We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great First trip to the Caribbean”
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Berks UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great First trip to the Caribbean”
Reviewed 15 August 2005

This was our first trip to the Caribbean and we are not usually beach people preferring to tour, however we are now converts! Southern Palms is not a 5 star hotel but what you get represents great value for money and a great holiday and not what I would call "tourist class". We had a Duplex/Suite on 2 levels which gave us loads of space to chill... yes the aircon worked extremely well which meant a good nights sleep. The room was always kept very clean and tidy and lots of fresh towels, the house keeping staff even washed up our tea mugs which made me feel a bit guilty! The kitchen was well appointed but who wants to cook with all the great Restaurants within 10mins walk !
Some days we just stayed on the beach which was very long and never crowded in fact sometimes we almost had it to ourselves... breaking the day for a slow lunch at the bar watching the waves. The staff were always friendly and took the time to have a chat. The pools were glorious and grounds always kept clean and tidy. 2 internet terminals to keep in touch, not for me thanks, but my daughter liked to email her friends.
A recommendation, do not go "all inclusive" and get trapped in a resort and eat at the same place every day, at Southern Palms if you eat in it is good value, the drinks are not expensive and good portions but then try the other great places to eat, I bet it still works out cheaper. You can buy a meal package to save a few quid but you have to eat in for 7 consecutive nights and really its good to vary it a bit, not that the food isn't good and menu varied.
At the end of some holidays you're about ready to come home... not this time, by now you will have guessed, we had a great stay at Southern Palms.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank DougReading_BerksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    320
    79
    30
    14
See reviews for
178
504
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2005

This hotel is perfect for 7-14 nights. Situated in St Lawrence Gap its close to good nightlife and restaurants- but not so close that its overwhelming! on a lovely white sand beach and the staff were really friendly! feesl safe and secure and lots of day trips can be organised from the hotel! A great Place to stay! I would definately recommend the Tiami (swimming with turtles) cruise!

Helpful?
15 Thank bf_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol - UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

Stayed at the Southern Palms for 2 weeks in June this year. Ok it was in need of some paint here and there but the overall feel of the Hotel was very pleasurable. We had a suite and whilst basic, it was very spacious with a fantastic Ocean View. All staff were very helpful (Slow Service is a Bajan thing) but that's becuase they have learnt to chill out.

The beach and sea were fantastic - No rushing for Sun Beds etc, and the hotels location on the Gap is very good.

We had a thouroughly enjoyable time and would definately go back if we ever return to Barbados (too many other countries to visit) and for those that have slated the hotel, just remember that it is only a 3 star.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 247PSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2005

This hotel is utterly run-down and is in dire need of not only renovation but a major overhaul. It's truly tattered all around. The front desk staff were not only unfriendly (never a smile) but were downright cold. The beach is fantastic, though -- uncrowded, clean, and beautiful. Consider your priorities before choosing this place.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2005

We have just returned from a week at the Southern Palms with our children aged 19 and 17. We chose the hotel because of its position in the Gap, i.e. our children could walk to any bars and clubs and return to their room without taxis etc. It turned out really well as they palled up with other teenagers (safety in numbers and all that) and had a really great time. Firstly, we thought the Gap was much nicer than we had expected, it was tidy with nice restaurants and bars to choose from and generally a pleasant area to stroll in. Southern Palms was pretty central to all this and we could not fault it considering the price we paid. I would say it is a 3-4 star, and would merit a 4 star if things like the fish ponds were tidied up. But then this is Barbados, full of character, really nice people, and things like that are probably not important. When you have got such fabulous views/beach/sea etc. does it really matter ? The staff were lovely, no complaints whatsoever. We had one beachfront suite for my husband and myself, very spacious, everything worked fine including the air conditioning which was essential due to the heat. Our children had a garden view room which was adequate (our daughter joined us at the last moment and that was the only room left) a bit small but fine for 2 teenagers and with a large adjoining terrace. Because of the views of the beach and sea it is definitely worth paying extra for ocean front rooms. We had a barbecue meal at the hotel which was good but the restaurants in the Gap were very good indeed, our favourite being Harlequin. The Bean & Bagel was good for breakfasts. We did two trips - the Jeep Safari and the Catamaran trip up the west coast - both highly recommended. Swimming with turtles and snorkelling around the coral reef was magic. We hired a car for 2 days which was good, it enabled us to visit different beaches such as Crane Beach, Paynes Bay, Mullins Bay and Sandy Lane beach - all lovely with warm clear turquoise water. One tip if you are driving - watch out for pedestrians, they are given more respect than in the UK and you are expected to stop for them all the time, especially near roundabouts where there are difficult to spot pedestrian crossings - the paint has worn off the roads - and there are a lot of 'jaywalkers' to watch out for. Sorry I have gone on so much but it really was a good holiday, you will get sunshine and showers in July but it is so hot you don't mind about the showers ! The hurricane season is starting over there so I think we would return in May when the prices dip and the tropical storms haven't started. The only negative I can think of are the beach vendors who are endlessly trying to sell you aloe vera and hair braiding, they go away with a friendly "sorry I'm not interested", but they are on the beach (not in the hotel grounds) all the time. So the Southern Palms is highly recommended, a well run hotel with friendly staff who want you to return, I hope we will some day.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston U.K.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2005

Lovely relaxing hotel in the heart of 'The Gap' Great beach, pools & staff, and some good entertainment especially the steel band on Sunday afternoons. Had windsurfing lessons & played crazy golf - good larf! Never dined at the hotel as we were always out on the town! We were told it was very nice tho.

If you're hitting the town then don't miss out on the smaller bars as they'll be glad of your custom, 'Cools Castaways' (opp. Rostrevor) 'The Gap Bar' (slightly further up than the 'Whistling Frog') and go and see Helena - a lovely lady who has the 'Watering Hole' at the far end of the Gap - after the church & on the main road (careful crossing if you've had a few rum punches!)

All in all had a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank shedbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2005

While at first glance,the rooms at Southern Palms might have seemed a bit
old, by the next morning such concerns seemed insignificant, literally washed away by the gentle waves of the beach.

Yes, the rooms are not brand new but were perfectly functional as a place to sleep and retreat from the heat. Since the focus of the trip was on being outdoors and about the island, a good standard room with functional air conditioning and TV was all we really needed and SP delivered. The cleaning staff was also top notch, graciously removing all traces of sand that we had carried in from the beach on our sandals.

We had one problem with a sliding door that would not lock but this was remedied by a visit from the staff.

Each morning breakfast was held outdoors amongst the striking beachfront scenery. A selection of danishes, sausage, bacon, cereals and eggs/pancakes were awaiting us.

On several nights, we decided to remain at the resort for dining and did not regret our decision. The staff was courteous and friendly. The dinners were also quite good amidst the star-lit skies. Nightly entertainment of live music
was pleasant without becoming raucous or rowdy. The crowd at SP was mainly families , older couples and younger couples who may not need to party all the time. If one wanted to participate in resort activities one could but we could just as easily have our own private space.

Across the street from Southern Palms was a chattel house shopping area of souvenir shops along with two restaurants. Both had low prices and consistently tasty food, especially the fried flying fish sandwich.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Anonymous_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Property: Southern Palms
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing