We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtley Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savannah Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Turtley Excellent”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Please note that this review is only of the hotel and its facilities, not the rep, trips, airport or island. If you would like any information about these things, please contact me directly and I will be happy to help.

The trips we went on are: Atlantis Submarine (day), Atlantis Submarine (night), Island 4x4 safari, Powerboat adventure.

The check in to the hotel was easy enough and we were shown to our room. Our bags arrived instantly. We had just booked the standard kingsized court yard rooms. The room was very comfortable both in terms of the bed and the sofa that was also in there. The wardrobe is large enough and there are lots of drawers for storage. A fridge, kettle and ice bucket are also available. The balcony is of a large size and has very comfortable furniture, power sockets and a towel rail.

Rachel’s is your option for breakfast every day and is buffet style. There is the usual array of fruit, cold meat as a continental breakfast, or help yourself to bacon, scrambled eggs, baked beans, potatoes etc. If none of that is what you are looking for there are cereals, juice, and an egg station where you can request omelettes, poached, fried or boiled eggs which are cooked to your liking.

Drifter’s is your option for lunch every day and is also buffet style. There are many foods on offer which vary every day and there is more than enough choice to keep anyone happy. There are always hot dogs, burgers, French fries, soup and plenty of salad available.

For your evening meal, you can choose either Drifter’s or Rachel’s. Rachels is either buffet or A La Carte depending on the day. Once again, there is always plenty of different choices for the buffet option. The a La Carte menu varies but there is plenty of choice to suit everyone. Drifter’s is buffet in the evening and there is plenty to choose from.

The staff in the hotel are always very friendly and will always speak, special mentions are for:

Tracia – Food and Beverages Manager
Tyrone – Restaurant Manager
Nicholas – Reception
Keitha – Waitress/Bar staff
The Sun Bed man

The staff in the hotel work very hard and if you tell them about a complaint, they will address it very quickly. For example, our air conditioning stopped working one day. I mentioned it to reception, they got the maintenance man in who identified that it could not be fixed that day and we were moved to another room the same day.

There is entertainment available most nights in the bar, but it finishes at around 10:30pm. The entertainment is of a good standard and is just the right level for the hotel. Do not expect massive discos or the pyramid stage from Glastonbury.

The beech is a very relaxing place to lie, a light breeze will keep the temperatures to a reasonable level. If you are lucky you will sometimes see turtles popping their heads above the water to grab some air before diving down again. The sea infront of the hotel has a reef so is very rocky – you will need beach/sea shoes. Some people do not like this but the water is very shallow and has an amazing amount of animals such as puffa fish, sea snails, muddy eels. It is fantastic for snorkelling despite only being knee deep.

The sunbeds are very comfortable for chilling out on and soaking up the rays. Beech towels are provided in the rooms (1 per guest) and are changed on given days.

I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel. It is a small compact hotel with a fair few stairs but is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SparrowLegs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    535
    165
    41
    40
See reviews for
439
800
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel represents good value for money

Rooms are tired, particularly bathrooms

Food was good especially when Rachel's restaurant was not having buffet

Some things I expected more on (went for club package)

Mini bar only replenished every 2 days

Only option was buffet a few nights a week


Towels only replaced every 2 days.


If these issues could be addressed my opinion is holiday would be a little more pleasant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank billy12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is defiantly not worth the money! Stayed here for our honeymoon, what a waste, we upgraded to a pool access room and we didn't use the pool due to it being dirty and you couldn't see the bottom (both pools were like this) our room was damp, spelt of urine and infested with ants. When we asked to move rooms we were told there was none available even though the hotel was only half full. The towels we were given daily had holes in! We did pay to upgrade, the only good thing we got was comfy sunbeds but the decking area was filthy, it was not cleaned at all, we didn't get butler service everyday as paid for and to be honest it ruined what should have been the holiday of a lifetime! There is no entertainment in this hotel! A couple of bands a week and that finishes at 10pm then the hotel is silent, no background music nothing! We spoke to a lot of people staying at this hotel many in their 60's and 70's even they said it was boring! I don't know who this hotel is aimed at, as they couldn't get it more wrong, people go away to have a good time not go to bed at 10pm! Most mornings we were woken up by drilling as the childrens play area was being done up...the whole 2 weeks was a shambles! The restaurant you have to book a time slot but when you get there on time we had to wait up to half an hour to get seated! The food was nice and I understand that the caribbean way of life is slow but this really was a joke! I had to ask 5 times for a glass of wine before I got 1! At the bar when they run out of glasses rater than washing some up my wine was given to me in a tumbler or pint glass...whatever was laying around! A lot of staff employed at the hotel but mostly they just stand around! The person who runs this hotel really needs to open their eyes! I don't know how this hotel is a 3star plus! Would I recommend this hotel? Not even to my 80 year old nan.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Clacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Clacket,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We deeply regret that you had a less than enjoyable holiday with us, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. The detailed account that you have shared is valuable, as it allows us to address the specific challenges you highlighted. We intend to get with our managers and team to identify why the service you received was below the standard that we train our staff to deliver and maintain. It is our promise to you to examine the shortfalls in service you described, and to implement improvements that will prevent future guest inconvenience.

As we are a family oriented hotel we try to cater to all our guests by providing live entertainment that starts and ends at a considerate time. For our guests who opt to stay up later, we provide Drifters Beach Bar which serves beverages and cocktails until 1.30am with piped music for their enjoyment. Although most guests enjoy our manager's weekly BBQ, live DJs, live bands, live belly dancing and floor show, we will discuss what modifications can be added to this line-up.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to correct these challenges so that we may better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at this resort from the 10/11/13 -13/11\12 for 3 nights prior to going on a cruise. It was our 25th wedding anniversary on the 12th and we renewed our vows on the beach. The organisation of this was faultless and everything possible had been done to make sure that our renewal made our special day truly memorable and stress free. A special thanks to Judy Agard , wedding co-ordinator for all she did.
On arrival we were delighted to find we had been upgraded to one of the pool access rooms.The room was lovely,the bed was massive and made the room feel very romantic .The views down from the courtyard to the beach are stunning, this really is a pretty resort
The whole hotel including dining areas were very clean and all the staff were welcoming. Some reviewers have made comments about the birds at drifters, we did not find this a problem. This bar is directly adjacent to the beach and surrounded by beautiful palms and other trees . I don't know what more the hotel could do about the birds as it is their natural habitat, maybe guests should be more realistic about this and accept it as part of the bars natural charm.
I would a 100% recommend this resort to anyone wanting to experience a laid back, friendly atmosphere in beautiful surroundings. (the all inc cocktails were good too!]

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sashton68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife (Donna) & I stayed at the Savannah Beach for 2 weeks between 04/11/2013 – 18/11/2012

HOTEL – The hotel is divided between the older ‘Plantation House’ building and the newer Sapphire, Diamond, Ruby & Emerald wings but still manages to have a nice & friendly atmosphere about the place. Upon arrival, don’t be put off by the first impressions of the hotel, yes it is set on a road but once you get to the newer buildings you can hardly hear the traffic. The hotel is set on a stretch of beach which it shares with the Hilton & Amaryllis Hotels.
The guests when we were there were locals, Scottish (us), English and a few Americans - a nice mix really.

ROOMS – We had booked a room in the ‘Plantation House’, on an All Inclusive basis, but when we checked in we were ‘upgraded’ to room 451 in the Sapphire wing. The room was spacious with a four poster king sized bed, shower/bath, fridge, large flat screen TV, tea/coffee facilities, iron/board and a balcony overlooking the courtyard area plus Rachel’s & Chop Stix restaurants. The room was cleaned on a daily basis - and the maid kept our room nice and tidy each day for us.

FOOD - All the meals were served in either the a la carte restaurant ‘Rachel’s’ (Bajan & international – which also had a buffet night during the week), ‘Drifters’ (buffet) or ‘Chop Stix’ (Japanese fusion). The a la carte restaurant could be booked up to three days before in advance (or the same day if you preferred) – no major issues for us on that part as we tended to book the next days restaurant either before going for breakfast at 07:00 am or when we had finished breakfast. In fact our first meal at the hotel was in ‘Rachel’s’ an hour after our arrival – what a way to start the holiday – absolutely fantastic.
In fact the food in all the restaurants was fine for the two weeks we were there and one thing is sure, you would never starve at this hotel (we preferred using the a la carte restaurant in the evenings)
If you wanted to have something local that wasn’t on the menu with/for your evening meal, put in a request when booking your place at the restaurant & they will try to accommodate you – we had a conversation regarding breadfruit with the head chef & waitress – to our surprise, we were served several breadfruit dishes the following evening

Breakfast – served in ‘Rachel’s Restaurant’ - eggs made to order, omelettes, fry up, toast, cereals, yoghurt, fruit etc.

Lunch – served in ‘Drifters Restaurant’ and was buffet style lunch which always had a meat which was carved for you or you could have burgers, fish, fries etc.

Evening meals – either served in ‘Rachel’s Restaurant’ which was a la carte most nights & a buffet night or ‘Drifters Restaurant’ which was the buffet restaurant if you didn’t want to get dressed up at night or ‘Chop Stix’ which was a Japanese fusion - there was a ‘surcharge’ of BDS$25 per person (US$12.50) here but in our opinion it was worth it for a change of scenery – previous reviewers had commented on this ‘never’ being open – well if people don’t want to spend a mere BDS$25 to book it then they won’t open it will they!

DRINKS - As we were All Inclusive, the drinks were fine for us – in the evenings a Banks beer for Donna & I, a few rums or two for me and cocktails for Donna but during the day as it was so hot we usually stuck to soft drinks – Coke, Diet Coke, etc all of which quenched our thirsts by the pool or on the beach.
There was also a drinks dispenser by the side of ‘Drifters Restaurant’ where you could get soft drinks/water if you wanted them
There is also a swim up bar to the side of ‘Drifter’s’ if you don’t want to get out of the water
Plus if you are on the beach the waiter7waitresses will come along and take your drinks orders for you – this service is open to all not just the guests who booked the ‘Club’ package

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT - The entertainment was on every night – local singers, karaoke etc.
There is also a weekly Manager’s Cocktail Party, which is a good opportunity to meet the Manager and several other members of staff, whom were happy to answer any and all questions you may have about Barbados.

STAFF – All of the staff at the hotel that we had interactions with are both a credit to Barbados and the hotel itself, nothing was ever a problem for any of them when asked – the management should be proud of these people for the efforts they put in to make sure guests fully enjoy their stay. A few members of staff deserve a special mention from both of us (we won’t name them but you know who you are) –

Front Desk staff – very friendly & helpful members of staff who organised a surprise bottle of Bollinger Champagne (her favourite) in our room upon arrival for my wife plus they booked us into ‘Rachel’s’ for the first two nights – the look on her face said it all!!

WEATHER - The weather we had for the two weeks we were there was great – considering that it was the rainy season and Hurricane season, there was no rain for most of the first week but then it rained most days for a short while but nothing major but that soon cleared up but hey ho, you’re in the West Indies after all, what can you do about the weather (it rained occasionally during the night but who cares!!!)

SHOPPING – As this was our first visit to Barbados, we were really forward to the shopping on Broad Street (in fact visited there several times – the staff at ‘Little Switzerland’ were on first name terms with my wife!!!) – basically this is a duty free shopping street in the heart of Bridgetown
Just down from the hotel there is also some shops & a supermarket for any little things you may need.

GETTING AROUND - Getting from the hotel into Bridgetown is very easy – taxis are available from the hotel – we were always asked for the same fare when returning to the hotel after being out & about – BDS$20.00 one way (US$10.00) or you could catch a local ‘blue’ bus into Bridgetown or anywhere else for that matter for BDS$2.00 there are also ‘yellow’ buses & the white minivan types – not sure of their prices as we didn’t use them

TRIPS/OUT & ABOUT – we would recommend doing the ‘Go As You Please’ tour through Virgin – this is where you pick where you want to visit on the island & it is done at your pace – it was just us two and the driver on the day
We drove up the West Coast of the island passing through Holetown (the first English settlement on the island) and Speightstown (the first capital of Barbados), visited Cherry Tree Hill (fantastic view of the ‘Scotland District’, over to the East Coast to see the Morgan Lewis Sugar Mill (the largest mill still in use in the Caribbean), Bathsheba, St John’s Church (the oldest on the island), Gun Hill for wonderful views of the island and over to Bridgetown

Also you should have a walk around the ‘Garrison Savannah Historical Area’ which is about a minute away from the hotel – there are many historical buildings in this area left over from the British military presence on the island – an army barracks still in use today by the Barbadian Defence Force, the clock tower (they perform the changing of the sentry here between 11:30 – 12:00 Monday to Saturday, wearing the uniform of the West Indies Regiment), Barbados Museum and the wonderful ‘George Washington House’ – George stayed here with his half brother, Lawrence, who was recovering from tuberculosis, only to contract smallpox himself (the only time George left America), the house & the grounds have been restored to there former glory – a lovely air conditioned museum awaits you after the very informative tour

The ‘Garrison’ is also home to the local race course & we were fortunate enough to be able to attend a race meeting there – a fantastic afternoon in the company of the friendly Bajans – nine races were on the card & we picked 4 winners, 2 seconds, a 3rd and the other 2 are still running!!!!

Calabaza Catamaran – we used this company to do their ‘lunch cruise’ which includes swimming with the turtles – OMG what a wonderful experience that was
We were picked up at 09:15 and returned to the hotel at 15:00 – having previously booked this before arriving in Barbados we were aware that there would be no more than 12 guests on this trip & after seeing the amounts of people on the other catamarans that were out that day we were so glad we booked this one - Gina, Danny & Andrew were absolutely wonderful from start to finish
We sailed up the West Coast up past Holetown which allowed us to have glimpses of the homes of the rich & famous including Cliff Richard & Dave Whelan (owner of Wigan Football Club) amongst others before swimming with an adult & juvenile turtle for roughly 30 – 45 mins – wonderful to see these creatures in their natural environment
Then it was slightly back down the coast to snorkel over a ship wreck & reef to see the amazing & abundant colourful fish – again this lasted for about 30 – 45 mins
Then it was time to drop anchor just of the beach close to the Lone Star restaurant for a fantastic lunch of Bajan inspired food (plus fine Banks beer & Mount Gay rum if you wanted to partake) – following lunch time was allocated for anyone who wanted to have one last swim in the sea before sadly setting sail for Bridgetown again
The guys will email you a link after the tour to view all the photos they have taken on your trip (including underwater shots of the turtles & fish)

All in all would we recommend this hotel and Barbados for a holiday – yes definitely we would & would we return - yes we would (possibly 2015 as 2014 holiday to the Caribbean already booked)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JahRastafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemsby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After 12 hours at this fab hotel, I slipped and broke my ankle near the pool area.. However, the staff were excellent.. Our son was looked after by the kids club nearly every day while I was in hospital, Susan and Donna could not do enough for my husband and son. My husband and son was moved into a fab room right next door to pool. The gardener would put towel out every day on our sun bed, so thank you to him.. The food even though I did not eat much as I was in hospital for a few days , when I did eat the food was excellent.
We are just wait of my husband leave to be confirmed for next year and we will be booking to go back. So a big thank you to all staff at this hotel.

Room Tip: Just be aware of the floors which can be slippery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan3169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I got married at this hotel on 23rd October 2013 and subsequently stayed for our honeymoon. It was perfect and we were so happy we decided to go with Savannah. The service was INCREDIBLE from the planning phase of our wedding the banquets dept was very helpful and we were always able to speak with someone if we had any queries whether by telephone or email. The wedding day was spectacular the decor and the set up was amazing, simply beautiful. Our wedding day was flawless we did not have to worry about anything. We enjoyed breakfast in bed the following morning which came right on time. All in all the food was great, the staff were soooo friendly, the property grounds was always cleaned whether the rain fell or sun shined, the spa services were truly relaxing, we had such an amazing time that we did not want to leave. We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,613 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
12.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Property: Savannah Beach Hotel
Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing