We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice to stay in Barbados” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The SoCo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The SoCo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great choice to stay in Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we knew we had picked well with the bonus of being on the South Coast close to everything. Rooms were excellent, pool area and just an amazing beach, boardwalk, food was very good along with the wine at lunch and dinner, service really good overall, breakfasts sitting over looking the beach were a spectacular start to the day. Being so small it is friendly and sociable unlike larger hotels. Recommend using the bus to get around, Oistins on a Friday night is fun and the East Coast is worth a visit. Staff all really good, Michelle, Shannon, Dexter and the pool/beach bed guy were all exceptional. Most negative comments we had read did not bother us the road noise wasn't really an issue for us the only negative I thought of which has been mentioned before was lack of a good cup of coffee but then I personally appreciate a real good cup just found it very weak, perhaps a coffee machine would be good for people like me. There are so many positives about hotel and location that you can not fail to have an amazing time at The Soco, so just book it. Would definitely go back if decide to visit Barbodos again, great Caribbean island.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Aruba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    128
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
63
453
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We spent a week at the Soco Hotel for New Year´s with our two small children and the grandparents and we loved it. The rooms are modern, clean and all have a beautiful view. (it really looks like on the website). Staff is very friendly and they really treat you like you have been a guest for many years. The food is outstanding. A lot of fresh fish which we enjoyed. Although not the typical family resort the kids were very welcome. The beach right in front of the hotel has a sandbank and is actually perfect for kids. Shallow water and lots of fish. So much fun. We will try to come back next year. It was one of the best vacations we have had
in a very long time. Thank you Soco. It just felt like family.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tontraeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just spent 2 weeks at the SoCo and I can only echo the comments from the previous reviews.
If you're dithering about going, don't. Ignore all ( and I don't think there are many) negative comments - some people always have to find something to moan about.
The accommodation, staff and food are all excellent. Great cocktails. Lovely beach - take your snorkels + goggles!
Great location. Easy to get anywhere. The reggae busses are great fun. Good trips are St Nicholas Abbey, Huntes Gardens, the caves and many more. We also had afternoon tea at Sandy Lane ( you have to call to book but it was amazingly reasonable - approx £40 for 2 of us but there is a cheaper and more expensive option). It has a beautiful setting and was lovely but a bit pink for us!
We would recommend the SoCo Hotel to any couple who wants an excellent value, easy, relaxing
holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We are a middle aged couple ( like quite a few of the guests staying there!) and went for a one-week holiday in January 2014.

The SoCo is an attractive looking boutique style Hotel.. Our room was light, clean and spacious, very comfortable beds with the best linen . We had great views of the Caribbean sea. Highlights were the restaurant service, quality of the food, they make everything from scratch.. The staff are friendly , fun and helpful.
Next to the Hotel is " The boardwalk" basically decking that gives you a 20 minute walk by the sea without getting stuck in the sand! I enjoyed a great walks before breakfast watching the sun rise and sparkle on the sea. A treat after rainy old Britain!
We will definitely return and I highly recommend this Hotel to you
Caroline UK

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at the Soco hotel. We had a wonderful relaxing time at this lovely hotel. The position of the hotel is great to get around and for the excellent beach just a few steps from your bedroom.
The rooms are all great with excellent views of the Sea, ground floor room s101 and 102 have limited veiws.
Cindy our maid kept our room spotless and really looked after us, the staff from Tina our waitress to Arlene, Michelle , Frank, Dexter, andres and Sandra a Hugh thank you to you all.
We have booked already to go back next January

Room Tip: Request a high room for better sea views but all rooms are the same standard, the deluxe rooms are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Why did we have to leave this gorgeous place? It's absolutely wonderful and the rooms, hospitality, food, drink, everything is just amazing. We wanted to stay forever. Go on the "Reggae" buses and then you will appreciate why they make such a sound - fantastic and such a laugh - also the jeep safari - simply the best way to see the island and learn about the history of the place and see some wonderful sights. Michelle can organise anything for you - and does it with a big smile always. We are very tall and the bed was perfect. The maid kept our room spotless and the view from the balcony was to die for. Don't take heed of the negative comments, some people are never happy wherever they go. Would recommend this hotel to anyone - just a treat and we want to go back tomorrow!!!!!!

Room Tip: Reception confirmed that all rooms are exactly the same - only the ones at the ends of the corridors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fussy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

First an apology, this review should have been submitted just after Christmas (sadly other trips abroad have prevented this...)..... so belatedly our review.

Where can we start without repeating all that has been said before? You will be pleased to hear that we shall not... all the great things that have been said about this 'boutique' hotel are absolutely so.

The SoCo hotel is like a phoenix that has risen from the ashes of the Almond Beach resorts albeit in a different format. Ralph Taylor, his wife Stephanie and many others from the old times are doing their utmost to make the new hotel the best in class on Barbados.

For the less than great things some have mentioned, a few comments:-
Yes, the hotel is on the island coast road. Did this bother us? No we slept well and comfortably every night although from time to time in the early hours the beeps of the busses and the shouts of the locals caused us to stir and then drift away.
The rooms were as good as any rooms we have had in the Caribbean (and we have stayed on quite a few islands).

A few plaudits -
To the executive chef Andrew Jean and his team - a great and varied menu excellently prepared.
To Michelle, Shannon and Arlen - thank you for your great drinks with lovely Caribbean smiles.
To Frank (general manger) - thank you for listening to me and sorting out a few minor matters.

We spent a great Christmas here with both staff and guests and very much hope to return for Christmas 2014.

A great and friendly hotel....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
6.5 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#1 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SoCo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SoCo Hotel

Property: The SoCo Hotel
Address: South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The SoCo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoCo Hotel, located in the heart of Barbados’ south coast, offers an all-inclusive holiday in a boutique environment. Ideal for the discerning traveller looking for a modern, high quality hotel facility, The SoCo Hotel provides an uncluttered, chic holiday. Great food and drinks, friendly service, and one of the best views in Barbados are all part of The SoCo Hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The SoCo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The SoCo Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing