We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For My Needs”
Review of Time Out Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Time Out Hotel
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I travelled to Barbados on part family and part leisure purposes.

Very clean rooms and excellent room cleaning services. Had a Queen-size bed which was absolutely superb. Free WiFi was perfectly OK up on the 2nd floor.

Reception staff were very polite and helpful whenever their assistance was required.

Full breakfast was excellent so worth upgrading to this if you are a breakfast person. Staff in the Sporting Pig Bar (the bar associated with the hotel) were typically Bajan (i.e. laid back but helpful and polite all the same). The evening meals at the Sporting Pig were quite good too.

Dover Beach is literally just across the road (1 minute away). There is a small to medium sized pool at the hotel which I never used but it looked OK.

Time Out is at the far end of The Gap so it is near enough to the action but far away enough for peace and quiet if you want it.

All in all it is in an excellent location with ideal facilities for my requirements. Rooms nice and clean, food good and always polite service. I would definitely stay here again if I were to return. I should add that I am basing my ratings on the delivery of my personal requirements which may differ to other peoples.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

About 30 of us stayed this year and had a great time the hotel was perfect for our trip to compete in Rally barbados and King of the hill rallysprint. Anyone who says the hotel is tired and dirty is fickle and out of touch with hotels in the caribean the rooms were spotless and cleaned every day !! yes there may be the odd scratch in the paint or a chipped tile!! what the hell !! you should try some of the so called better hotels and it wont be any better. The hotel staff were excellent, the seperatly run Sporting pig bar and restaurant attached was fab the food was as good as any other I have been to and not overly priced. We bought toasters for the room as you only get a fridge and kettle but we have left them at reception for our definate return for the event next year !! A big thanks to Alisha Farmer (manager) and Pierre on the desk no request was too much and strangely for Barbados it was done immediatly WELL DONE Time out Hotel you beat all the opposition and so did we !!Team Tartan (SCOTLAND) see ya all next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend have recently came back from Barbados. We always fancied the Caribbean and Time Out Hotel was one of the cheapest available accommodations. It did have mixed reviews so we weren’t sure what we were getting in for, however, we shouldn’t have listened to the negativity, it was brilliant!

Time Out hotel is one of the main hotels in the popular tourist area of St Lawrence Gap and is located right by the beautiful Dover Beach, next to the main strip of restaurants/bars. The hotel itself is very nice. Clean and tidy with pleasant staff. The room is basic but very spacious and we were happy to find a wide screen television, fridge freezer, kettle with tea/coffee and a safe all included! For the money we paid (£750 each for 2 weeks room only, flights included) it was a bargain and I couldn’t complain at all.

It seems on Trip Advisor that people expect a lot for paying peanuts, which is just wrong, hence the negative reviews. But take it from me, Time Out was brilliant for the money we paid and I’d certainly stay there again AND recommend to anyone wishing to visit Barbados. I won’t lie and say it’s the best hotel ever with amazing views, but it is clean, tidy, good staff and great value for money, allowing normal working people the chance to visit the Caribbean.

We went ‘room only’ in the hotel, although if you to pay for food, this is located in the Sporting Pig bar which is part of the hotel, but also a normal bar that lets the public in. My full review of the Sporting Pig can be found on their actual Trip Advisor section, but in short, it’s a nice sports bar, good food, drinks offers etc. but service can be very slow, especially when it comes to getting the bill.

Please note: whilst the hotel is completely safe and we never felt threatened, you will be offered drugs outside the hotel and along the gap. It’s not threatening, but can be a bit daunting if you’re not prepared/expecting it. Just politely say no thanks and walk on, they won’t bother you again.

Also be prepared for very ‘in-your face’ locals selling things like bracelets, coconuts, knick-knacks etc. outside the hotel, on Dover beach (opposite the hotel) and along the gap. They will try and put bracelets on you, put things in your hand etc. If you really don’t want it, say ‘NO’ and be firm, but my advice is buy a bracelet or something the first few days you’re there and they won’t bother you again. This does happen right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bawno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Time Out is in a great location with good friendly staff.
We stayed in a room with a pool view which had a free in room safe with great aircon, the only down side was the bathroom which looked dated & required an update.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank localred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in May 2014. The location was great, just across the road from Dover Beach. The staff, in particular, Lisa and Pierre were so very helpful from booking Harbour Lights to arranging to book our hire car! Thanks very much!

The rooms were cleaned to a very good standard and the towels were always clean. The only thing I would say is that our TV did not work.

Everybody was extremely friendly and overall the location was just perfect if you want to be right next to the night life of St Lawrence Gap.

Fab location, great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

if you want a 4 star hotel then try the turtle beach! but you will pay an extra £1000 or more! we found the time out to be a good 3 star base, to explore barbados! our room was large! 2 queen size beds! and a single! table and chairs! fridge! tv, and good aircon! barthroom was ok! clean and always hot water! towells changed every day! beds clean and comfortable! no noise at night, apart from weekend when music finished about 11.30, payed for room only but hotel gave us continental breakfast! wich was a good start to the day! staff were great! and had a free safe deposite at reception! excellent food at the sporting pig! and drinks much cheaper than any spanish resorts! so very happy with our stay! excellent location! 2 mins away from a nice beach! cheap sunbeds! and parasolls! about £5.00 for the two of us! nice beach bar with great food! and drinks! very safe at night and day! never offered drugs! even that we were two guys! took the local bus to some great beaches ie paynes payne! which was beautiful, and bus fare only about 50p or so! will go back to this hotel! met some great people and the staff were great! dont be put off by some reviews! been to barbados 6 times before, but still had a very nice stay here! also internet connection worked fine! much better than our over night hotel in gatwick! just have a good time, in this very affordable hotel! many thanks for a nice holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank marinafunguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from my stay at Time Out. It was a nightmare. Other than the location, (across the road from Dover Beach). Our stay here was as bad as it gets.
To begin with, the water in our shower was cold, once highlighted with Lisa at reception, it turns out the boiler light was not on, which indicates it was never on in the first place. But the handy hand, kindly informed us, no other guests 'complained' about this issue. 'Complained?!', I mean REALLY?
Furthermore, the plug hole in the shower hand seen better days. Bath towels? well just say, you are better off taking your own. Which it just so happens, I did.
We waited to change our room, as the first few nights, we heard doors banging till the early hours of the morning. Being deprived on sleep is NEVER a good thing. Low and behold, once we had changed room and where relocated, workmen started their DRILLING to install plugs on wall, needless to say this did NOT go down to well. As the first morning we where woken by the same of drilling at 8.30am, we decided to write this off. However, the following morning we woke to the same drilling noise. Felt like someone was drilling though our headboard, it was soooo Loud! After discussing this with hotel reception staff, Lisa. She explained work occurs before the lunchtime heat.Had we of know that would be the case, we would NOT of checked into the Time Out hotel. But as Lisa said, unless we brought the drilling and lack of hot water to our attention, the hotel wouldnt be aware there was an issue. At which point, I decided to inform her of the ant infestation we had, in our bathroom around the cracks of the sink area and the window, near the bed. Which was great as I would wake to workmen drilling and see a ants taking a stroll across my bed/pillow. Very Disappointed. Will not be staying here again, ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaFarmer, General Manager at Time Out Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Fiona L,

We sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. Our guest’s feedback is always appreciated but in this instance we are truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.

Our hotel is currently going through a few upgrades. We are installing 3-4 additional wall sockets in each room, giving our guests the ability to have their IPads, Phones, Pcs all connected. We have changed Internet providers to improve our internet issues at the hotel and in doing so we did need to do some drilling outside and we have enclosed our front desk so it can be air-conditioned for the comfort of our guests and this too would have contributed to the noise factor. In doing these upgrades we are so sorry we disturbed you during your holiday, as this was certainly not our intention, but to improve our product based on our guest’s feedback.

Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us, and even with the complimentary upgrade and complimentary late check-out which we offered in light of the disturbances we are truly sorry that your experience was not satisfactory. We thank you for your review as all feedback is valuable to us. Please feel free to contact me directly, as we would like to have a second opportunity to make your holiday a favourable memory.

Kindest Regards,
Alicia Farmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#7 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time Out Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Out Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Dover Beach, St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: £64 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Time Out Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Hotel is ideally located on the South Coast of Barbados, in the St. Lawrence Gap area, across the road from the beautiful Dover Beach and next to Dover playing field. The hotel is situated near restaurants, nightclubs, supermarkets, and casinos. Time Out Hotel consists of 76 rooms divided into Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Pool View rooms and Deluxe/Family suites. In addition, we have a bar and restaurant on property, a pool and our very own wedding coordinator! Whether travelling to Barbados on business or pleasure, we offer you comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and genuine island warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Time Out Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Out At The Gap Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Time Out Gap Barbados
Time Out Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing