We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Always feels like coming home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lower Beachgate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shaded seating between the pool and the beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Shaded seating between the pool and the beach.
Large covered patio right on the water.
Open plan living and dining area.
Kitchen - fully equipped.
2nd Bedroom - With two twin beds and en-suite bathroom.
Amazing sunsets.
Dazzling sunsets.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hastings, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Waterford...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always feels like coming home.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in February 2018

My husband and I have been staying a Lower Beachgate every year since 2011.
This is a well appointed 2-bedroom apartment with everything you could possibly need or want. The location is perfect. A quiet beach, a short walk from many lively beach/bar areas in any direction. The best of both worlds.
Located, at the northern end of the boardwalk I enjoy my morning walk - early to beat the heat - along with many tourists and locals. We don't rent a car - don't need it. We can walk everywhere from Beachgate, and the local transportation at $2 BDS is the best way to get anywhere.
Over the years Tina and Philip have reinvested in the property and continue to upgrade and often take our comments and suggestions and make them reality. They really care about their guests and have helped us out of numerous tricky situations. Just a phone call away.
Being that we go every year, we walk off the plane and feel at ease and relaxed. Arriving at Beachgate that first day we are reunited with our goods friends - Tina and Philip - and instantly feel the stress of Canadian Winters melt away.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Even during the recent 'sewage' challenges, we were not impacted in the least and would never have considered cancelling.
If you are lucky enough to get a booking at this property, you will have the most amazing vacation on the most friendly island in the Caribbean.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cooperOnt...
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Really easy check in and check out, and the pool is nice and cool for those hot days. Perfect spot for boardwalk walking, and lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance or a short bus ride. Thanks Phillip and Tina!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regular46
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday apartment”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned home from staying at Lower Beachgate and feel compelled to tell everyone about this amazing place! We stayed in the lower apartment with access direct to the beach. The apartment is so beautifully situated and presented. It just feels like a very comfortable home waiting for you to arrive! It is very well appointed and I could not think of anything that we could need that wasn't already provided! Tina does a magnificent job in looking after her guests and it is sad to be back in my own much less well appointed home! Very very highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobmartin...
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
“Awesome location”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Beautiful views from this well appointed villa. Great location on the south shore in Hastings, just off the end of the boardwalk, where we could walk to most of our favourite restaurants and bars. Great swimming and snorkeling right in front of the house. Hosts Tina and Phillip were very attentive and helpful. Lower Beachgate was probably the nicest place we have ever stayed in. Not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S
Douglas, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Villa Ever”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This villa was beautiful, airy, clean, so comfortable and pretty. The patio overlooking the beach was so nice, I loved the location in general. The pool was perfect and private, even sharing with upper beachgate. I plan to be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A
Findon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning beachfront residence”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned after two weeks of blissful holiday at this superbly located and appointed villa. Spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained , the property provides secure privacy with great positioning .Having visited Barbados several times before and stayed in good quality hotels and apartments which were more than satifactory this villa would definitely be our favourite. Many thanks toTina and Philip for their great management providing the holiday paradise that is Beachgate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina F
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Can't imagine you'll find much better than this!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This house was sooo adorable -- and so are Tina and Philip!
There are two rentals in the same property -- the lower part, where I stayed with my friend, and the upper part. The entrances are separate, though we shared the laundry room and the pool with the other tenants of the apartment above; actually we never did more than wave at them (a family) though we coincided for several days. We managed to be alone in the pool and never crossed in the laundry room.
Lower beachgate is fantastic, there is a large bedroom with French windows looking out into the sea (well, there is a porch with a lovely hammock and loads of huge flowers and hummingbirds first) and ensuite bathroom with plenty of closet space -- and there is another room in the back with two beds and ensuite bathroom and a walk-in closet. There is also a good living room, looking out onto the porch and sea -- and an open kitchen with all imaginable appliances.
In front the beach is very nice with talcum powder sand and a natural pool that is formed by rocks where you can snorkel. There are beautiful palm/coconut trees and you can see a pretty nice sunset sipping your cocktail. The pool is also very nice with comfortable chairs to lounge on.
Nearby there are malls, coffee shops and restaurants, recommended are Tapas for lunch or dinner and the Japanese one which only opens after 5pm, both of them on the beach.
We stayed two weeks for work and Tina and Philip helped us with things we needed very patiently -- in fact as my friend left I moved to another one of their properties as I needed a smaller place and it's great too.
The house next door from Lower Beachgate is also managed by them and it's also darned cute.
All in all you'll be in good hands with them, their places are tasteful, clean and with a good price, and they are extremely kind hosts. Can't think of a better place if you want to relax in Barbados than Lower Beachgate!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing