We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I meant to write this when I came back from my 4th visit earlier this year. This hotel is excellent the manageress Tricia has done a really good job with improvements and tweeks to an already lovely hotel.

As a single woman I always feel comfy coming back here, I dont usually go on holiday to the same place but have made an exception here. The entertainment is really good I loved the Bajan night and also the band whose name I dont remember but they were guitar based... great.

I was upgraded to the VIP deck and served drinks by the lovely staff I also had a complimentary dinner at the Sugar Cane Club.

A tip the hotel runs a shuttle to Carlisle Bay go snorkelling with Neville he is brilliant !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suzhLondon_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is a little gem and i am almost loathe to write this as we would rather keep it as our little secret......1st stay was amazing....... 2nd stay ??? Well, we are back for a 3rd time at Xmas !!! Why do we keep coming back ??!!!! It is just a little piece of paradise made that little bit more special by the staff... They are absolutely amazing. We have stayed 5 star and it is not a patch on the friendliness, the welcome (even better as returning guests), the banter and the smiles..... Nothing is too much trouble from the room staff through to top management. They are always there, wanting to make your holiday better. The food is fresh, plentiful with good variety and a la carte and now Chopsticks (which wasn't an option on our first visit)..... Breakfast is fantastic with an array of choice - eggs any and every way you can imagine ! WE can't praise this place enough. We would definately recommend taking sea shoes - on our second visit this made it possible to walk out to the surf and have hours of fun in the waves. Although, 2 minutes to the left of the deck and 5 minutes to the right you can walk in the sea with no coral.... Hilton beach is a must !!!

The hotel itself is lovely. Yes, the bathrooms are a little tired. However, they are keep very clean, the showers are good and the soaps etc are kept filled on a daily basis. We were spoilt on this visit by a cheeky upgrade to Club !! Definately recommend ! the sunloungers are bliss :-)

The kids club is great - CarolAnn does a fab job and our daughter had a great time. Also, whilst a lot of people dressed up for dinner, unlike other hotels we have stayed in in Barbados, men can wear shorts at night. Another bonus !!!

All in all, we love the Savannah Beach and can't wait to see you all at Xmas !!!! THANK YOU and it is a testament to the staff and management that we choose to keep coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RBJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We went to the savannah beach hotel for our first holiday in the Caribbean and were just blown away.
We chose the hotel due to the high rating on trip advisor and from the moment we arrived were immersed in the Bajan way of life.
The hotel itself is just lovely, from the waterfall and coloured lighting at night to the 2 pools and poolside bar.
The whole of Barbados is beautiful and I heartily recommend a trip on Fridays to Oistins in the evening to chill and party.
Back to the hotel!
Food:
Rachel's restaurant is nice, a bit limited with the selections but everything is freshly cooked and breakfast there in the morning was fantastic - my son discovered the waffle maker on the first day and he and the waffle chef got to know each other very well!
Chopstix was a little limited and not as good as some of the Chinese restaurants over here in the UK but bearing in mind the hotel is covering 3 different types of eating experience, no complaints from here as the food was cooked very well.
Drifters was fine as long as you did not expect haute cuisine on the finest china, food was varied and very nice, again freshly cooked.
The kids club was excellent, the lady in charge actively sought the children out and knew them all by name very quickly, they even organised a football match between guests' children and a local football team which worked really well as my son made some great friends.
Staff were on the whole, very friendly and helpful, however I do recognise the comments of some other travellers about some staff being less communicative but I would not call them surly, it seems some are just more friendly than others - one barman made my son a vanilla milkshake at Drifters, while another said they did not make these, only strawberry.
Room was always very clean, our cleaner arranged my sons Pluto stuffed toys every day on the bed and spent quite some time tidying up and cleaning for us. TV was occasionally on and channels were just background noise really but we managed to catch up on news and sport (we now know who Lebron James is and are delighted he has returned to Cleveland ;) ).
Beach was ok, although we stayed in the pool area as my son liked this area best and it was easier to keep an eye on him.
Our Virgin rep was very nice and got us to think about the Bajan relaxed way of doing things rapidly. Well as rapidly as anyone on Barbados does anything!
We went swimming with turtles and had a whale of a time, loads of them very close up, and would also recommend Tiami as great fun and very friendly and chatty.
Buses? Choose a reggae bus, much more fun, if anyone knows what the actual routes for these buses are, then let me know, they all seemed to be going wherever I wanted.
We are already planning to return, maybe at christmas as we enjoyed it so much.
Awesome.

Room Tip: Email the hotel before you arrive, they are more than willing to accommodate any requests if they ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have just returned from 10 days at the Savannah Beach Hotel with my partner and our 2 year old daughter. Was a bit worried what to expect, as the price was very reasonable. From the moment we got there to the day we left we had a fantastic time. The staff were great and would go out of their way to ensure you had a good time. The hotel has three restaurants which cater for all needs, ie, Chinese, A La Carte and a Buffet style restaurant. The evening entertainment was good however could have been improved slightly. Over all can not think of anything bad to say, and have already booked again for November.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are great, but not if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

What a great time we are having the staff are amazing and
The food in the 3 restaurants is Really of a good to great standard and your not going to go hungry there's something for everyone
Lucy my daughters 10 and hard to please it she loved it
The beach is great just bring some reef shoes the pool is small but big enough but you don't travel to Barbados for the pool
The hotel is a little tired but while we were there they painting and upgrading so it's all good
Well worth the stay and for the money excellent

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I really don't know where to start ! lets try!.. FANTASTIC!!... I have been to Barbados many times and without a shadow of doubt this was the most friendliest, well kept, friendly and fun hotel we have stayed in, the girls loved it as did my wife and I loads for them to do, Games room, Jet ski's. The staff will greet you with the most sincere welcome and smile ,Whether its good morning, afternoon or good night it was genuine. We loved everyday our kids were visably upset when we left , THAT WAS THE IMPACT THE LOVELY STAFF HAD ON THEM( I MEAN, THEY NEVER CRIED AS KIDS WHEN I WENT TO WORK). All jokes aside you must meet PAULA, She is a star she made our stay complete. THE FOOD ,THE DRINKS, WOW, The rooms were serviced daily, The towels also changed daily. Transport is great, not a problem getting around the island as public transport is directly outside. The friendliness of the bajans is only second to the beauty that surrounds you at the Savannah. We have already booked our return holiday next summer ,and look forward to seeing the friends we made at our unforgettable holiday. Once visited, you will definitely return to this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
4  Thank dodds4565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The review from Sue H below is very accurate. Although we were the *blue band* club package guests and while you do get excellent service on the deck beach area, there Is really no difference in the restaurants.
There are two different levels of staff employed by this hotel. At one end you have the exceptionally helpful, friendly and competent people like Jackie in the club area of the beach (some members of staff should shadow Jackie for 24 hours to see how its done!) Also Martin who sorts out the sunbeds etc who is a friendly character. Darius at Drifters is friendly and engaged with our teenage sons. David was great at the bar and had a bubbly personality which really lifted the atmosphere when he was around. Petula was a lovely lady and made us feel welcome (as did all the chefs in the food areas).
When Tyrone is running the show in Rachels and Drifters he is very professional and efficient....but unfortunately when he isn't there its a different story. We had to eat at Rachel's on one evening (and didn't return) and our welcome to the restaurant consisted of three girls who just stood chatting until they could be bothered to acknowledge our arrival and then just waved at the bar for us to wait for a table - no hello, we won't be long....nothing no communication whatsoever. The service was so bad we complained at once asking for the duty manager at reception. This is the first time we have *ever* had to do this in 25 years of travel. We wanted to give the hotel the chance to put things right while we were there (we wouldn't leave a negative review without speaking to the hotel first) but we received no feedback whatsoever?Unfortunately after 10 days you recognise which staff will be friendly and create a nice eating atmosphere for a meal and which ones will make you feel like skipping the food all together. Shanice - guests can see you wander off to stand around the corner when you should be refilling drinks and helping with service???
As we were on a club package we should have had our mini bar re-stocked every other day. This was done the first time but then on the next due day nothing appeared. I rang reception twice during the afternoon to request the service (again giving them a chance to put things right while we were there) Trevor who stocks the bar finally appeared and informed us that he had "too much on" and also he couldn't restock on Wednesday as this was his day off - not my problem! So on the Wednesday another trip to reception was made with a request for stock (noted that another room was having to do the same thing) maybe don't offer something as part of a package if you can't provide the service?
It is such a shame that all the staff that work so hard (and very long hours) and are friendly and engaging are almost cancelled out by the level of others that make guests feel uncomfortable. We did pick this up from some other guests as well, although never as part of a conversation started by us.
This is our fourth visit to Barbados/Caribbean so we know the difference between the natural laidback nature of Barbadians that is expected and rude, uncommunicative and hostile service received from some at Savannah Beach.

This hotel really has a lot of potential, We had a fantastic beach view suite on two levels. The hotel architecture is beautiful and colonial in style with a meandering pool through the central courtyard. The kids club, shop and reception are very good. If they could just address the few staff who create a bad atmosphere it would be a perfect destination - we are easy going, easy pleased people and we really wanted to leave a better review than this. Could be a perfect place but management appear to accept some mediocre staff - maybe something as simple as a ten minute motivational team talk everyday could sort this out!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank janey2Wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Janey2Wilts,

While it is quite disturbing to read the feedback from your experience with us, we appreciate you taking the time to share this information. Although we cannot erase the negative memories from this stay, we sincerely apologize for all the lapses in service that resulted in your holiday being less than spectacular. We intend for such an experience never to repeat itself and, to this end, we have met with all those mentioned who, may not have delivered the high level of service excellence that we thrive to provide to all our guests. All the matters you raised have also been addressed by our Total Quality Management Council and the necessary steps have been taken to prevent this becoming a pattern of normalcy.

We will continue to instill standards that deliver excellence to each guests each time, as we will never consent to mediocrity being an acceptable standard of operation.

Once again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced; we truly hope that you will allow us another opportunity to deliver the high level of service that so many of our guests have grown to love at Savannah Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,875 reviews
2.6 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
1.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#23 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £127 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing