We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Fabulous Hotel”
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Palms
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Small but Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Although the hotel is not a 5 star, the staff at the hotel made you feel like it was. If you are price conscious pick this hotel. It is situated in the St. Lawrence Gap and there are many fabulous restaurants on the strip. Downtown Bridgetown is only a short drive away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone visiting the island

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    324
    82
    30
    14
See reviews for
182
512
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west mids england
Level Contributor
342 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Went here on recommendation of a local because of the steel band. 6 of us in the group and after being shown to our seats we were then left without any information about the food!!! Eventually were advised that we could choose from the buffet, which was excellent. Our waitress did seem to be on another planet and when we didn't get the drinks we asked for decided to get them ourselves.
The steel band was very good. When the bills arrived we queried not receiving the drinks we asked for and unfortunately this is where it all went wrong! She was very aggressive and we could not reason with her!!
We asked to speak to the manager and without an apology the bills were altered. The sad thing is that it was a small amount and we were only pointing it out but ended in no tip!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ali1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Have to agree with certain points of previous reviews. Great location directly onto a sandy beach but the sea was only suitable for strong swimmers or surfers as there was a strong current and high waves during our week. The hotel has body-boards free to use but due to the sea state we only used them twice.It is certainly not a beach for snorkelling although turtles can be seen basking a short distance from the shore. The hotel itself is fine with good size rooms which are clean,well equipped and maid service every day. As in other reviews we found the staff very slow even by caribbean standards and most were unfriendly, (expect David King in the bar) We had an incident on Fitts village beach on the west coast where our bags were stolen whilst we were snorkelling. On return to the hotel in a distressed state with local Police officers, reception staff were unhelpful and proceeded to admonish us for leaving wet beach clothes draped over our balcony to dry off earlier! We were full board and ate at the hotel - food was very good but again slow service. The 'Gap' has numerous nice bars,restaurants and shops within walking distance though. Would we stay again? Unlikely as the west coast looks nicer for us. Would we recommend? Yes if you want a great location with view and things to do nearby.

Room Tip: No lifts but higher floors better for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel was clean and pleasant with good facilities and in a fantastic location on a beautiful beach. As others have reported we felt that it had a distinct "ex pat" clique with many guests coming back year after year. It had a very staid feeling to it. The restaurant was extremely limited in its choices of courses. The bar lacked any atmosphere whatsoever and the staff (even though they appeared to be extremely overstaffed) were non descript at best. Not only was there a 10% service charge on drinks at the bar, but this was applied to what can only be described as warm beer!! On a different note, the guy who looked after the beach and umbrellas was extremely pleasant and helpful.

Away from the hotel, we ate at Champers, Waterside and Tapas. As we wanted good tables at these restaurants we booked tables in the UK before we left which proved to be worthwhile. It was our first time at Champers and it did not disappoint. We had dined at Waterside and Tapas the previous year and although Waterside was absolutely excellent, Tapas appeared to have lost some of its edge. We also ate at Surfers Café, Pablo Dontes, (on many, many occasions) , Shakers Bar and Grill and South Coast Daiquiri and Grill, all of which were excellent for more basic food and we would recommend without hesitation.. However, there is a little gem on the road to the right hand side of Dover cricket pitch called Just Stop at the Carib Blue Hotel run by a lady called Christine. The food is exceptional, home cooked and one of the best meals we had on the island, with the added advantage that you could enjoy the cricket at the same time!

On a different note, we noticed again while we were in Barbados that there is a distinct reticence for tourists to use the reggae busses. I can only say that we have used this form of transport to get around the island almost exclusively (except for the occasional taxi) and have found them to be great fun to get around and have never waited more than a few minutes to board. We also feel that its a great way to support the local economy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is in an ideal position being right on one of the best beaches on the island but close to plenty of restaurants and shops.
The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, well run and has a very relaxed atmosphere.
The staff are friendly, helpful and cheerful which makes for a pleasant ambiance and a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Having fridges in the rooms was very useful. The provision of fridges with a small freezer compartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We were recommended the hotel because of the live steel band that was playing last night. Not sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. As a group of 6 we were offered a table outside which was very nice. We enquired about food and the waitress said she would bring us a menu, did we want drinks? Once the drinks order was clarified following some earlier confusion we waited for the menus. These did not arrive and after 15-20 minutes went for the buffet. The food was hot, fresh and very tastey. During our meal two members of the group ordered two more beers, however these did not arrive! After 30 minutes we went to the bar to purchase them separately. We had a very pleasant evening and requested the bill as it drew to a close. As requested 3 separate bills eventually arrived, however were were charged for the two beers that were ordered but not received. When we queried this with our waitress she became very argumentative and adamant we had had the two beers. She proceeded to be very rude and not willing to discuss the matter so we asked to speak to the manager! She wasn't happy but moved away to talk to a colleague, she then returned, snatched the bills and disappeared. Approximately 15 minutes later returned with revised bills. The beers in question only totalled 12B$ and we were only pointing this discrepancy out as there was more than enough money to pay the bill and provide a good tip. However after our bitter experience we settled the bill and left NO tip.

It was a shame this incident had spoilt a lovely night with new friends and would not rush back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Can't fault Hotel, Beach and Staff (found Sandy the guy who looked after the beach extremely pleasant)
Would defiantly recommend Southern Palms as very clean and tidy with friendly helpful staff.
I would say the beach was one of the best on the island and we were not bothered or pestered by anyone for the duration of the stay.
Walking distance to some good restaurants and only a short cab journey to others, food in hotel was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Property: Southern Palms
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing