We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst camping experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Auckland
1 review
“Worst camping experience ever”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Want to enjoy a camp with your family and friends, DO NOT visit here. Want your kids to enjoy the amenities and play area without being advised of unwritten rules, DO NOT visit here. Want to enjoy a charcoal bbq after it was cleared by the hostess before arrival, DO NOT visit here. If you enjoy dead flies in the kitchen and a swimming pool that's not operational in March then stay here. This place is an absolute joke.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnhappyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your family had a bad experience here over Easter. The playgrounds at the Te Aroha Holiday Park are not ordinary, comprising long ropes, a tree hut, high level flying fox and swings from tall branches. I prefer not to clutter my park with written rules as in most cases customers use common sense and consideration. I encourage parents to instruct their children how to use the equipmment, even play with their children, it is a pleasure to be enjoyed for the whole family. However if I see young children unsupervised, either getting into dangerous situations or acting in a way that causes damage to equipment or facilities I will have to talk to those involved. At the time of your visit a ban on all open fires was in force, issued by our local council. Unfortunately this included your coal fired BBQ, and I had hoped that you were satisfied when I installed the Gas operated BBQ at your site at the time this warning was in place. Flies can be a problem with high humidity and the grazing farm animals surrounding the Park. Increased frequency of automatic fly spray dispensers and the onset of cooler temperatures has since reduced that problem considerably. I do hope you get a chance to come back one day and apologise that I did not take sufficient time when you first arrived to instruct you all on rules and regulations applicable at this Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    65
    26
    16
    30
See reviews for
73
65
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taumarunui
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We were a group of 8 from a tramping club who used the holiday park as a base to do a day walk up Mt Te Aroha and down the Wairongamai Valley. We used 2 flats which were clean and tidy. They had all the basic amenities for our needs. Were able to park next to the flats for access. For the 2 night stay it cost us about $53 a person which was affordable for our budget. On the Saturday evening we had a nice meal at the Te Aroha RSA. Quick, friendly service, good choice of food, nicely presented and good sized servings.
The holiday park is in a good location with just a short drive from Te Aroha township.

Room Tip: Flat 1 has 2 seperate bedrooms. Flat 2 is more open plan and would suit groups or families that do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTrampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The holiday park is 2kms out of town and we were there to cycle the Hauraki Rail Trail so easy to cope with extra kms! It's a beautiful setting underneath Te Aroha Mountain. We stayed 3N at Poppy Cottage in a quiet corner of the property with an outdoor spa pool next door. Unfortunately we were told it was not available for use. The swimming pool area is very neglected but would be great if it was revamped. The grass tennis court is overgrown and unusable. The photos online of Poppy Cottage are misleading as the bright poppy curtains and bedspread were replaced with shabby brown curtains hanging off the tracks and a stained grey bed cover. The dead flowers in the kitchen jug made the place smell on arrival and if we hadn't prepaid we would have gone somewhere else. There is a small area in the cottage for luggage with 1 coat hanger, shelves and drawers. The unit has a brand new TV, an excellent shower, a good sized fridge and new kettle. The crockery is chipped. The towels are threadbare and shabby. There is no dish washing brush - just a rag for dishes and the bench. So bring your own! The insect dispenser was faulty so suggest you bring insect repellant/fly spray as on hot nights, the little critters are everywhere, along with wasps. The bed is soft but surprisingly comfortable and we slept well - maybe it was the 80kms bike ride to Paeroa and Waikino followed the next day by a climb up Te Aroha. There is a great outdoor confidence course within the grounds which would be fun for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your detailed constructive suggestions. I am glad you liked the comfortable bed and our adventure playground. I have now replaced the dinner plate with the chip and will make sure that future guests are better informed about the opening times of our SPA and Rock pools. My apologies that this information was somehow missed during your visit. The SPA pool, adjacent to Poppy Cottage is open all day @ $ 15 (30 min /2p) and the Rock pool most nights (weather dependant) in the evenings free of charge. I will update the photo featuring the darker curtains, which incidently replaced our previous flowery and brighter version in order to provide improved screening from the bright morning sunlight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is a charming, simple & quiet campground. We had a large tent & took our wee Westie and had a perfect spot under a huge plane tree. Just lovely. Large, flat & clean site.
My son just loved the adventure playground - even I had a go! He also had a blast on the bike around the grounds. There is a flying fox still under construction which looks as though it's going to be amazing when it's finished.
Majestic view of Mt Aroha & the sunsets made everything glow. The neighing of the horses in the field next door were a pleasure to wake up to.
The kitchen & bathrooms were spotless - even the toilet paper was thick!
We didn't end up using the pools.

Room Tip: 2 areas of campsites - one that's dog-friendly on one side of the amenities, which is probably c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The cabin was quaint and small. It was hot to start but we acclimatised quickly. The park is a short drive south of the town. There is a kitchen where you can cook meals, and the cabin we stayed in had a small fridge with a small freezer, bunks and a queen bed. There was a tv set on a set of drawers, inside the drawers there were cooking and eating implements. I bought my own cooking and eating implements though. The floor was floorboards. There is free wifi but vouchers expire and we didn't like to continue to ask for more vouchers. Access to the wifi was slow without the vouchers, but we made do with the NZ sim. Toilets and showers were clean and never a wait for them, and most of the time the water was hot, once the water was cold but that was fixed quickly. As the park is out of town we experienced a couple of water outages, I believe the park relies on a tank, that issue was rectified quickly too. The washing machines were good, and there was a dryer and a clothes line. There was a piano and pool room, and kids can use an adventure playground which has swings, and a trampoline. The gardens are well kept, but walk around in shoes or thongs because there are many acorns on the ground. The oak trees are tall and magnificent. The staff are friendly and always willing to help. There are a number of long term campers who were also more than willing to offer assistance if needed. We did not try the hot pools unfortunately, but we did go to a hot pool at Tokaanu which is a bit more than a two hour drive south of Te Aroha. In the township of Te Aroha there is a hot pool facility also. There is a Countdown supermarket in town. We also did a walk to Wairere Falls which looks like a forest something out of Lord of the Rings, and driving past Paeroa towards the beach there is an amazing drive through a gorge. Waihi Beach is well worth a look at and less than a one hour drive from the park.

Room Tip: If you want access to a private kitchenette and shower you will need to spend a bit more than we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nells-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We were looking for a last minute B&B for a pre Waitangi Day break away and found this little gem 2 kms south of town. Poppy Cottage in Te Aroha Park was perfect.. a small but perfectly formed converted cabin, with a comfy bed, excellent shower, kitchen facilities and even a little dressing room and outside deck.
The little touches of a vase of pretty blue hydrangers and all the windows open on our arrival made us feel very welcome. Anna and her family were helpful and suggested eateries and activities.
There was no sign of any bugs or spiders in the rooms and the bedding smelt fresh and sweetly of sun-dried and aired linen.
We were planning on spending about $140 for a B&B in town, but at a special of $61 we felt we'd hit the jackpot. Even at the normal rate of $80/night, Poppy Cottage is a gem. The property was very quiet.
There was a spa very close to our unit for our use @$15 for 1/2 an hour, but we didn't use it.. maybe next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margot_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We loved staying at the Te Aroha Holiday Park in our camper in a delightful site under the trees with a very lovely view of the bush clad hills. The toilets and showers were very very clean and tidy.We want to bring the grandchildren to visit as they would love the various adventure playground and swimming pools. We looked at one of the cabins and what a cutee, all that you would need and delightful polished floors. So very happy and look forward to our next visit.
Jazelle and Peter

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Aroha
16.7 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
10.2 mi away
Oak Lane Lodge
Oak Lane Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrinsville
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Nunnery
The Nunnery
#1 of 4 in Te Aroha
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers

Property: Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Address: 217 Stanley Road South | R.D.1, Te Aroha 3391, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Te Aroha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selection of different accommodation types, ranging from backpackers Cabins to modern apartments. Lots of privacy and space provided in this rural park, grazing farm animals surround this peaceful setting with uninterrupted mountain views. Free of charge WiFi and Hot pool on site operating in the evening. Cottages and Cabins with linen supplied to all double beds. Fantastic playground on tree-swings, flying fox, pedal go-karts. Choose us if you like the quiet countryside, only a short 3 minutes drive from Te Aroha coffee-shops and restaurants. Holiday Park with adventure playground, flying fox,tree swings, out of the ordinary. Motel type Cottages, Cabins and Backpacker caravans for the budget traveller. In addition we also offer camping sites, communal kitchen and showers plus toilets for those guests who prefer private cabins or caravans. Cook a Bar-be-que under our oak trees, use our special alfresco pool with hot mineral water, open all year between 6.30 Pm - 8.30 Pm under an umbrella of sparkling New Zealand stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing