to a few days by the pool.

Our group of 8 cyclists were sharing 4 rooms, which included a couple with a four year old child.

The problems all started at check in with the front desk women.

My reservation requested 3 twins and 1 double with a bed for a "small child". The double room had a crib.

When we explained we needed a room with double bed and a small bed for the child, as per the reservation, the women at the desk became slightly annoyed and even retrieved the email to show she had responded with the term "BB" meaning baby bed. I said that is fine, but we asked for a room that had a bed for a small child, not a baby.

Clearly this angered her. We then paid more for another room that had a double and a single. That problem was resolved, but this women was clearly unhappy now.

As the tour leader, I was the person who had booked the rooms and I am responsible to ensure my riders are comfortable.

Of the remaining 3 rooms, 2 were adequate and one was definitely inferior. It was almost like they had renovated a small closet as an afterthought, in order to generate more revenue. This is room #1. To be avoided at all costs.

When I questioned the women at the front desk about this room, she became very defensive and then very rude.

I simply explained that although the rooms are the same price and are supposedly superior, room #1 is definitely inferior and would it be possible to change to another room so all of my riders would be comfortable?

Her response was now downright hostile, practically yelling. How dare I question her?

I was later told by the French speaking members of the group that she said "that if we did not stop, she would throw our group out into the street" and also to threatened to "call her husband". What this threat was supposed to imply, I am not sure.

If my French had been better and I had understood what she said to us, we would have simply left and found accommodation elsewhere.

In all of my years of travels to over 110 countries, and as an airline pilot for 22 years, having stayed in thousands of hotels around the world, I have never had such an experience at any hotel. Not in China, Africa, South America or anywhere in Europe.

This is what happens when a front desk clerk, who also lives at the hotel, starts to view guests as an annoyance or nuisance, and no longer as "guests". Totally unacceptable.

Her husband did show up the next morning. He was warm, kind and jovial, and served us breakfast for the next two days of our stay. I felt sorry for this poor man. He has to live this nightmare daily.

Clearly the behavior of this women (who I assume is a live-in owner of this hotel) is not how guests are normally treated. But it was our unfortunate experience to suffer her wrath when we simply questioned the rooms that were assigned to our group.

The hotel is well located and the rest of the staff were friendly and kind; however, we will not be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid room #1 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flycycletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location-- a 10 minute walk into town, or a 30 second jaunt to the ocean. The lounge chairs were perfect to watch the incredible sunsets of Corsica with a bottle of local wine. The staff was warm and friendly, and the rooms were clean and roomy enough. A/C worked well when we needed it. Breakfast was a bit on the expensive side (12 euros per person), but there was more to chose from than your typical French breakfast of just bread (fruit, eggs, meat, cheese, bread, jam, coffee, tea).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had an amazing stay at Hotel Tettola.
First the only "bad thing" - The "Mountain View" rooms, which in the ground floor almost only let you see the car park (I cannot complain though, they are cheaper than "Sea View" ones). The room is also a bit too small, specially because it has a big table that is maybe useless and could be exchanged by more room space.
Apart from this detail, everything else was great. The owners are very nice people, and they actually show interest on where you are from and why you chose to visit them. The hotel location is just speechless. You can completely forget the swimming pool, when you have a semi-private pebble beach just 5 meters away, with the warmest water, and a magnificent view to the Corsican north coast and to the Cap Corse. Almost like paradise! Plus, you are just 15 minutes away (walking) from the small village of Saint Florent, where you can find good restaurants and a good place for a stroll (plus the boats to the Saleccia beach).
The breakfast is basic but also very nice, and you can have it in the pool area, outside.
The price is a bit too high during the Summer peaks, in my opinion, but when you make the most of it, it is really worth it!

Room Tip: Although they are more expensive, I definitely recommend the "Sea View" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiguh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel Tettola is a little gem! Nice, clean & updated rooms, well priced, a beautiful view, and one of the nicest staff that I've ever come across. It is well located, only a15min walk from the charming village of St Florent, and is direct on the beach. The owners were very helpful with directions and suggestions. They even went as far as to make dinner reservations for us. Several of the previous reviews didn't like the breakfast but I thought it was perfectly fine for €12, good assortment of food and the view from the terrace can't be beat. There is lots of parking and the hotel is perfectly quiet and tranquil. The wine region of Patrimonio is very close, 5mins down the road, and wine tasting there is great and not expensive. I would definitely return to this area of Corsica, and certainly to Hotel Tettola.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Florent hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dolce Notte
Hotel Dolce Notte
#2 of 13 in Saint Florent
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Roya
La Roya
#3 of 13 in Saint Florent
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thalassa
Hotel Thalassa
#6 of 13 in Saint Florent
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Florentine
La Florentine
#5 of 13 in Saint Florent
196 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel l'Europe
Hotel l'Europe
#7 of 13 in Saint Florent
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 13 in Saint Florent
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tettola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tettola

Address: Rd 81, 20217 Saint Florent, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Saint Florent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Florent
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Florent
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Florent
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Florent
Price Range: £74 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tettola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel Tettola a Saint-Florent en Haute-Corse, est un hotel 3 etoiles des plus remarquables avec ses chambres climatisees, sa piscine, sa plage magnifique et sa vue sur le golfe qui s'ouvre sur le Cap Corse.L'hotel est situe pres de Patrimonio, region reputee pour ses vins et ses plages d'exceptions, a proximite de Bastia. Le soir venu, vous aurez droit a de magnifiques couchers de soleil qui gratifieront vos yeux de couleurs spectaculaires. De la terrasse panoramique de la piscine, quelques marches conduisent a la plage.Les 30 chambres de l'hotel sont climatisees, tout confort. L'accueil familial, vous laissera un souvenir inoubliable... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tettola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tettola Saint Florent, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing