We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a relaxed ambiance”
Review of La Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Florentine
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Saint Florent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel. We booked it for 3 nights relaxation by the sea. We stayed in a privlege room with sea view. It was a bit expensive but well worth it! The room was very large, v.comfortable & spotlessly clean. The funiture is minimilist and classy. Our room was on the ground level with a small terrace. Breakfast was great! - it consisted of a large selection of croissants, breads, fruit, yogurts, cheeses, hams, juices & tea/coffee, :)There is a lovely loungy, poolside terrace with bar where we enjoyed watching the sun setting over the sea with a glass of wine. There is no restaurant but the staff were very happy to recommend some excellent restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2010

La Florentine is a stylish hotel with a lovely pool area and right on a shingle beach. The outside belies the beautiful interior and we had a superior room with sea view @150euros/nt and it was worth it - very spacious, nice bathroom, lovely balcony with great views and very quiet (no kids allowed in hotel). We stayed for 4 nights and wished we had booked for longer. It has a very relaxed atmosphere, with few staff on site and if you want 5 star service you would be disappointed - but for most people the ambiance more than makes up for that. The hotel is 1km from the stylish and beautiful town of St Florent and we usually drove in for lunch in one of the many good (and reasonably priced) restaurants over looking the yachts in the harbour, and stunning mountain views. We walked in/out of town in the evenings - a new wide footpath with good lighting is being constructed and may well be complete by now - in any event the walk was no trouble. St Florent is an absolute gem and is a bit like the south of France 50years ago - still commercialised but, unspoilt. La Florentine was the perfect place to stay and we will be definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CardiffZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

This was a great find. I was a bit worried because when I called to make the reservation, the person who answered the phone was rude, but the stay made up for it. I debated between this hotel and La Roya and I am so happy I chose La Florentine. The rooms are minimalist with an Asian flavor, but clean and comfortable. The location is a bit outside of St. Florent, but on the less crowded side, so you avoid the traffic. You can walk into St. Florent with no problem, but the hotel also offered to give me a ride and pick me up, if I wanted. This hotel is not really geared towards children, which made the stay by the pool very nice and relaxing, especially during high season. The owner was friendly and many of the guests shared restaurant and day trip suggestions. Definitely stay in a room with a sea view, other side looks out on a road. The hotel is not inexpensive, but it was a good location and comfortable. Was a nice end to my fabulous trip to Corsica.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank co-houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

While travelling through Italy, we decided to take the ferry for a few days in Corsica. Late notice meant not as much planning as normal, but we found availability at La Florentine just outside of the seaside village of Saint Florent.

We selected this area as it's only a 40 minute drive from Bastia (where the ferry from Livorno arrives).

While the hotel La Florentine is a nice place right on the waterfront, it is about 1 km from the village centre of Saint Florent. There isn't a restaurant at the hotel, but plenty (and plenty more) in the village. we don't mind a walk, but the road from the hotel is very poorly lit and not the most appealing walk back after a few wines.

The hotel rooms are quite modern, well equipped and the terrace overlooking the water provides a great view.

While there was a staff member available when we arrived, there didn't seem to be anyone working at the hotel most of times we went downstairs to the pool or out for the day. In fact, sometimes we put our room key on the hook next to all the other room key hooks ourself - and took it off the hook ourself when we returned. Pretty casual really, but glad there was a safe in the room.

a beautiful pool deck and water front location allowed us to lay back and relax for a while, while also tackling the amazing hills for a drive to the larger town of Cavil.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We booked in for our wedding anniversary. Rooms facing the sea have lovely views over the Golfe de St. Florent and surrounding mountains and the hotel is good for couples. B and B only , and bar service can be sporadic, but the pool, pebbly beach and veranda is well organised and v. pleasant for relaxing. A good breakfast was provided, and St. Florent with its marina and restaurants was just a short walk away. Thought given to details. Very laid-back atmosphere and the rooms are both clean and comfortable with good showers, air con and a fridge. Staff were very helpful. Some English spoken when particular staff on duty, but knowledge of other languages would be useful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosalindLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We stayed at this hotel in June 2007. We had a very spacious seaview room with an incredible balcony / terrasse accommodating table, chairs, longchairs with beautiful views overlooking beautiful swimmingpool area and sea. Very romantic for evening drinks! The hotel was recently refurbished and the rooms are decorated with high quality wood furniture and oil paintings, very tasteful. The downsides: cleanliness of rooms which absolutely needs to be improved, no restaurant on site (June 2007), airconditioning not working.
We understand that this hotel recently re-opened and it will be a great place to stay once everything is in perfect running order. Despite a few deficiencies, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ninagenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: privilegekamer met uitzicht op zee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vago21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Florent
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dolce Notte
Hotel Dolce Notte
#2 of 13 in Saint Florent
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tettola
Hotel Tettola
#4 of 13 in Saint Florent
327 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Roya
La Roya
#3 of 13 in Saint Florent
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel l'Europe
Hotel l'Europe
#7 of 13 in Saint Florent
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Demeure Loredana
Demeure Loredana
#1 of 13 in Saint Florent
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Florentine

Address: Lieu-dit Tettola, Route du Bord de Mer, 20217 Saint Florent, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Saint Florent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Florent
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Florent
Price Range: £105 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Florentine 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Gulf of Saint-Florent, this hotel offers a private beach with loungers and parasols. You can borrow a bicycle to explore the area or relax in the outdoor pool or the hot tub.The rooms at La Florentine are decorated in a contemporary style and feature a private balcony. They also include air conditioning, an LCD TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries.A buffet breakfast is served each morning in the dining room or on the terrace. You can also enjoy drinks and snacks at the hotel bar.You can read the local press at the reception 24h/24 before exploring the city of Bastia(25km away) or l'Ile Rousse(45mn). Private parking is available on site and L'Île-Rousse is 45 minutes. The hotel organizes boat trips to secluded beaches (subject to weather conditions and availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Florentine Saint Florent, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing