We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family-Friendly Stay in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family-Friendly Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I traveled with my husband and father to Barbados from 15-20 May 2014 for a family wedding. We chose to stay at the Coconut Court Beach Hotel because of it's proximity to the beach and to Bridgetown. The hotel also offers free one-way transport to the airport if you stay for 5 nights or more. We stayed in a Standard Room with two double beds. The room was on the top floor, which meant it had extra high ceilings and felt very spacious. It included a mini fridge, microwave, and silverware, but we did not use any of it. The balcony offered a beautiful view of the ocean. The beds were of decent comfort, offering a good night's sleep after a day at the beach.

The website accurately states that there is no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage up to your room. The staircases are not covered, so you may be climbing stairs in the hot sun or rain. However, we did not find this an inconvenience at all. We just made sure we carried my father's luggage for him.

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Just be prepared to be on island time! Every good traveler must adapt their expectations to the local environment. They arranged for the hotel shuttle or a taxi to take us to Bridgetown, and to the wedding we attended. They answered all of our questions, and were also responsive to my email inquiries before we got there. There is a little gift shop in the lobby that sells toiletries and souvenirs at a decent price. You can enjoy the refreshing breeze off the nearby ocean in the open-aired restaurant, which serves good food. Breakfast is included in your stay, but it is not much of a breakfast at all. The spread included coffee, toast, watery juice, pastries, cold and hot cereal, and bananas. We ended up purchasing eggs, sausage, etc. everyday.

The hotel is right along it's own beach. The white sand is soft, and palm trees are sprinkled throughout the beach to offer the perfect amount of shade. Beach chairs are available in plentiful supply at no additional cost. You are issued one beach towel that you must return. If you need another towel, it costs $5. There is a little beach bar attached to the hotel and the bartender, Antonio, makes deliciously refreshing rum punches. The water was very shallow, but it's perfect for wading in and cooling off. Gazing at the turquiose water is the definition of relaxation.

For the price we paid, this was a great place to stay. I would not necessarily recommend this hotel for the elderly or anyone who requires handicap accommodations. However, it is family-friendly, and we would definitely return again!

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs, book a room on the top floor for the high ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    823
    298
    94
    78
See reviews for
383
1,086
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was by far one of the best holidays we have had in Barbados. Hotel staff all very good...very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
Highly recommend to all. we shall be back. We had 2 apartments across the road, they were very clean but a little tired and in need of refurbishment. But dont let that put you off as they were spotlessly clean with good air con. The food was to die for very high quality and variety.
The hotel beach was clean and well maintained. The beach bar was good fun at happy hour with Antonio! Margaret and her team in the restaurant were highly professional and good service ll round

Room Tip: We had 2 apartments due to our numbers, but would recommend getting a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed here 3 times now, and will be staying here again next time I visit Barbados.
We stayed in the apartments across the road, as we are a family of 2 adults and 2 children.
it was the perfect space, separate sleeping area for the children plus a basic kitchen with a fridge.
The hotel itself is great, simple but very well run. The pool is perfect, and the beach is fantastic, clean and well maintained.
breakfast is substantial, the lunch menu can be a bit repetitive but the evening meals are varied and always high standard.
I can't fault the hotel for what it is, and the staff are all so friendly and genuine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here while on a 3 week working visit; the staff and facilities were great. I wished there were more options for breakfast included in the continental breakfast and an option for espresso and cappuccino or latte coffee!

Room Tip: I stayed at level with access directly from parking lot, no stairs to climb, only stairs were to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I came to Barbados expecting beautiful scenery and luxury relaxing time. I was not disappointed. The hotel is in a good location. Its quite with a beautiful beach and loads of fish around. Take some bread into the water, they will all surround you. The hotel staff are nice and the rooms are comfy and large. The food was ok, not amazing but it was nothing to complain about. There is a great tapas restaurant east of the hotel along the coast. Pricey but good! Also if you head towards the hilton hotel along the coast (west) and go a little past it, there is a food stand where a lady sells fish burgers from. I promise it is the best thing to eat on the island. (And its cheap) Got that secret from a local. We went there for lunch about ten times! Nowhere to sit, just a take away and you can go eat on the beach that she is next to. There a a few tours to do. One is in a cave, highly recommend that one and another is at a botanical garden which is beautiful. Good entertainment around the island and hotel as well. Taxis are a rip off! Always trying to con you, so get the local reggae bus which runs all day n night. Dirt cheap and fun. You normally get squashed into it with many others, when u think theres no room, they make room. Overall, we loved Barbados. Also go find the reggae grill. He does good Jamaican food. (Not far from hotel)

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

.......Where do I start? This is a fabulous friendly, really pleasant place to stay, where the majority of guests return again & again, year after year. Almost everyone we spoke to in the restaurant or on the beach were on a return visit! The staff and service and hospitality were beyond reproach. All the staff were SO friendly & helpful, from the security guards, cleaners, restaurant, bar staff, right up to managerial level. The beach was amazing with a palm tree & sunbed for everyone! The only two things I would like future holidaymakers to be slightly wary of, is that as in a lot of the Caribbean beaches, there is a slight dip after you walk into the sea after a few steps & if I were you I would wear beach shoes in the sea as there are a few stones along the way. The second thing is the first step into the pool is quite high. It probably isn't for people with walking difficulties like myself.
The beach is fabulous, & all the security guards make it SO safe, as they are constantly on duty.I also can't fault the excellent service from the beach bar to all the restaraunts, reception staff,bar staff. In fact absolutely everyone was wonderful. I too will be one of the many returning guests!
Thank you SO much Coconut court beach hotel for an amazing visit.

Room Tip: There are lots of steps to the beach & restaurant so if you have walking difficulties , ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and are never disappointed. Great location with a friendly staff and a reasonable beachfront restaurant. Lots of dining options to choose from within walking distance. Hop on a van and you'll be in downtown Bridgetown in about 10 minutes. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Barbados.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms don't have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nsbgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,436 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,954 reviews
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,413 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,000 reviews
0.9 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#22 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Property: Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Court Beach Hotel is a family affair. Owned and operated by the Blades family for over four decades, Coconut Court is unpretentious and full of local character and charm. Situated directly on a beautiful beach, adjacent to the South Coast boardwalk in the World Heritage UNESCO district within easy walking distance to historic sites, shops and restaurants. Enjoy happy service and outstanding value with free added value for all guests including roundtrip airport transfers, a bottle of Pirate Punch on arrival, shopping shuttle service from the hotel to Bridgetown and free WIFI. Recently renovated, with 112 spacious hotel rooms that face the ocean, Coconut Court offers great value and a gorgeous beachfront location! All hotel rooms are comfortably furnished with air conditioning, partial kitchenette facilities, cable TV and private balcony. Full self-catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors in the Annex. (Located off-site). The beautiful beach is shaded with coconut trees with plenty of room for sunbathing. The large protected lagoon is safe for swimming and snorkelling for all ages. The pool deck features a freshwater pool and outdoor Jacuzzi as well as a separate children’s paddling pool. There are 2 restaurants and a beach bar serving lazy lunches and tasty home cooked meals. Weekly entertainment includes live music, Managers Rum Punch Party, Beach BBQ’s and moonlight movies on the beach. Guests can also enjoy daily cocktail specials and happy hours. Book directly with the hotel and Free breakfast buffet is included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing