We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Harlequin Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Colchester, Essex.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Pre-booking is essential for this eatery. It's understandable once you've experienced it - the atmosphere is friendly with excellent service matched with superlative food. The position, perched up and away from street level is great for people watching. As the evening unfolds you watch folks promenading the gap, searching for a good restaurant - not realizing that you the viewer are already sitting in it. I had a flying fish starter - tasty fillets stacked on a Caesar salad followed by grilled mahi mahi (the Caribbean's staple fish). The seasoning (spicy) was perfect as was the cooking of the fish itself. The menu was extensive offering everything from steaks and other meats to a whole variety of local caught fish. The puddings looked great too but we had to pass on this occasion. We intended a return visit when we passed through Barbados again on our way home but events prevented us from doing so. However, the Harlequin is on the top of the list (with Champers) for a dinner or two next year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Caribauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,201
    556
    212
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine and enjoyable”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Cheerful and homey feel, right in the middle of St Lawrence Gap.

I went for dinner and had the Seared Tuna steak... it was overdone and there was nothing particularly special or notable about it.

Food was fine, setting was cute. Nothing to rave about though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We only discovered this restaurant on our last night in Barbados, which was a shame really because everything about it was tremendous; the food, the service and the atmosphere. When we return it will be our first port of call

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrisHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner in The Gap”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

great food & service... slightly on high side dollar wise....
but worth it for sure, have been twice and always great service

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cropover90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Easily the best restaurant in the Gap in terms of quality, ambience, service, value and character. The staff are all very attentive. The food is first rate and the wine both good and properly chilled, unlike at some of the other local restaurants. So good we ate here 5 times over the fortnight!

Helpful?
Thank PeteE666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harlequin Restaurant also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Harlequin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing