We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a gorgeous holiday and are looking to going back next year”
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been to Barbados over 20 years we had a time share at southwinds which we made use off .we decided to stay at Southern Palms as the staff were very friendy the food was very good also try the food at the Harlequin it was superb as we went there on 4 occasions you must try it

Room Tip: Barbados is a lovely island
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucky7056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Southern Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived here on Thursday 3rd July and stayed on the island for one week. On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist, who showed us to our room. The room was basic but had a lovely pool and beach view. The hotel itself had lovely friendly staff, good food and live entertainment throughout the week. This hotel is ideally situated right on the beach front and just a short walk away from many bars and restaurants. Overall, a great getaway in a relaxing environment!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Went with the family for a long weekend in June 2014, a quaint hotel, with ocean view rooms, and balconies that open onto the beach. Great breakfast friendly and lovely staff who cater to your every needs. Situated in busy St. Lawrence gap with nice restaurants and nightlife, perfect for those who don't want to rent a car. Bus and route Taxis can be had for 1.50 BBD to Bridgetown just outside the gap. Would definitely visit again!!!

Room Tip: Stay in ocean front rooms where you can come out and sip beers on the balcony while viewing and hea...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wedding was held at the Southern Palms and the staff here is excellent! The beach is beautiful as well as the suite I was in. The food was great! The only downfall was being in a room at the top of the stairs. Pretty hard to drag your luggage but besides that, we had a wonderful stay as well as a gorgeous wedding!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank CJG201308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is right on the beach with very pretty grounds that are well kept. The hotel buildings aren't your usual run of the mill and are also very pretty.
The food was great in the restaurant and there are also great choices of restaurants all along the gap...the location of this hotel is amazing. We were upgraded to a suite for no extra cost and we would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceebs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location for sampling the restaurants in The Gap and getting out and about.
Main buses and Reggie buses can be got at the top of the gap or take the shortcut - following the little road right of the chinese then bear to your left and bus stop is there (5min). You can get a bus to take you out and about the island for just $2 a go.
If you go to the main shops in Bridgetown or the Lime shopping centre in Holetown take a passport then you can get some of the clothes/perfume duty free.
Plenty of places to eat out with a chinese restaurant and takeaway just across the road. Out the main entrance to the right is a small cluster of multi colored huts where at Happy Days you can get a nice breakfast from friendly staff. They also do a takeaway service try their Coconut Milkshake yummy!!
Sharkeys, Harlequin, and the mexican at the top of the gap all served great food and we did not hear of anyone having a bad meal at any restaurant. Many of the bars and restaurants had a happy hour where you could get cocktails and drinks on 1 for 2.
Our room was by the circle where they hold a free rum punch party every Monday - worth going along to as you can get to meet other guests.
Clean good sized room with plenty of storage fridge and tea and coffee making facilities and they even supplied shower gel and shampoo.. Nice quiet location for our room out onto the beach. Unfortunately only 2 days of our stay did the red flag come down, but you could wander less than 5mins up the beach and it was a bit calmer. Plenty of sunbeds
Hotel have snorkels and body boards to use and you are given a beach towel each which can be changed daily if you wish at the little kiosk.
We had a snack and an evening meal at the hotel and both times these were really nice and didn't think they were too badly priced. Prices did vary along the gap but overall we found it reasonable.
Every day at 4pm they serve some cake with tea and coffee by the small pool - nothing fancy but a nice gesture.
Entertainment in the hotel several nights a week.
Most of the staff we had dealings with were very nice and friendly - there were a couple that didn't seem to want to engage but overall very happy with service we got.
Some people are saying that the hotel needs updating - Yes it could do with some improvements but overall for what we paid we were more than happy, If you want something within a more luxurious surrounding then you will have to spend a fair bit more - It had everything we needed in a good location giving us more money to spend out and about :-)
Good night out is Oistins Fish Market on a Friday jump on the reggie bus for $2 and get a tasty meal for around $25 with some entertainment
Wednesday/Monday Harbour lights beach Party is a great night good value if you like your drink as for around $175 each (£55) you get a really good show and chance to have a dance, a nice meal and free drink the show finishes at 10.30 and you can party till around 2am if you can last that long.
Another good trip was the jeep safari again $175 did get a bit bumpy but was a good day out with lots of information about the island and all the different parishes.
We also did the catamaran again $175 not a great lover of these boats but again good food and plenty of drink all included.
Overall a great holiday and wish all airports ran as smooth as this one did - Landed amongst the first few off plane straight through customs, bags were amongst first off and car waiting for us and checking into our the hotel within 35mins!

Room Tip: Far garden rooms may be quieter when entertainment on.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ARWBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

On arrival had to approach Reception to be acknowledged, no welcome just straight into costs for towels, safe etc. Door to room was faulty day one and talked down to when I informed Reception that the temporary fix didn't work.

Misleading advertising didn't help, eg tthe Beauty Spa was a hair salon and the gym was tiny with unsecure equipment. A run down resort with rude Reception staff and the urge to escape after a day. Not a pleasant introduction to a first time visitor to Barbados. The best thing about this place is the location - the worst is everything else.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a room upgrade like we did - just stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sreina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: £127 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing