We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place doesn't live up to its potential. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place doesn't live up to its potential. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Needs some TLC and tidying up.
Trees are hanging down making it hard to safely park a Motorhome under.
Even driving through the gate there is foliage overhanging. The reception area is scruffy, and the swimming pool hasn't had water in it for some time.
On the plus side the playground has potential and looks like it's had some maintenance done recently.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mypandabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you, Rosalie for your review. When we saw your beautiful tall motorhome navigating through the canopy of mature trees here, we realised that some of the branches were hanging a bit low, and thank you for bringing this to my attention last Friday when you checked in and apologies that it has made it a bit difficult for you initially. Good news is that last week, an Arborist spend the entire day driving along on a special mobile ladder ( called a giraffe) and pruned everything that could potentially be in the way of a travelling motorhome, whilst still leaving plenty of leaves to provide shade. Our large swimming pool is undergoing renovations but the small hot pool is in operation every night ( weather permitting).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    64
    24
    16
    29
See reviews for
71
63
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My kids, (8, 6 and 3) really enjoyed their stay here and would love to come again. There was loads for them to do which gave me some lovely down time too. The flying fox is awesome! The cabin we stayed in was cosy, quiet and good value. A very family friendly, relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Te Aroha Holiday Park is an excellent value camping ground. Mostly we love that the owners are okay with families like ours that have dogs and even have a paddock out the back for off lead running around. The amenities are excellent (incl the lovely pool and great flying-fox!). Also Te Aroha is a really sweet town, with no big-box stores and great mountain-bike trails.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Hi there Chris B. Thank you for your review of your stay at Te Aroha Holiday Park. We are pleased you liked the fact that your children could entertain themselves while you enjoyed piece and quiet and observing the grazing farm animals. Can't wait to have you back again. Best wishes, Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We booked Apple Cottage and a Family Flat at Te Aroha Holiday Park and had a great four night stay. The accommodation was clean, well equipped and great value and the playground was a real hit with our two children (aged 7 and 4) who spent hours outside. The summer pool was popular too. We found it a great base to explore Karangahake Gorge and Waihi. The owners were really helpful and let us know quickly when we left something valuable behind and communication was great. A really enjoyable stay, thanks very much.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Sarah U. Apple Cottage and the Family Flat at Te Aroha Holiday Park are an ideal combination for family groups, offering privacy in the Cottage and space for families in the larger flat. I will also pass your compliments on to our great summer cleaning staff. Best wishes, Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our kids really loved the playground and spent hours just to play there, we stayed there for three nights and really enjoyed every single night when we were there. Our cottage was nicely tucked in (and right next to the horse paddock, giving it more 'farm' feeling) that made it nice and quite, away from hustling and bustling.
The room inside was clean and tidy, bathroom was the main thing for us and it was clean (free of funny smell).
Anna was a lovely host and hard worker (she was always busy doing something, trying to keep the ground neat & tidy).

last but not least, our dog 'Pepper' really enjoyed his stay in Te Aroha Holiday Park as well : )

Thanks Anna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernades32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed one night in the cute and cosy Poppy Cottage. It was brilliant, much better value and with loads more character than a motel room. It had everything we needed, such as kitchenette and bathroom with a great shower. Loved the little touches like fresh flowers and an old fashioned crochet blanket. We have already recommended it to friends and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in one of the tourist flats , 2 adults , and teenager and two younger teenagers. The Flat was well appointed with a double bedroom , another room with two single beds for the boys and a fold out bed in the kitchen - lounge area..There's lots of storage and cupboard space , an oven,microwave,TV,fridge and freezer , and a nice hot shower.The kids used the pool , pool table , adventure playground and flying fox and had a game of cricket on the grass area. The adventure playground and Flying Fox is the best I've seen at a campground.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Aroha
1.8 mi away
The Nunnery
The Nunnery
#2 of 4 in Te Aroha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
16.7 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
12.0 mi away
Central Motor Lodge
Central Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Morrinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Horse and Jockey Inn
Horse and Jockey Inn
#5 of 7 in Matamata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
18.2 mi away
O'Reilly's Motel
O'Reilly's Motel
#5 of 5 in Matamata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers

Property: Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Address: 217 Stanley Road South | R.D.1, Te Aroha 3391, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Te Aroha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selection of different accommodation types, ranging from backpackers Cabins to modern apartments. Lots of privacy and space provided in this rural park, grazing farm animals surround this peaceful setting with uninterrupted mountain views. Free of charge WiFi and Hot pool on site operating in the evening. Cottages and Cabins with linen supplied to all double beds. Fantastic playground on tree-swings, flying fox, pedal go-karts. Choose us if you like the quiet countryside, only a short 3 minutes drive from Te Aroha coffee-shops and restaurants. Holiday Park with adventure playground, flying fox,tree swings, out of the ordinary. Motel type Cottages, Cabins and Backpacker caravans for the budget traveller. In addition we also offer camping sites, communal kitchen and showers plus toilets for those guests who prefer private cabins or caravans. Cook a Bar-be-que under our oak trees, use our special alfresco pool with hot mineral water, open all year between 6.30 Pm - 8.30 Pm under an umbrella of sparkling New Zealand stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing