We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive building”
Review of CastelBrando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CastelBrando
Certificate of Excellence
Bryne, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impressive building”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The building is very impressive, and the location even more. If you like to stay in old historic buildings, you will love the CastelBrando.

However, running a modern hotel in large historic buildings can be challenging. Here are some of the drawbacks we experienced:

We had a room called "The Royal Suite", room no 701. This was large, on two floors, with two barhrooms and an impressive view over the valley. However, we never felt it to be cosy and the temperature was constantly below comfortable.

There is a long staircase up to the restaurant where breakfast is served, and I didn't see a lift that could take me up. The same issue applies to the hotel-bar, Donatello.

It is difficult to reach the entrance by car, even to drop off luggage and the car-park is only available by stairs.

There is no tea- and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

Room-service is not available.

The breakfast was very good.

We never used their 'formal' restaurant, but had two meals in their more 'informal' restaurant. The food was ok, but not one to remember. The service was not very attentive.

The area around the hotel and their garden is nice. Unfortunately the weather wasnot very good.

A nice place to be for a couple of nights, but probably not a place to go back to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsBryne_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to know that you appreciated the castle, its history and spaces.

We are also happy to learn that you liked your suite, however we are really sorry that you could not enjoy a comfortable temperature in it. The first cold days this year came at the beginning of October, unfortunately by law we cannot switch on heating system until 15th October.

Regarding the breakfast, there is a lift from the hall to 6th level corridor. From there, you can easily reach the restaurant in just a few steps. The same applies to Bar Donatello at level 2, reachable with the lift from the hall.

About the luggage drop-off, there must have been a misunderstanding. Guests can reach the reception with the car, where our porter awaits to help with luggage. Our staff usually also take care of parking guests’ car. To reach the garage the quickest way includes actually stairs, but for those who prefer to avoid them there is a slightly longest way that goes through lifts and corridors.

Lastly, to correctly inform other guests who may read your review, we would like to clarify that room service is available for breakfast, snacks, lunch and dinner (during restaurant and bars opening hours).

We thank you for this review and your comments, that help us improving day by day.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    177
    46
    12
    5
See reviews for
60
401
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goolwa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We enjoyed the Castle and gardens, worth the visit. It is also a function centre so two weddings at the time, made it limited to where you could walk around the Castle, but we were ok with that. The history is amazing with the 2000 year old castle, great experience to indulge in.
Everything great, except the pillows were extremely firm, need a variation! Lots of stairs and elevators to use, part of staying in a large castle, not so great if you have limited mobility.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birksharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

we are happy to know that your stay at CastelBrando was fine and that you appreciated the spirit and the history of the castle.

We really thank you for leaving you review and we hope there will be soon a chance to welcome you again here.

Kind regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

With 2,000 years of history CastelBrando has been lovingly and beautifully restored. It is one best castle YOU will ever stay in. Oustanding 360 views. Outstanding spa and top quality food like only the Italy's can do. One of the nice featuers to CastelBrando is the funicular railway that take you up to the Castel, the rooms are all authentic giving you a true sence of the age and times of a Real middle age castle. Trust me when I say this place is the real macoy...check out the CastelBrando's virtual Tour, if you need more convincing. If you would like to wow the lady of your dreams then this is the place for you, or if you have a family, or just love history and Luxury, the CastelBrando delivers this in Medievil truck loads. OUTSTANDING PLACE.

Room Tip: Check out the vilage below CastelBrando, and the room service is really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRSM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

we are really pleased to find that everything was fine with your stay and that you appreciated the spirit of the castle.

We thank you for the beautiful words you used to describe your experience and for sharing it and we hope to welcome you again soon at CastelBrando.

Kind regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This stunning Castle with 2,000 years of history has been lovingly and beautifully restored and is well known as as a top tourist attraction. However, you still feel that you are privately tucked away from chaos, noise and are discovering one of Italy's many best kept secrets...

The rooms are tastefully and respectfully decorated, in keeping with an antique style. I had the best night's sleep in the gorgeously comfortable bed. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and in good working order...good shower head and lovely soft water! These are always the first things I look for on reviews..don't know about anyone else... oh and the toilet doubles as a bidet.. ingenious!

My only criticism (and it is tiny) is that coffee at breakfast could have been made with fresh milk. I ordered a cappuccino and I detest those awful machines that are now everywhere in hotels (I understand why but still don't like the coffee they produce!)

However, the friendly and polite waitress brought a cappuccino that was freshly made instead and the coffee was excellent but thought I could taste UHT milk (of course I could be wrong...)

Given that some of the best milk produce is in the North I would have thought that using fresh milk would have been easy. However, this is such a slight detail and the breakfast otherwise was very good (the croissants and pan au chocolat in particular are excellent!)

I managed to take in a Swedish massage and was impressed by the Spa.The staff are helpful, polite and friendly. I would love to return in the winter.. apparently the health/beauty centre is open all year round, closing for only 3 days in January.

There are lots of areas to explore within the castle and every comfort is catered for. The reception staff were incredibly professional, courteous and accommodating. We were really impressed by their high standards of customer care (something that seems to be going out of fashion in the hotel sector)

There are cultural activities at various times of year, including medieval re-enactments and theatre productions, which take place in the castle's very own theatre... so before you decide to book ensure that you know what is going on, so as to make the most of your stay:)

There is an internal museum, church, bar and restaurants. One is a casual and more relaxed restaurant/pizza and the other more classy in style and menu. We only had time to sample the former and found the food to be excellent. The ingredients are fresh and home made.. the ravioli is to die for!

I was very sorry to have only stayed one night and would most definitely return for a longer stay, especially for an inclusive package, featuring entertainment and spa, once the heat subsides.

Logistically you are an hour from Venice and not at all far from Treviso, which is a beautiful city. There is so much to explore in this stunning Northern corner of Italy and now I've had a taste I will return for more!

You won't be disappointed if you love a combination of historic elegance, cultural entertainment and relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Guest Relations Manager at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Ianki,
it is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at CastelBrando and that you caught the castle's spirit.

We really thank you for leaving such a beautiful review and for sharing the details of your experience. We hope there will be soon a chance to welcome you again at CastelBrando.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate my birthday.
No doubt it is one best castle we ever stay. Nice view. Excellent spa. Several restaurants. Very authentic interior. Also there is good green zone around for a walk.
Would like to come back once again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Guest Relations Manager at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
we are happy to read that you chose castelBrando for your birthday and you enjoyed your stay.

We really thank you for leaving your review and hope to have you again soon as our guest.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights a few years back, summer 2011, and it was unforgettable! Stayed in a family room that was big enough for 4-6 people. The food at La Fucina was fabulous! Had pizza and seafood risotto that was unforgettable as well. The staff was courteous and helpful. Took a train from a small town not far from Cison Di Valmarino to Venice and had no problems. We were unable to see the entire castle and all of its museums, but would love to go back one day and spend more time! The décor, the atmosphere, the service, the value, EVERYTHING about this place is fabulous!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruzieru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Guest Relations Manager at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
it is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at CastelBrando.

Thank you very much for the beautiful words you used to describe your experience at the castle. We hope there will be soon a chance to welcome you again here.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.S.W. Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The magic starts going up in the funicular CastelBrando is up so high originally this was a fort therefore needing to double as a lookout. Naturally they chose the best spot and one could see for miles. The scenery was just amazing, looking towards the foothill of the Dolomites, in one direction and the village of Cison di Valmarino in the other. The Castelbrando has been reopened only a few years after and extensive restoration and modernisation including the decorative battlements stone cellars, tapestries swords and suits of armour also the original torture chambers, even with the hooded hang man. Our room (we were lucky) was one of the really old ones some 800 plus years old with a small modern bathroom. We really felt privileged to be given that area of the hotel. The room was beautifully warm and the lighting worked as with this sort of restoration sometimes bathrooms heating and lighting can be (temperamental) We would recommend this hotel for a few days just so amazingly different and the food was superb.

Room Tip: Ask for the old section
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Guest Relations Manager at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very happy you enjoyed your stay here at CastelBrando.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and leaving your beautiful review. We hope there will be soon a chance to welcome you again here.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cison Di Valmarino
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Marcello Marinelli
Hotel Villa Marcello Marinelli
#2 of 2 in Cison Di Valmarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Soligo Hotel
Villa Soligo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Soligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
16.7 mi away
Relais Monaco Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Abbazia
Hotel Villa Abbazia
#1 of 3 in Follina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.7 mi away
ai Cadelach Hotel & Ristorante
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villaguarda Landscape Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CastelBrando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CastelBrando

Property: CastelBrando
Address: Via Brandolini 29, 31030 Cison Di Valmarino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Treviso > Cison Di Valmarino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cison Di Valmarino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CastelBrando 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your CastelBrando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelbrando Hotel Cison Di Valmarino
Castelbrando Hotel Treviso
CastelBrando Italy/Cison Di Valmarino, Province Of Treviso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing