We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Staff!”
Review of CastelBrando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CastelBrando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT Staff!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was the perfect size for one evening. We enjoying roaming the halls, having a drink in the bar and listening to a jazz concert. The pizzeria was very delicious, but be aware that the pizzas are very big for one person (if you cannot eat a lot). the breakfast was very good and had a lot of variety. We spent just one night at the castle to get away from life and kids and it was everything we could have hoped for.
We did find our room too warm, even for the winter months. We opened our window to be able to get some air flow through. The beds were a little stiff, but overall, we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kkapri23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your day off. We are glad to know that everything during your stay satisfied your expectations, both for the hotel and the Pizzeria.
We hope to welcome you again soon as our guest, maybe for more than one night!

Kind regards,

CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    177
    46
    12
    5
See reviews for
60
401
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked our room in this magical location for a very reasonable price on booking.com. This was a splurge for us, but compared to the costs of places we stayed at some of the larger towns it was a real bargain and a wonderful opportunity to stay in a historic castle. The entrance to the castle is not in the same parking lot as the funicular but since the town is small, it was not difficult to find. We approached the gate, rang the button and the gate was opened up. We drove through the arch where we registered, dropped off our baggage and then parked in the garage with lots of good sized parking spaces. The room was very comfortable, clean and decorated for the period. We were allowed to roam the halls and gardens and visit several of the small museums on the premises. A funicular took us down to the little town of Cison di Valmarino where we had dinner and later enjoyed the view of the castle lit up at night. Free breakfast buffet in the elegant dining room was excellent. Wifi worked fine. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Those with mobility issues may have problems here but I felt they did a great job at modernizing a historical building while maintaining the authenticity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Sorry, but the 'old world' charm and sweeping views hardly compensated for the cramped and basic accommodation facilities and the sheer inconvenience involved in getting to and from our level 9 room. Being part of a tour group, we were learning that not all rooms allocated were created equal in any hotel, and my wife and I certainly drew one of the shorter straws at CastelBrando. Access to our room - at possibly the farthest extremity from reception - involved a lift (elevator to you Yanks) to level 7, a walk across a courtyard to another wing, then another two floors by lift to level 9. This mini-marathon would have been reasonable enough for these fairly fit 60-somethings, had the room key card reliably activated the lifts, as was required. As it turned out, the key cards weren't much chop for accessing our room either... and here was the cruncher: Upon finding we could not open our room door early the first evening, we phoned reception (courtesy of one of our fellow group members staying on the same floor), to be told by the staffer concerned that he was 'the only person here' and could not leave reception - hence we would have to come down (the nine levels) to have the card recharged. Let's be charitable here and say that at least the hundreds of steps we ended up climbing in CastelBrando over the next day or so was great training for all those Italian churches we subsequently visited, which more often than not involved climbing plenty of stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to reception as possible - in case you have to return a dud key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GazzaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

we are sorry to learn that your stay at CastelBrando did not meet your expectations.

The castle is one of the oldest of Europe and during restoration we wanted to keep the original spirit of the castle. Furthermore, working under the supervision of Historical and Cultural Heritage Ministry we kept spaces as they were originally.

This is also why rooms are located in different wings of the castle, and those at level 9 have beautiful views of the valley and the inner courtyard (differently from rooms at other levels).

We are sorry for what happened with your card, we always do our best to offer excellent service to our guests and what you described is absolutely not our standard.

We invite you to email us in order to have more information about your stay.

We hope there will be another occasion to welcome you at CastelBrando,

Kind regards,

CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We travelled long distance to Castel Brando to celebrate my husband's birthday; stayed for one night. It was little confusing to find the right road to the castle, but at the end we got there. Once we were in the village, the navigation signs to the castle were easy to follow. The entrance to the castle, the building and the whole property is pretty impressive. It is very much visible that huge money had to be invested to the castle's renovations and what is very nice is that they tried to keep it as authentic as possible, but added some modern luxuries. It was 3 of us travelling and we got a suite with two separate rooms (priced very reasonably!). Both rooms were small and furnished appropriately for an old castle - with old looking furniture, wooden ceiling and very comfortable beds. There is not much extra space in the rooms. The view outside from the room was absolutely beautiful - a little Italian village in the middle of the mountains. I liked that the bathroom was more on the modern side, clean, but very small. The property is huge, interesting and amazing! Just beautiful!! We decided to have the celebration dinner at the formal restaurant - Sansovino. The dinner they made was absolutely fantastic. The appetizer - tomato, pesto and mozzarella was out of this world (how will I ever have it somewhere else and like it?); same as the beef tenderloin main course. The restaurant was not busy, but what I want to mention is the access to the restaurant is pretty awkward - in the middle of a LONG stairway. Originally we wanted to take our parents to this trip, but I just can't picture that they would be able to get up the stairs to the restaurant. Castle is about 45 minutes drive to Venice. To summarize - it was very nice and totally worth it to stay in this castle hotel that provides totally different experience than a typical hotel. Because it is very close to Venice (and Dolomites) and it is priced right, I would recommend to include it to your itinerary for at least one night to have an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Can289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Nat,

it is a pleasure to know that everything during your stay at CastelBrando meet your expectation, it is very important to us. We are also happy to learn that you appreciated the restoration and caught the true soul of the castle.

We really want to thank you for the beautiful words you used to describe your experience at the castle and hope there will be soon another occasion to welcome you.
...and come with your parents too :) The Ristorante Sansovino, at level 6, can be reached also with the elevator from the hall.

Warm regards,
Staff CastelBrando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our stay here was just simply not long enough. We spent two nights and I wish it had been 4 or 5. We were part of an organized tour (Albatross) of 30 people, so you're never sure how well an establishment can cope with large groups. There was another Albatross group there for one of the nights, so the hotel did very well to keep us all happy.
The place is stunning - our room was spacious, clean and warm. The view was outstanding. We dined there both nights and they coped very well with the large number of us and produced delicious meals.
Every detail of the accommodation and dining were exceptional. Special mention of the young lady who gave us the guided tour within the castle (I'm sorry I don't recall her name)
If my wife and I ever get back to Italy, then first stop will be Castelbrando, it was one of the highlights of our Italian tour.
(Because we were on an organized tour, I've no idea what the cost was - but it was worth it, whatever it was).

Room Tip: Get a room that looks to the mountains and over the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Terry,

we are really pleased to learn that everything was fine during your stay. It is really important to us that every detail meet our guests' expectation.

We thank you for the beautiful words and for sharing your experience and hope there will be soon another occasion to welcome you.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryne, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The building is very impressive, and the location even more. If you like to stay in old historic buildings, you will love the CastelBrando.

However, running a modern hotel in large historic buildings can be challenging. Here are some of the drawbacks we experienced:

We had a room called "The Royal Suite", room no 701. This was large, on two floors, with two barhrooms and an impressive view over the valley. However, we never felt it to be cosy and the temperature was constantly below comfortable.

There is a long staircase up to the restaurant where breakfast is served, and I didn't see a lift that could take me up. The same issue applies to the hotel-bar, Donatello.

It is difficult to reach the entrance by car, even to drop off luggage and the car-park is only available by stairs.

There is no tea- and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

Room-service is not available.

The breakfast was very good.

We never used their 'formal' restaurant, but had two meals in their more 'informal' restaurant. The food was ok, but not one to remember. The service was not very attentive.

The area around the hotel and their garden is nice. Unfortunately the weather wasnot very good.

A nice place to be for a couple of nights, but probably not a place to go back to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsBryne_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to know that you appreciated the castle, its history and spaces.

We are also happy to learn that you liked your suite, however we are really sorry that you could not enjoy a comfortable temperature in it. The first cold days this year came at the beginning of October, unfortunately by law we cannot switch on heating system until 15th October.

Regarding the breakfast, there is a lift from the hall to 6th level corridor. From there, you can easily reach the restaurant in just a few steps. The same applies to Bar Donatello at level 2, reachable with the lift from the hall.

About the luggage drop-off, there must have been a misunderstanding. Guests can reach the reception with the car, where our porter awaits to help with luggage. Our staff usually also take care of parking guests’ car. To reach the garage the quickest way includes actually stairs, but for those who prefer to avoid them there is a slightly longest way that goes through lifts and corridors.

Lastly, to correctly inform other guests who may read your review, we would like to clarify that room service is available for breakfast, snacks, lunch and dinner (during restaurant and bars opening hours).

We thank you for this review and your comments, that help us improving day by day.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolwa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We enjoyed the Castle and gardens, worth the visit. It is also a function centre so two weddings at the time, made it limited to where you could walk around the Castle, but we were ok with that. The history is amazing with the 2000 year old castle, great experience to indulge in.
Everything great, except the pillows were extremely firm, need a variation! Lots of stairs and elevators to use, part of staying in a large castle, not so great if you have limited mobility.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birksharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

we are happy to know that your stay at CastelBrando was fine and that you appreciated the spirit and the history of the castle.

We really thank you for leaving you review and we hope there will be soon a chance to welcome you again here.

Kind regards,
CastelBrando Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cison Di Valmarino
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Marcello Marinelli
Hotel Villa Marcello Marinelli
#2 of 2 in Cison Di Valmarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Soligo Hotel
Villa Soligo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Soligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
16.7 mi away
Relais Monaco Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Abbazia
Hotel Villa Abbazia
#1 of 3 in Follina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.7 mi away
ai Cadelach Hotel & Ristorante
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villaguarda Landscape Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CastelBrando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CastelBrando

Property: CastelBrando
Address: Via Brandolini 29, 31030 Cison Di Valmarino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Treviso > Cison Di Valmarino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cison Di Valmarino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CastelBrando 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your CastelBrando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelbrando Hotel Cison Di Valmarino
Castelbrando Hotel Treviso
CastelBrando Italy/Cison Di Valmarino, Province Of Treviso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing