We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Basic needs' - Could be much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'Basic needs' - Could be much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Great site for very special mountain views.
Really like the feel of the place but think there hasnt been much attention to detail during room services and grounds maintence that really lets it down.

My suggested areas of attention below,
Reception should be uncluttered & dusted
Towels are not stained,plates not chipped
Investigate ways to make towels less stiff
Sweep verandah,replace teabags/coffee daily, Ensure sufficient plates cups cutlery
Freshen rooms with natural oils ie lavender or eucalyptus.

Pool- paint & seal pool areas
More shade or umbrellas

Grounds-Remove dead leaves & branches
Wipper snip around units, plant fruit trees

Rather than charge bbq- should sell frozen meat (profit) or homemade sweets from area?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadlesstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    64
    24
    16
    29
See reviews for
71
63
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed only one night at Te Aroha Holiday Park at Cottage Poppy. We found it to be a cute quirky little cottage that suited our needs exactly. It was clean, plenty of towels, comfy bed, great shower. It was well equipped with kitchen amenties and also a good tv. Even a little vase of flowers which was a nice cheery welcome! We would certainly return to the camp.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dooleysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Te Aroha is a wonderful town to visit so I wanted to show it off to some Japanese friends of mine. Decided to do it the kiwi way and stay in a tent so booked to stay at the holiday park (the only one in the town). We turned up a bit early but as we were staying in a tent I figured it would be ok (not like they needed to make the bed for us or anything).
When we provided the owner with our booking confirmation she told us that she didn't have any record of our booking. We had booked this several days before and had the confirmation email and number to prove it. So after that was settled we were told that if we wanted to check in now that would be an additional $20.
Deciding that we didn't want to pay the extra we went back to Te Aroha for an hour before returning to the holiday park. This time there was a helpful member of the staff who attended to us. Surprise surprise she found our booking with no worries and advised us on where we were allowed to set up the tent. As we were about to move the car to our selected site the owner comes across and says that we are not allowed to pitch the tent in our selected spot (beside two other tents) and we had to go to the otherwise of the park away from all the facilities!!!
I was so shocked at her treatment towards myself and my friends.
If you wish to stay in the area drive the 30 odd minutes to Matamata and stay there.
Avoid the Te Aroha holiday park like the plague and have an enjoyable holiday somewhere where you are not treated like something found on the bottom of a shoe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies, if upon your arrival, you found reception unacceptable. As you arrived very early, our guest arrival ' s list had not been prepared, but I am pleased to read that you were later satisfied with check in procedures. Our check in time is 2 pm, early check in (after 10 am) is possible, if we have your room ready or in the case of camping, if you don't mind waiting for communal facilities to be cleaned. In any case a surcharge applies and I am sorry that this was not made clear to you at the time of your booking. We have 2 separate types of camping sites, powered and unpowered sites. Your booking was for an unpowered site which is situated in a different area to the powered sites. Both tenting guests and campervan guests can use these sites. My apologies again, I should have explained to you that for a small surcharge of $ 3 you could have upgraded your existing unpowered site to the one you had chosen for that day. I can understand that you were dissapointed when you could not pitch your tent at the pitch you had in mind. I really hope you can come back some other time and give us another chance to please you and your friends in our usual way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Aroha hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I really enjoyed coming here. Anna and the girls were lovely and approachable, even after hours! I stayed in a caravan the first night, and although small made me feel like I was truly on holiday! The 2nd night was spent in the Acorn Cabin, which I thought had everything I needed and only a quick hop skip n jump to the bathrooms/showers and swimming pool/rock pool. The pools had the most exquisite view of Te Aroha Mountain, after travelling various parts of the world was one of the best views from a pool I've had. The bathrooms & communal kitchen were exceptionally clean. I liked the fact that many people came in late afternoon and left early morning to continue their travel so the place was quiet during the day which was lovely. I'm planning to come back down from Auckland for a weekend at the end of January I enjoyed the serenity and realness of it all so much. Thanks Anna...Kirstie

Room Tip: The cabins are great value if you're going in the colder months or if you want to chill and watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydeney
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

The cabin we stayed in was very small and smelled musty. It lacked blankets and linen. Cooking facilities were good but the fridge was off when we arrived. A handtowell was a rag.
To use the BBQ there was a $10 charge. The thermal pool had restricted time use. The swimming pool was ols and unkept, but useable. The play park I would regard as good but dangerous. Definite supervision and judgement needed. The other patrons were really good to talk to and that was the most enjoyable aspect of this place. We met some very interesting people at the thermal pool. If you are on a budget it's would be good, just know the cabin you're getting. Some looked very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We did the booking for nice and cute room, nice pictures, nice description on your hotels.com webiste. We just get a 20 years old CARAVAN without water, toilet, shower....

You can check some pictures on Tripadvisor!!!

I will only say that it's nice place if you have to go with your own tent.

Out of the city (small village).

Room Tip: Never rent the Salomon Caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Flo-1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

i have visited this camp many times
I have found service to tops
The camp and cabins well presented well equipped and a wonderful place to stay
Improvements are continuing to be done the latest is a neat adventure playground for
the kids
I will return again next year

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Aroha
1.8 mi away
The Nunnery
The Nunnery
#2 of 4 in Te Aroha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
16.7 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
12.0 mi away
Central Motor Lodge
Central Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Morrinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Horse and Jockey Inn
Horse and Jockey Inn
#5 of 7 in Matamata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
18.2 mi away
O'Reilly's Motel
O'Reilly's Motel
#5 of 5 in Matamata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers

Property: Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Address: 217 Stanley Road South | R.D.1, Te Aroha 3391, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Te Aroha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selection of different accommodation types, ranging from backpackers Cabins to modern apartments. Lots of privacy and space provided in this rural park, grazing farm animals surround this peaceful setting with uninterrupted mountain views. Free of charge WiFi and Hot pool on site operating in the evening. Cottages and Cabins with linen supplied to all double beds. Fantastic playground on tree-swings, flying fox, pedal go-karts. Choose us if you like the quiet countryside, only a short 3 minutes drive from Te Aroha coffee-shops and restaurants. Holiday Park with adventure playground, flying fox,tree swings, out of the ordinary. Motel type Cottages, Cabins and Backpacker caravans for the budget traveller. In addition we also offer camping sites, communal kitchen and showers plus toilets for those guests who prefer private cabins or caravans. Cook a Bar-be-que under our oak trees, use our special alfresco pool with hot mineral water, open all year between 6.30 Pm - 8.30 Pm under an umbrella of sparkling New Zealand stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing