We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Money in Barbados !!!”
Review of Time Out Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Time Out Hotel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Value for Money in Barbados !!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went to Time Out as a team of 9 people for the Barbados Rally Carnival.
On arrival we were greeted by happy,smiling,staff who were very accommodating and helpfull.
Booking in was pain free and soon we were settled into our rooms.
The rooms although not luxurious were very clean and more than we expected going room only.
The Pool was very clean and we were soon settling in the Bar for a meal.
Food was superb and very fairly priced and good selection.
Breakfast was also very good on the mornings we decided to bother and again well priced.
All in all we had a great stay, it suited our needs exactly. Its not 5 star rated but we weren't looking for that.
Without a doubt it was 5 Star for us in terms of service,cleanliness and friendliness and PRICE.
I Loved my 18 night stay there and look forward to it again in 2015
Well done to all at Time Out we'll be back !
Arthur Weatherly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R4WEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    350
    145
    38
    17
See reviews for
113
395
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Time out was a lovely place to stay, the staff were pleasant and our room and bathroom was very clean. I stayed in a deluxe room with a friend which was nice and large enough for two girls with lots of stuff! We did not eat in the hotel as we were only staying for a week and there are so many places to eat and drink in Barbados. The hotel is nice and quiet at night and the beds are really comfy and the room has air conditioning for the humid nights you expect to have in Barbados. It is close to all the action on the gap and it is easy to get a bus or taxi to where ever you made need to go. If your a person who likes to use the hotel as a place to sleep and shower and then spend your holiday actually exploring the country you are visiting then time out is perfect, I would definitely stay there again. It added to the lovely time that I had in Barbados.

Room Tip: choose a deluxe room if you like space! we had more than enough space with two people sharing a delu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_tayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend and two others for two weeks in June-July. The reception staff were excellent. We had a room facing the pool and away from the road which we requested and they had no problem changing for us. We arrived around the world cup so the bar had the Matches on everyday and even advertised it.

The housekeeping staff were Brilliant, they changed the towels everyday and then the bedsheets every 3 days. they cleaned out the whole room as well as the balcony and made the beds every morning. My only recommendation is that they employ people that are willing to serve in their Bar as the two young ladies that worked there did have a massive chip on their shoulder. They rolled their eyes when you ordered coffee/ tea as they have to go to the back and get it for you and will not be surprised if they spat in it before bringing it out. The male staff in the Bar were lovely as well as joining in on the football excitement, they also asked if you were alight and if there was anything they could do to help, whereas the two female staff will see you at the bar, do whatever they needed to do including chating to their friends and then walk up to you and raise their eyebrows as if to say- "what do you want ? ". They made my mother feel so intimidated that I had to go and ask for tea/coffee for her and she waited when I wasn't around to have her tea or coffee ( and it wasn't like we didn't pay or tip them ) But in a nutshell, the other staff were lovely and made the stay very enjoyable.


This hotel is only across the Road from Dover beach and although a few locals will ask you for the odd cigarette or if you are interested in their wears /weed. They were harmless. Timeout is also great for the variety of guest/locals that use the bar, everyone gets on. There are a few local bars/restaurants ( Daddy's bar/restaurant , Scotty's Buffet ), Chinese takeaway Cafes (Bliss Cafe which is about 5 mins walk away make the best breakfast pininis you will ever have in BARBADOS) . There is also a cricket pitch , football and basketball court all rolled in one next to the Bar/hotel and you get to see the locals play most evenings.

The pool area was always tidy, the pool was lovely and well kept , allot of children playing around and all the guest got on with everyone looking like they enjoyed it as the SUN was always out with no trees or fences blocking any of it.and the food in the restaurant was great.

I will definitely stay at time-out again and probs go back in August next year for the carnival, although I will recommend they change / sort out their TV channels that cut out after 10 pm and leave you with practically nothing to watch if you are having an early night. And also to try and get WI-Fi in all rooms as although they claim to have WI-FI, it says in the hotel handbook that they can't guarantee great reception in all rooms and I never got even "good" reception the whole two weeks I was there, some days we had no internet at all and had to go to reception to use the very old computer. Also they say no smoking anywhere in the hotel besides the pool area, even on the balcony but then the housekeeping staff put ash trays in the balcony area and clear the ashes everyday so i don't understand the miscommunication there....But as said before, i will go back to Barbados and will definitely stay here again, 15 mins from airport and Bridgetown, the capital, also Oitsins.... I wish i can say it all....But . TIME-OUT is defo a time-out from my hectic life in the UK

Room Tip: Be sure to request for a room facing the pool. BEST ones and you can even Tan on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Time Out Hotel for the full month of June 2014. This was our fourth trip to Barbados and our first to St Lawrence Gap. We totally enjoyed our stay at Time Out and would definitely stay there again. The breeze ways that joined the hotel wings were wonderful, much better than being enclosed in an air conditioned box of all modern up market hotels. We had a good rate as it was the height of summer and it was a little quieter than other times, so all you mature people out there this is our time, no so many young ones partying but still lots to do, even if you don't hire a car you can ride the buses, nearest stop 5 minutes away. Best beach across the road with helpful beach boys with chairs and umbrellas and sporting entertainment every day on the basketball court and soccer field just across the road from the hotel.

If this is not enough to get you to want to stay here, the staff at the Hotel are marvelous. The housekeeper we had most of the time was a delight, always happy and giving us good advice on places to see. Another of our favourite people was Pierre at reception. Everything we asked of him was done in a professional manner without a hic-cup. The boys in the bar were also great and gave us good service, but my only negative, the girls serving never smiled or entered into any conversation. The continental breakfast was adequate for a good start to the day and the food at other times was delicious and not expensive.

A perfect holiday, made possible by all the Bajan people we met around town who were friendly and made us very welcome to their wonderful island.

Room Tip: The West wing over looking the sports field,great entertainment for no cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bajan12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week with family and from the moment we entered the hotel we were warmly greeted by the staff. GM, Alecia, providede us with much needed cold bottles of water and throughout the week was visible on property to handle any queries we had.

Rooms are basic and bathrooms could do with updating but for a 3* hotel it was very adequate. Our room was spacious and overlooked the local cricket pitch which we enjoyed watching all the games.

The pool area is small and adequate but with the beach only a minute across the road, it wasn't a problem. Why go to Barbados to spend all your time at the pool when glorious sandy beaches await.

Our deal included continental breakfast which was nice but could've done with more local fruits instead of just bananas and apples.

For those on a budget Time Out Hotel is a good place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Experttravelleruk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I wasn't staying at this property but visited for Breakfast with my kids and was bowled over by the friendly staff, terrific service and beautiful hotel. We will definitely stay here in the future. Barbados is terrific and Time Out is so well located.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler4022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We weren't expecting much for the price we paid, but Time Out is brilliant value for a budget hotel. Not plush, but immaculately clean, there seemed to be an army of people constantly cleaning. No negatives, apart from the bathroom could do with an update and the TV reception cut out regularly. Nice pool area, although we went to Dover Beach just across the road which was much more fun. Continental breakfast was fine, other cooked options available for a small price if you wanted them. Great location for the bars and restaurants in the Gap and a supermarket 100 yards away too. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful, and that goes for the Bajans generally, everyone we met was friendly. Our first trip to Barbados, but it certainly won't be out last!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyL237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.9 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time Out Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Out Hotel

Property: Time Out Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Dover Beach, St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#6 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Time Out Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Hotel is ideally located on the South Coast of Barbados, in the St. Lawrence Gap area, across the road from the beautiful Dover Beach and next to Dover playing field. The hotel is situated near restaurants, nightclubs, supermarkets, and casinos. Time Out Hotel consists of 76 rooms divided into Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Pool View rooms and Deluxe/Family suites. In addition, we have a bar and restaurant on property, a pool and our very own wedding coordinator! Whether travelling to Barbados on business or pleasure, we offer you comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and genuine island warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Time Out Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Out At The Gap Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Time Out Gap Barbados
Time Out Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing