We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't imagine a better place to enjoy Barbados”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I can't imagine a better place to enjoy Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you don't have the luxury of staying in the 5 star properties on the west coast, then Coconut Court Beach hotel is the perfect way to experience Barbados.

The setting in itself is glorious, and all you need is a hotel that compliments this setting by being clean, friendly, safe and good value. Coconut Court is run by the Blades family and this is where coconut court has the edge over other larger hotels. Every Monday they host a cocktail party, with a speech by the family and the chance to have a chat with them all. I had the pleasure of meeting Linda Blades, who was charming and it was nice to feel valued in return for the money we were spending with them.

Speaking of the family, Ted Blades runs one of the islands most prolific tours, 'Teds Tours'. He is based on the south west coast but picks up from several hotels, not just Coconut Court. I can honestly say that this charming, knowledgable man helped to make our holiday what it was. The tour takes you up the west coast, cuts off across the tip and back down the east coast. This gives you a chance to see the whole island, with about 8 stop off points, including free rum lunches and a lovely lunch at the plantation house. Ted narrates as he drives you about, with interesting anecdotes, historical references and his cheeky humour. He has the natural ability to bring everyone together and it was a joy to spend a day with him and the other guests from other hotels...by the end of the day we were all friends! For only BBD 150 it's an absolute bargain and without a doubt the best thing we did in our two weeks there. You can book the tour from Vaida who runs the activities desk, who, incidentally, is Teds wife (but she showed no signs of favouritism...there is no aggressive sales push at Coconut Court)

The rooms are spacious, with the most comfortable beds I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. They aren't luxurious, in fact, none of the hotel is luxurious, but it's clean, pretty and set on Palm beach which is a brilliant place to swim and snorkel. In my mind, just being on this island is a luxurious experience. The cove is very calm in the morning, giving you a chance to swim with the tropical fish, but gets choppier in the afternoon, when it's better for bouncing around in the waves on a lilo or jet ski.

The reception staff and housekeeping staff are all very friendly types, who can't do enough for you. Jonelle on reception even remembered us from our visit the previous year - what fantastic customer service, to be greeted by her immediate recollection of us!

The Deck restaurant has a decent menu, with some delicious salads and my personal favourite, the club sandwich. The Beach Bar has happy hour twice daily, which is run by two lovely chaps. One of these chaps, Antonio, is one of the most charismatic and happy people you will ever have the pleasure to meet. The atmosphere around the beach bar is always buzzing.

The pool and jacuzzi area is very well maintained, and a great way to spend your day if you want a break from having sand everywhere. You can take your drinks and food to these areas, and one of my favourite things to do was to sit in the jacuzzi whilst drinking a rum punch. Delightful.

During peak seasons, the hotel has live entertainment every night. This is somethig I appreciated, if not always took part in it. I often would enjoy the music from the balcony, after being out for the evening for dinner at one of the local restaurants.

Speaking of which, Coconut Court own the Blue Bar and Grill opposite the hotel, which serves a menu similar to the Deck, but with some other more adventurous options. Their cocktails are cheap and to die for - I was a big fan of their margaritas. This is a sports bar, so if you want to watch sport or just go for a drink, you can sit inside, whilst the restaurant portion is situated outside. (Although you can eat inside too if you wish, it's just a little louder!)

For the best views, specify a room on the top floor in one of the middle blocks. This will give you a view directly overlooking the pool and the sea. If you want it to be a little quieter, perhaps choose one of the outer blocks, as they are further from the central area which means less noise from the entertainment.

If you are coming to Barbados wanting the ultimate in luxurious living, and to not really leave the hotel all that much, then you'll need to choose a larger hotel with more amenities (coconut court doesn't have a spa, for example), and to do that you'll need to fork out an extra £1000 or so pp. In my mind, Barbados is a historical, beautiful island that needs exploring, so use Coconut Court as your base and split your time equally between exploring the island, and having days on site to just chill. Coconut Court is on the south west coast, which is the best area to stay on the island because it's close to a lot of amenities, including the airport, the iconic St Lawrence Gap (a strip of bars and restaurants), the historical garrison and of course, the Caribbean sea (the east coast is the Atlantic side, which is choppy and harder to swim in....good for surfing though!) The west coast also has the Caribbean but is much more pricey with restaurants much further spaced out, incurring more in terms of transport costs. The South West coast also features what locals call 'kamikaze' buses, which are people carries that transport you anywhere on that half of the island for 2 dollars. Don't be scared by the name...the drivers do drive pretty fast and loose but it's the best way to get around. Avoid the government buses at all costs because you'll be left waiting in the blistering heat for hours...they are rare and don't stick to the timetable!

Thank you Coconut Court for a second brilliant visit. Keep up the good work.

Caroline

Stayed between 21st April - 1st May, in room 20

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view...but there are no lifts so avoid these if you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    826
    298
    94
    79
See reviews for
385
1,091
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to Barbados, my daughters had been before it was great to see it for myself. The view, amazing, staff friendly and helpful, good food, Teds Tours is a must. Ted is part of the family run hotel and is informative and funny.Made the island tour the highlight of the holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PC19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle,Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is what an island hotel should be, no chrome, no plastic.
The staff are, without exception, friendly, courteous and helpful.
The lack of "free" drinks is a blessing. No drunk, loutish behavior. Several "happy hours" provide all the drinks that one needs.
The beach is great. roomy, great swimming and lots of natural shade.
One person you must and will meet is Antonio. He "lives" at the beach bar. A friendly,gregarious and intelligent; he serves drink and food with panache!
The hotel is within an easy walk to town either on the road or the beach.

Oh yes, the hotel is reasonably close to the airport so, no long drive....bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms are undergoing renovation. Choose the rooms that have been done. Do not worry about traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the end block non refurbished room, it was fab! Spacious room with a huge comfortable bed, TV on wall and small table and chairs. Basic bathroom, clean and adequate. A room with a view, we stayed in room 118 and enjoyed uninterrupted sea views, stunning! Complimentary bottle of a Pirate Punch was very welcoming and coupled with the ice that was already in the fridge was a refreshing treat! Balcony visited everyday by various birdlife. We stayed half board and thoroughly enjoyed it.. The food was nothing less than spectacular, however it is local bajan style cooking which was tasty. Usually, chicken, fish or steak with various salads,veg, rice n peas, plantains, pumpkin, local dishes., included BBQ, Grill, Fish evenings.
Staff were attentive, pleasant and always busy always working to accommodate any request.
Location, location, location ...simply perfect with a calm lagoon fronting the hotel, the reef holding back some spectacular waves. Everyone if all capabilities could enjoy the sea at this point. Further down the beach could be a little choppier. Turtles everyday around 4pm.
Sun beds no problem plenty of these available and in good condition.
Palm trees and Almond trees making this section attractive and relaxing to sunbathe under. Other tourists commented on how lovely this hotel and beach were, with many coming to share this slice of paradise! Thank you to everyone at Coconut Court for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Do not be put off by the non refurbed rooms, we had one with a little picket fence balcony and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrecife, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Last visited coconut court in 1987 ,in the eighties it was first class well run and well managed by the owners and staff. What a difference we found when we decided to revisit Coconut Court Beach Hotel in March 2014 . From the outset ,the reception staff where not what you would expect ,rather abrupt with what you can only say as having poor customer relation skills , Allocated room No 35 no porter available made our own way to the room , what a shock when we entered the room ,the room was so dark ,doors hanging off units and not very clean ,to put it
mildly the room needed a total refurbishment.
Back to reception to voice our concerns .
During the course of our holiday at Coconut Court Beach Hotel my wife and I where given accommodation in two further rooms neither was what you could call three star accommodation.
The hotels decision to take school parties especially accommodating them in the same block as other guests as ludicrous, this was more so when we were moved once more by Thompsons and the cynical hotel management and put in Room 55 not knowing that Rooms 56 and 54 would later in the week be occupied by school children ,how childish can a Hotel Management be.

Room Tip: Wait until the hotel has been refurbished before making your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank togiojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just returned from our Cruise and Stay. We stayed at the Coconut Court Hotel our second week after our weeks cruise at Easter half term. The hotel staff gave us a warm welcome and are all very friendly and helpful . Our room had a gorgeous view of the beach and was very spacious and clean. All rooms have the benefit of a fridge freezer, kettle toaster, microwave and cutlery/crockery even though we were half board. The beach was beautiful and clean and ideal for families with children as it has shallow water where the reef provides a calm bay! Lots of reef fish you can walk out to and still only be in waist deep water. Lazing in the sun and watching the turtles come in to feed. Being half board we had either a continental breakfast, cereals porridge fresh fruit etc or full English also a choice of omelettes etc.The evening meal was themed every evening and plenty of it and Katherine the manager of the food/beverage Gerald the waiter and all the other waiters, waitresses look after you so well and make you feel at home. We loved the apple pie/ cherry pie and ice-cream. The chefs/barman do a fantastic job making sure your food/drink is well prepared and their steak is a must., not to be missed the best we have ever eaten. The hotel has it's own little shop and across the road is a mini mart too. Not forgetting the tours you can do and one I would highly recommend is 'TEDS TOUR'S' a repeat for us from 7yrs ago holiday in Barbados. Ted is part of the family run hotel and what a day tour he takes you on. So much fun & laughter with his commentary and in seeing the island, this is a perfect way to do this, Ted makes you feel like a family member at the end of the day You can book this tour at the hotel where his lovely wife Vada will help you in choosing from a selection they offer. The best tour we have ever done during a holiday break! We definitely will be going back . Not just for the beach but to go on Teds Tour's again. Thank you Ted!!

Room Tip: All the rooms look out to the beach front choose one on the top floor or second floor down in the le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

April 2014 - I just returned from Barbados where I stayed at Coconut Court Beach Hotel. This hotel is average at best. If you're looking just looking for a clean bed and room, this is the place for you; not luxurious at all! However, the rooms have million dollar, direct ocean views. When we arrived, they did not have a reservation for us. . .they said it had been cancelled, even though I had a confirmation number. However, they did accommodate us with a room.

It's on a main road and it's noisy. The pool and hot tub closes early. . .I think it was around 7:00 pm. Entertainment is weak! You have to hang onto your beach towel for your entire stay. It will cost you to switch it out for a clean one.

Food is extremely expensive at the hotel. We opted daily for continental breakfast which consisted of cereal, oatmeal, pastries, coffee, juice, milk and toast. In their brochure, there was suppose to be fish included with the continental breakfast, but it wasn't. We only had one dinner at the hotel which was $40 per person. . .and that was chicken!

Would I stay there again. . .probably not. I'd look for something with a few more perks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunset2Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.9 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#21 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Property: Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Court Beach Hotel is a family affair. Owned and operated by the Blades family for over four decades, Coconut Court is unpretentious and full of local character and charm. Situated directly on a beautiful beach, adjacent to the South Coast boardwalk in the World Heritage UNESCO district within easy walking distance to historic sites, shops and restaurants. Enjoy happy service and outstanding value with free added value for all guests including roundtrip airport transfers, a bottle of Pirate Punch on arrival, shopping shuttle service from the hotel to Bridgetown and free WIFI. Recently renovated, with 112 spacious hotel rooms that face the ocean, Coconut Court offers great value and a gorgeous beachfront location! All hotel rooms are comfortably furnished with air conditioning, partial kitchenette facilities, cable TV and private balcony. Full self-catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors in the Annex. (Located off-site). The beautiful beach is shaded with coconut trees with plenty of room for sunbathing. The large protected lagoon is safe for swimming and snorkelling for all ages. The pool deck features a freshwater pool and outdoor Jacuzzi as well as a separate children’s paddling pool. There are 2 restaurants and a beach bar serving lazy lunches and tasty home cooked meals. Weekly entertainment includes live music, Managers Rum Punch Party, Beach BBQ’s and moonlight movies on the beach. Guests can also enjoy daily cocktail specials and happy hours. Book directly with the hotel and Free breakfast buffet is included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing