We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Holiday in Barbados” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The SoCo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The SoCo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
coventry
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday in Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have recently visited the SoCo Hotel for our first visit to Barbados and we were not disappointed. We had already read all of the reviews on Trip Advisor so our expectations were high but after a week they were blown away. From the very warm welcome on our arrival to the good byes on our departure all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our large comfortable bedroom was on the top floor and the view over the beach and sea was fantastic. We loved the food from Breakfast to Dinner and every meal tasted delicious. We were all inclusive and if you prefer to help yourself from a buffet and eat as much as you want to, then do not book here. This is for the more discerning traveller who can appreciate quality and taste. The location is ideal and you can easily walk to the neighbouring beaches, whether that is Carlisle Bay to the north or Worthing Beach to the south where you can swim with turtles off a fabulous beach. If you don't fancy walking, the local "Reggae" Mini Buses go right by the door and cost only 2 local dollars. We even enjoyed a 20/20 cricket match at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown!
Now we have been to Barbados we will definitely return and we will ensure we book again at the SoCo because I do not think it can be bettered for what is on offer.

Room Tip: Only 24 rooms and request one on floors 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therustler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter C, Assistant Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear The Rustler,

Thanks for choosing The Soco Hotel, on your first visit to Barbados, to enjoy your holiday and thanks for this fabulous review. We are delighted that we have exceeded your expectation. The Kitchen team appreciates that you enjoy the “quality and taste” of the food they prepared and all of the staff welcome the praise you have given, on us being “friendly and helpful”.

We are happy that you plan to return to The Soco Hotel and we are certainly looking forward to greeting you once again on arrival.

Warm Regards,
Dexter Cummings
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    128
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
63
453
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband just came back from the Soco with nothing but great things to say. We were there at Christmas time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, but this trip was business and my husband went on his own. He is a diabetic and I worried about this. The hotel could not have been more accommodating, I asked them to put some things in his room just in case his sugar dropped in the eventing after the kitchen closed and it was all done when he arrived. The ladies in the dining room were lovely to him and treated him like family. I didn't need to worry at all, he was well looked after. Cant wait to go back in October. This time I get to go. Elaine from Canada

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McLaren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter C, Assistant Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Elaine,

Thanks to Greg for choosing The Soco Hotel to stay on his business trip and thanks for this wonderful review.

We certainly seek to exceed our guests’ expectations and it was our pleasure ensuring that your request was taken care of.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you on your return in October 2014.

Warm Regards,
Dexter Cummings
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield,england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited Soco hotel for 2 weeks as a couple on 12th May !
We have travelled all over the world, but have never experienced a break like this.
On arrival, we were greeted by Andrew ( waiting outside in the hot sun), the hotel experience starts here ..!
After a very informal check in, prepare to be breath taken by the view from your room. !!
The unique, boutique hotel experience then begins, from branded drinks and local, A La Carte, breakfast, lunch, and evening meal. Having only 24 rooms, you get to know other guests, which in our case, we met some really good friends, be spoilt by ALL the staff, take in views, and walks on board walk night and day. Night walks on boardwalk are special and romantic after dinner, and safe.
The sea is amazing, and lovely beach to sunbathe on, if not bothered about beach, you can relax in quiet pool area. We loved both. (very comfy sunbeds round pool ).
Michelle will sort out your every need, such as day trips , restaurants, drinks etc, just ask..
What more can be said that hasn't already....!
Dextor, Michelle, Shannon,Erleen, Melanie ( beach drinks waitress) LOL, Miss Neil, waitresses, maintenance, security, maids, Chef, and everyone . THANKYOU X
We have never been to the same place twice in our life....

See you all on the 1st of September..
Get ready !!!

Please stock up on brandy Dextor. x

Love Nicky and Daz xxxxx

If you don't know who we are ?? You weren't there !!!!!! xx
Happy days x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hateshorthaulplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter C, Assistant Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Nicky and Darren,

Thanks for choosing The Soco Hotel to enjoy your holiday and thanks for this fabulous review. We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and you were able to make so many friends.

We certainly have a no-frill check in, where we try to get you to your room as soon as possible. The boardwalk just outside the hotel is certainly a hype of activities from earlier morning walks and exercise to evening romantic strolls.

We are definitely looking forward to welcome you once again on the 1st September.

Warm Regards,
Dexter Cummings
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent a week at Soco and absolutely loved it!!! We were looking for a nice, relaxing beach vacation and it was perfect. The hotel and beach were both very clean and well maintained. The view from our balcony was gorgeous...something you would see on a postcard! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Dexter and Michelle were always available to answer questions and make sure we had everything we needed. We would definitely visit again!

The food was very good! Loved the fish tacos and the fact that there was always a "catch of the day" to select for dinner. I would suggest changing up the dessert options. I have a wicked sweet tooth, but am lactose intolerant and often times, there was not a dessert option for me. The only other suggestions I would make is that they have bottled water available to guests and that they serve breakfast past 10AM for those of us who like to sleep in.

Definitely visit Oistin's Fish Fry for a delicious meal. My husband and I went around 5:30PM one evening to watch the sunset from the pier and it was beautiful. Then we grabbed dinner at Chillin & Grillin....huge portions and so yummy!

Just a suggestion with regards to travel plans....if you have an early flight home, tell your taxi driver earlier. We scheduled a driver to pick us up at 5AM and he was about 15 minutes late picking us up. There was no hotel staff around that early in the day so I had to call the taxi company to remind them.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. We were in room 206 which we liked because it was not directly over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter C, Assistant Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear FDale,

Thanks for choosing The Soco Hotel to enjoy your holiday and thanks for this kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the views, food and the service our staff provided. I agree that Oistins fish fry provides a unique experience for our guests and it is highly recommend as one of the things to do while in Barbados.

Let me apologise for your experience regarding the taxi pickup, this was certainly an exception. We do have a nightly security on duty that would be able to assist guests with such request.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at The Soco Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Dexter Cummings
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for a week in May. Overall a great place to stay, good location.
The staff are excellent and are a credit to the Hotel Manager
We were in room 308 which suited us, great view, few steps to climb but well worth it. To be honest would not have liked rooms on the lower level.

Food, overall very well presented, but lacked variety . Eat out a couple of times.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 3rd or 4th level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denise2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter C, Assistant Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Denise2305,

Thanks for choosing The Soco Hotel to enjoy your holiday and thanks for this lovely review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Soco Hotel very soon.

Warm Regards,
Dexter Cummings
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford herts uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just back from a nine day stay at soco. Hotel is modern, clean and very welcoming. We had room 201 and loved it. Bright ,airey with an enormous bed!! The staff at Soco are really a credit to this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are eager to please. Michelle( I`'ve got it covered!!) Was a delight. She knows a lot about Barbados and is eager to share it all with guests. Met lots of lovely guests and had a fab time. I watched turtles in the sea bobbing around and even saw one on the beach digging her nest for her eggs!! Pool is small but lovely for a dip after the hot sunshine. Beach is only a few paces away. Soft sand and because of the lagoon effect water calm and safe. Sunbeds on the beach and around the pool with sunshade. Now for a couple of negatives!! We had an issue with beach towels but I am sure the hotel have noted this and in future I don't think it will be a problem. Food was always well presented and tasted fab. My issue was the same menu 3 days in a row became very boring and if you didn't like what was on there you were pretty stuck. They had 3 items that you could pay a supplement for, but in my opinion they were overpriced. Overall a lovely place with good transport to get you around. Thanks to Dexter and the team.

Room Tip: Any seem to be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boxchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter C, Assistant Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Boxchat,

Thanks for choosing The Soco Hotel to enjoy your holiday and thanks for this beautiful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to make new friends. We appreciate the recognition you have given to our hard working team, as they continue to exceed customers' expectation.

We have addressed the issue of effective changing of beach towels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again to The Soco Hotel very soon.

Warm Regards,
Dexter Cummings
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

What can I say that hasn't already been said about this hotel, is amazing the location, the food, everything about it. But the staff make this hotel what it is ( your owner should be very proud of each and everyone of you ) like Lynne said in her review, you couldn't single out anyone in particular you are all fantastic. The hotel only has 24 rooms so you do get to make friends. We met some lovely people ,Tracy,Zoe,Lynne,Julieanne and Dawn,Nicky and Darren,Hayley and Dom so nice to meet you all,Peter and Debbie so nice to meet you all.
Dexter ,Nige can't thank you enough for being so concerned when the silly bugger cracked his ribs , certainly a holiday to remember.
Love you all , can't wait to return

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DENISEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter C, Assistant Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Denise,

Thanks for choosing The Soco Hotel to enjoy your holiday and thanks for this fabulous review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and that you made so many friends.

We trust that Nige is fully recovered and we are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Dexter Cummings
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
6.5 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#1 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SoCo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SoCo Hotel

Property: The SoCo Hotel
Address: South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The SoCo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoCo Hotel, located in the heart of Barbados’ south coast, offers an all-inclusive holiday in a boutique environment. Ideal for the discerning traveller looking for a modern, high quality hotel facility, The SoCo Hotel provides an uncluttered, chic holiday. Great food and drinks, friendly service, and one of the best views in Barbados are all part of The SoCo Hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The SoCo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The SoCo Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing