We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YET ANOTHER EXCELLENT STAY”
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Another excellent stay at Southern Palms. Location, hotel, service, management and team are the best on the Island. Already booked for next year and this time for three weeks! We could not ask for more - thanks to Britta and her amazing team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
2  Thank karenX3266SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first trip to Barbados and The Southern Palms is on a lovely stretch of beach. The hotel is a bit tired in public areas but the rooms are very clean and the maid service excellent. The staff in the bar/restaurant lacked friendliness and this did have a bearing on our holiday making us feel uncomfortable and as a result we took our custom elsewhere for drinks/lunch etc. Out and about in the gap the people could not have been any friendlier and there are some nice restaurants and places to go.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank southsider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed here some four times on business trips. The location is fantastic, but the rooms are looking old and careworn - not worth $ 380 for an ocean view. The economy in Barbados is in a mess, restaurants and hotels are expensive, even before sales tax/service charge. I can pay this sort of money elsewhere in the Caribbean and get top rate accommodation - it's time the management realised this.

The retsuarant is mediocre and the bar staff are not exactly rushed off their feet to serve you. I have given four stars in the past, but it's three this time.....shame.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located right on the beach. I'd say hotel was more of three star than four star however rooms were cleaned and tidied every day. Ate in the hotel a few times but there is 10% service charge added onto bill. Food was excellent and Shirley the waitress is very friendly. The manager's rum punch party gives you a chance to make friends with other guests and get tipsy. There were always plenty of sunbeds on the beach and around the pool and each day at 4pm afternoon tea and cake. The gap is five minutes walk away where plenty of restaurants and bars are and dance till dawn. Really enjoyed my time at this hotel as it was in the perfect place and would look forward to going back one day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AngelCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had a lovely time in Southern Palms we had a garden room (118) which was on the ground floor near the mini golf, and even though we never had far to walk to the beach pool or restaurant the view was not very good all we could see was the towel changing room, and the domestic staff. The terrace wasnt very private and always in the shade because of a large tree where a bird sqwarks all night. The room was very basic with two beds pushed together and 1 chair, there is a kettle mugs and glasses isat on a full size fridhge. Bathroom was very tired with dispensers for shampoo and shower gel but these where never filled. The bed was very comfortabl with plenty of pillows. The garden Restaurant food was excellent as was the room service, yes they do add a 10% service charge but it is still good value for money, apart from the breakfast £12.00 for tea toast and juice. Go to Happy Days accross the road for a full breakfast for £10.00 it will set you up for the day. The beach is fabulous although the sea was quite rough and red flags where out all thr time we couldnt you boady boards though my husband did swim in it. For a much calmer sea go to worthing beach 10 mins walk away or pop on a bus $2 to Carlisle bay for crystal clear water the atmosphere is really good. All in all a fantastic experience watching the turtles. The people are so friendly and so proud of their country. The best happy hour is at the sporting pig, near the playing field they do 2 hours. Ha hawe would defo go gack but pay extra for ocean view.

Room Tip: Dont have 118 not good views and in shade all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I can't compared this hotel with a chain hotel . Huge property and beach area to walk around without any problem. The property its self need to be updated, rooms are out dated and needed some repairs especially the bathroom. (Low water pressure for showering and the water remain in the bathtub). Rooms were clean very day by house keeping and towel changed.Friendly staffs, and they will do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable. Also very helpful. Food at the restaurant was good and price accordingly. There's also lots of restaurants on the Gap, so if you choose to eat outside of the property you will find a variety of menus. Would recommend the Southern Palms if you are looking for quantity over quality.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sycelinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here from 5th May until 12 May for our wedding at the hotel on 9th May. Many thanks to Jenni who was fab arranging it for us. We met some fantastic people too. The hotel is on an amazing beach and it's location is excellent, as within walking distance to the Gap where there are lovely restaurants and bars. We especially enjoyed Happy Days across the road for breakfast (English sausages).
The rooms are a litte dated and tired but served a purpose as we weren't in the room a lot at all. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel. We had a couple of drinks from the bar, and this was the only area where we believe there could be room for improvement in customer service and the prices are really expensive compared to local bars and supermarkets.
We will definitely return to this hotel when we return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,810 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: £136 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing