We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel with modern rooms”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Saint Florent
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Central hotel with modern rooms”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here late August for 3 nights as a base to explore the Cap Corse and Balagne region. We chose the hotel because of its modern rooms, location and onsite parking.

The location is very good - just a few minutes walk to the main attractions in St Florent.

The room was modern (recently refurbished I believe) and looked just like the pictures online. There was a small balcony, albeit not much of a vue. The room had free wifi and cable TV (all French channels though).

The bed and lines were comfortable, and the room was fairly quiet. There was shutters on the window so you can get the room nice and dark.

There's a small (free) car park at the hotel, and luckily we always got a space, altho I can foresee people not always being so lucky.

Service was friendly. We didn't go for the breakfast as thought was expensive - there's plenty of nice places in St Florent that do a continental breakfast for 5-7 euros.

The only disappointment was that the bathroom was not 100 per cent clean on check in - the odd hair on the floor.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    36
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
16
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Corsica is beautiful, the only thing you should know is: Corsican like to be among themselves. The friendliness of the staff at this hotel is outstanding. Compliments. I can suggest this hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: Booked a standard, which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExploreBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is located 10 minutes from the center of the small village of Saint Florent with dining and shopping facilities. The hotel provides some free bikes to use, with which you can get to a nice beach in a couple of minutes (which would be 30 minutes by walk). The room was very simple and modestly decorated. Overall, it has a good value for money in Corsican terms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A small hotel on the outskirts of this small town in South Corsica. We stayed for a couple of nights. The reception staff spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. Facilities at the hotel were rather limited compared to some other 3-star hotels in the vicinity - no full dining facilities (although breakfast was available), and no pool or bar although these facilities were not much missed as there are many restaurants/bars within walking distance in the Saint Florent centre and marina. The rooms are clean and seemed recently renovated. Beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were larger than average, some had terraces with partial sea views. One downside was the bath shower which when used, even carefully, resulted in a very wet bathroom floor! This could be avoided by taking a bath but was rather inconvenient. Overall around average for a French 3-star hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel with partial sea views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malestroit, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

A lovely hotel, beautifully decorated, air-con that works even in September.
Only a 3-star rating but worth every one.
Resort itself nice and compact though some steep climbs from centre to hotel so may not suit anyone with walking difficulties
Town centre lively but laid back, with shops, bars and more restaurants than you will need at fairly reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anglo_french419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We have just returned from a week in this hotel, which we found overall to be good value and in an excellent position for access to the whole of the north of the island.
Generally, hotels in Corsica seem to us to be very expensive, on a par with Taormina in Sicily for example. St. Florent is a delightful town with great character, including a town square where the men play boules in the evening and many bikers congregate. The hotel is at the top of the short hill on the main road out of the town going towards Cap Corse and Bastia, so the road is very busy in the daytime and there is considerable noise. However, it does quieten right down at night, so you can have the window open. Otherwise there is air-conditioning, but it’s quite noisy.

The bed was very comfortable and no complaints about the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. There was a proper bath as well. Towels were white and fluffy and changed every day, however the basic toiletries were not replaced, so take your own. The toilet paper comes in a roll, which doesn’t have a centre, so you have to impale it on a spike type holder! The tissue box in the bathroom was empty and no tissues were provided. There was no bidet.

The balcony was very small, just about room for a chair, but the view towards the port was lovely. There is no swimming pool, but guests are allowed to use the pool of the hotel opposite (Bellevue) and their bar as well, so that was not a problem.

The TV is very small and there were only programmes in French, no CNN or BBC World, but it didn’t bother us as we had not come to watch TV! The staff were very polite, but they do not speak English at all. Fortunately I speak French, but if you don’t, bear this in mind. Corsican is very like Italian, so you would no doubt be understood in Italian.

There is no fridge or mini-bar and there are no proper glasses provided, only very flimsy plastic cups, which break straight away, so take your own plastic tumblers.
Also, there was no mirror apart from the small one in the bathroom, above the sink. It would have been nice to have one in the bedroom as well.

One word of warning, do not have breakfast at the hotel, as it costs €10 per person and is only (stale) bread, croissants, cornflakes, coffee and orange juice and natural yogurt. If you stroll down the road to the main square you can get “Petit Déjeuner Complet” at the café on the right with a green awning for €6 each and it includes fresh bread, croissants, jam in pots, orange juice and fresh fruit salad with coffee, tea or chocolate. For even better value, go to the Bar de L’Europe at the far end of the square and €6.70 you get all of that but larger portions and nice big cups of coffee!

Don’t expect luxury but for a good, clean base from which to explore, it does the job.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2005

We spent a couple of nights in St-Florent, as our base for discovering the Cap Corse. We stayed at Hotel Santa-Maria: nothing fancy, but nice and clean.

The room was ok, and so was the bed.

We liked the location of the Santa-Maria: a short walk from the marina and its restaurants. But what did it for us is the "boulangerie" and the grocery store nearby: we'd wake up, get some fresh croissants, fruits, yogourt, and have breakfast on our room's balcony!

Helpful?
18 Thank bucheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Florent hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Thalassa
Hotel Thalassa
#6 of 14 in Saint Florent
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tettola
Hotel Tettola
#2 of 14 in Saint Florent
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Demeure Loredana
Demeure Loredana
#1 of 14 in Saint Florent
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Florentine
La Florentine
#5 of 14 in Saint Florent
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#9 of 14 in Saint Florent
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Roya
La Roya
#4 of 14 in Saint Florent
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Montee du Cisternino, 20217 Saint Florent, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Saint Florent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Saint Florent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Hotel Santa Maria Saint Florent, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing