We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

it s our second time here, everything is almost perfect for the price. Perfect renovated room with a womderfull sea view. Although two things was less perfect. There was a lot of teenagers from a school i suppose, it makes the place less calm and noiser. About a group of 30 teens at one moment. i hate places that accept teens groups for spring break, or easter camp. Everyone know how teens are when without their parents. Some other customers where complaining also with the noise those teen made in their room. I can understand that the hotel needs to fill their rooms, but they need to choose what kind of customer they want to have.

the fridge was noisy, it was making more noise than climatisation, it took me two visits to the front desk and 3 days to have it changed. The new one was perfect except no freezer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sebounet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    826
    298
    94
    79
See reviews for
385
1,091
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Hi travellers. I'm in Barbados right now and enjoying it so much. Weather is absolutely perfect. But about the hotel.. It's not much to look at but makes up for it in many ways. It's a stone throws a way to the clean beach which you can swim with the fishes in sea. The pool is always clean, the staff is patient ,friendly and willing to help! Two restaurant near by - the blue room and the deck. Tried a few more places which is just a walk away which such as blakeys, tapas, 39 steps - all good

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank geordieboy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Just sat having a rum and cranberry before heading to the airport. Was interested to read what people made of the place. We only came for a week, no children so chance to relax. Sure if you want the Hilton then pay the money and go. You could be anywhere though. However, here you get a warm, family run hotel and actually feel like you are in Barbados. There are a number of wonderful restaurants all no more than 20 minute walk. Decent price that make England look over priced and poor quality and service. Tapas, Brown Sugar restaurant, Champers, 39 Steps to name a few. Sure, the pavements are a bit dodge but I'm not aware Barbados are known for their restaurants. There are a lot of people who don't stay here but come to the bar, mainly because of the wonderful bartender, Antonio. Rooms are large and clean, free sun beds with plenty of trees for shade and a couple of happy hours a day. OK, you may not say its perfect but define perfection!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just arrived back after a week tagged on to a weeks cruise. Nothing much to add to Doogie2511 excellent review which is pretty much what we thought. We were in a very large room 41 one of the non upgraded rooms although it did have a flat screen tv. Traffic noise certainly a problem especially the constant horn tooting sometimes as early as 6.00am. The walls appear quite thick and soundproof as we didn't hear a peep from our neighbours. Problem I think is the ill fitting door and Louvre windows. Added a few pictures of the room etc

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoUKaygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our second stay at Coconut Court. We were there 2 years ago again staying on Barbados following a week cruising the Caribbean. This is a family run hotel, not your usual 4-5 star all inclusive on the beach affair, but authentic Barbados run by a Barbados family. It has spoiled us for the future because of its friendliness, attention to detail, customer service, fabulous view and beach.
We had a room in the Frangipani Rooms 103 with a fridge, microwave etc. the TV and shower could do with an upgrade but otherwise it was lovely, spotlessly clean and bright. The view from our balcony was wonderful and I still dream of it now. If you are really lucky you see the monkeys troop through although we didn't this time. We had the bed and breakfast package with cooked to order breakfast of American portion size , the best scrambled eggs ever.
We ate 2 evening meals from the barbecue which were very good, freshly prepared and cooked and a chance to try Bajan food without worrying whether you will like it. We had flying fish and maihi maihi which we would never have tried as not big fish eaters but both were great. We ate out at Blakeys twice, a bar and restaurant on the boardwalk and also at Mama Mia's over the road. Both were fine and close by. Many people recommend Tapas as a restaurant however every time we walked by there were lots of diners not actually dining but waiting for food and actually don't think we saw anyone eating so didn't bother.
We did Teds Tour around the island which was great fun. Ted is a family member from Coconut Court and a great entertainer. He drives the bus ( barefoot) and gives a non stop commentary complete with jokes and anecdotes and island folklore and information. A full on enjoyable day out. We had a great lunch too and didn't need dinner that day!
So all in all a great return to Barbados and Coconut Court. Sadly we won't be back for a while as must try something new but when we go back to Barbados Coconut Court is the only hotel for us.

Room Tip: Frangipani rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for 5 days as a last minute vacation on my own. I figured I would find a reasonably priced resort seeing as I was traveling by myself. This place had many rave reviews here so I booked it but as always, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

The room:
- Basic but clean. I had one of the non-rennovated rooms so I guess there are better ones to be had for a price.
- The TV was an ancient 14" tube model.
- The wifi was serviceable but frequently cut out and was useless for anything but e-mail and limited web browsing.
- View from the room was very nice - I believe all the rooms have the same wide view of beach and water
- If you're sensitive to noise you might be irritated. The hotel is on a busy roadway and from 7am to 11pm you'll regularly hear the mini-buses roaring along and honking their horns at prospective customers. One morning I woke up at 6:30am to someone pressure washing just outside the building.

Restaurants and Ammenities:
- There is an open air bar and restaurant on the beach that serves all food and drink for all times of the day. It's quite nice. Continental breakfast is served for free and you can order a full breakfast off the menu if you want at predictable prices.
- A basic selection of drinks is available at the bar. Nothing fancy - Banks Beer, rum punch, etc. but it's cold and inexpensive. 2 - for 1 happy hour at lunch and before dinner. Service is typically Bajan. That is to say friendly, relaxed and not overly fast.

Beach:
- Plenty of lounge chairs are provided for free on a self serve basis. You can plop one down anywhere you want. The beach is partly shaded by a bunch of palm trees so if you're early enough to position yourself near one you can get some natural shade. If you're too late, you'll have to settle for full shade or full sun - there are no beach umbrellas to be had.
- Towel service consists of ONE TOWEL - PERIOD. I was flatly refused a 2nd one. The first one is "free" but that's it for your entire stay. When you want to exchange if for a clean one it's $5 each time.
- The beach itself is nothing to write home about. Pictures show idillic turquoise water but there are quite a few rocks on the bottom to stub your toes on and there's a dead reef quite close in so no nice waves to frolic in. Overall not a great beach to swim in. A 20 min walk down the beach to the Hilton will show you how nice the beaches in Barbados can be.

Location:
- It's on a stretch where the beaches aren't the best. You'll need to walk or drive a ways to get to a good one. There are a few middle of the road restaurants within walking distance.

Overall:
This hotel seems to be frequented largely by middle aged retirees who are looking to stretch their holiday budget and don't mind the lack of a great swimming beach or luxurious room. If you're really looking to save money and/or extend your stay, this might be for you. Otherwise, consider spending a few extra $$ and check out the Hilton

Room Tip: Ask about one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doogie5511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangasala, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

At the first glance, the hotel doesn´t look like much. Big buildings next to the main road, not very fancy entrance yard (just a parking lot). But when you settle in, you will love this one. Rooms are big and comfortable, we had excellent view to the ocean from our balcony. There is also a microwave oven and a big fridge. The noise from the mainroad can be a bit of a problem for the light sleepers (as me). On the seaside there is a nice pool area with a small pool and a warm jacuzzi. The beach is great, not very wide but this is how they are in Barbados. Nice palm trees. There is a breakwater stonewall built in the ocean about 20 metres from the beach, braking the waves calm enough to swim in.

The area near the breakwater is full of colourful small fish, so bring your snorkeling equipment with you (or buy your own from Hazell´s Waterworld Diver´s supply shop, about 15-20 minutes walk from the hotel, near Carlisle Bay and opposite the St Patricks Cathedral. Great and friendly service, good quality equipments and better prices than from the hotel´s shop). Snorkeling here was great! And on your own hotel beach, easy accessable. Only when there was very windy, the water got so blurred it was hard to see, and the fish also tried to hide somewhat. We saw beside the "ordinary fish" for example a spotted sea eel (best seen just before sunset on the sandy shore), an octopus (just once, very shy one), cute box fishes, a stone looking fish lying at the bottom, a scorpion fish (don´t touch this one, it is poisonous), sea cucumbers etc. Someone had also seen a turtle coming to take air. This was very neat, also suitable for children though for the smallest children the waves can still be a bit too rough. We also tried once the next hotel´s beach for snorkeling, as there was also a breakwater, but that was awful - too shallow water there to swim properly and only lots of (dangerous) sea-urchins there, not suggestable to go there.

The buffet breakfast was ok: two kinds of fruit, fruitjuices, tea/coffee, cereals and porridge, lots of sweet rolls to choose from, bread and jelly. If you want, you can add some extras for small money, for example eggs or cheese. The first night we joined the hotel owner´s pool party, there were some snacks and punch available for free, and some stalls where local artists sold their work. Nice hotel and friendly service, would recommend to anyone coming to Barbados! A walking distance from the city (during daylight, not recommended to walk in the dark), also a busstop just next to the hotel. Don´t forget to try the nice Italian restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarikaR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.9 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#21 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Property: Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Court Beach Hotel is a family affair. Owned and operated by the Blades family for over four decades, Coconut Court is unpretentious and full of local character and charm. Situated directly on a beautiful beach, adjacent to the South Coast boardwalk in the World Heritage UNESCO district within easy walking distance to historic sites, shops and restaurants. Enjoy happy service and outstanding value with free added value for all guests including roundtrip airport transfers, a bottle of Pirate Punch on arrival, shopping shuttle service from the hotel to Bridgetown and free WIFI. Recently renovated, with 112 spacious hotel rooms that face the ocean, Coconut Court offers great value and a gorgeous beachfront location! All hotel rooms are comfortably furnished with air conditioning, partial kitchenette facilities, cable TV and private balcony. Full self-catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors in the Annex. (Located off-site). The beautiful beach is shaded with coconut trees with plenty of room for sunbathing. The large protected lagoon is safe for swimming and snorkelling for all ages. The pool deck features a freshwater pool and outdoor Jacuzzi as well as a separate children’s paddling pool. There are 2 restaurants and a beach bar serving lazy lunches and tasty home cooked meals. Weekly entertainment includes live music, Managers Rum Punch Party, Beach BBQ’s and moonlight movies on the beach. Guests can also enjoy daily cocktail specials and happy hours. Book directly with the hotel and Free breakfast buffet is included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing