We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Golden Sands Hotel(Maxwell)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bougainvillea Barbados(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barbados Beach Club(Christ Church Parish)
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$755
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$660
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbourne Inn @ Car Rentals(Christ Church Parish)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sunbay Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteray Apartment Hotel(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dover Beach Hotel(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Time Out Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
1,826 results
Traveller rating
788
709
231
65
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
709
231
65
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst lawrence gapthe gaphappy hourreggae busesrotisurfers cafeanne mariefish fryfriday nightrum punchisland viewsun deckreef barsuperior studiohired a carlarge supermarketlocal buses
Filter
Updating list...
1,548 - 1,553 of 1,826 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Pros:
-Can get it cheap with BA as part of their packages
-Right next to a lovely, big empty beach
-Restaurant serves surprisingly good food
-Friendly, efficient staff
-Functional rooms (would suggest ocean view, rather than island view)
Cons:
-Under the airport flight path (but you get used to it!)
-Can't see a full sunset from the hotel itself
-Expensive internet

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lostjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Stayed here while in Barbados for the cricket. Staff were friendly from arrival to departure, can at first be a bit stand offish but once you get talking and are friendly yourself they soon come round. Try the meet the manager on Monday night, the manager and assistant manager were very nice. And the rum punch in free!!!!!! Although our room was tired and was in need of a refurb, the shower was great, and it was quiet. Even though we had booked an island view room we got a distant sea view and it was quiet at night except for the waves and the odd mozzi buzzing around your head. Hotel was fully booked for our stay due to the cricket, and there was no problems with noise etc. Breakfast and evening meals were ok on the few occassions we used them, best to get food at the Gap (street vendors good, and cheap), Oistins is a must. If you can, go to Oistins during the day (AM) and see the catch being processed so skillfully. Reggae lounge is great, a bit basic, but that's how I like it, though you get a bit hassled by drug sellers, just say not, that's cool. Try the Watering hole bar across the road from the main access to the Gap, Helena the owner is great. Get a mini rum (1/4 bottle) & some coke, and relax! but remember to sip, don't gulp or you will know about it before long. We always used the Reggae buses, best way to travel ($1.50 BDS) from Silver Sands to Bridgetown on our route. Ends at 12am.
Was happy with The Butterfly beach, it's location next to the beach is great. Have a morning swim, the waves can be big, but what a start to the day! Considering it cost us £30 per night each room only, I think it was great value.
Easy Now!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BSIMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

First of all "The Butterfly Beach" We stayed at the butterfly last year and were really pleased with our stay. Last year we didn't find some of the staff too friendly but on our return the staff were great. We felt really welcome and the staff remembered us from last year, which was nice, we had a really good stay and feel that we got to know them so much better. The hotel is in a great location not too far from The Gap, Bridgetown and has some great beaches all around. For travelling around we used the Boogie buses which was great fun though they can get a bit crowded so if your claustraphobic I'd wait for one of the Big blue buses public transport is a great and cheap way to travel about and you never have to wait too long. I,ve been to Barbados quite a few times now and everytime I go the place just seems to get more and more beautiful everytime, we hired a car and traveled all round the Island which was amazing, and the Bajan people have to be the friendliest people we've ever met in any country. We done a few tours which were great "the safari :) Harrison's cave was great, and Roots and Rythem :) Friday night at Oistons fish market is something for all the family , old and young, tourists and Bajans all mingling together, music, dancing and great food. When booking our tours we didn't book through the hotel, if you want a cheaper deal there is a lovely woman called Lauren who is situated in one of the tourist boothes in St Lawrence Gap who always gives discounts and great deals for your tours (she was great). Nightlife in Barbados was great we went to the reggae lounge, Macbrides was great on Sunday nights, Ship Inn on a thursday has a great band called strategy plus DJ. We also got to play dominoes with some of the locals which was funny as my partner wouldn't know a domino from a dice haha. The weather was amazing it only rained for 5 mins a couple of days which we were quite happy about as it cooled the air. The only thing we didn't like was the mosquito's oh painful and itchy when they get ya so take some spray.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sirwin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We booked a Superior Ocean View room with a special request for a top floor room with twin beds ( we needed peace and quiet). What we got was room 119, a dreadful room and just about as different as possible from what we had been promised. It was on the ground floor by a noisy Reception area and with just one bed. As for the ocean view..ocean peep would be a better description. But worse of all, the room had an internal door leading to another room, occupied by very noisy strangers and we could hear absolutely everything. It was just like sharing a room with them. It was a nightmare and the only expanation we were given was that they allocate rooms randomly even if one asks for a particular room!! So requests count for nothing at all. After 3 nights we were moved to a room on the second floor but, again, we had to "share"... this time with a quiet neighbour but who had a bad cough!! The design of these rooms is very poor.

Beware of breakfast on Fridays and weekends. Instead of the usual menu there was a "help yourself" menu. This meant that one had to pay about double the price of the days when the standard menu was used. So we asked for the standard menu which caused a flutter of concern and indecision with management but, finally, we were allowed to order off the standard menu. This obviously wouldn't matter if one was on a half board basis.

It is a shame about these problems as the hotel could be very good. The staff are very friendly and the place is clean and well run. But they are very important matters which can really spoil the holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Warm and friendly staff. Beautiful views from the hotel, particularly from the bar/food area. Hired a car but not worth it. Pubic transport so good for 50p anywhere. Good fun too on the buses. White/blue or yelow buses. Must go to St Lawrence Gap tp watch the sunset and say hello to the turtle that pops his head out of the sea every few minutes. (Must watch carefully). Love Barbados, best place in all the world!! Stayed on West several times and didn't think we would have liked it as much here but it was quiet and beautiful. No problems at all.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbash007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews